We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in early December 2012 because it is in a great location. It is built around a courtyard and pool with colourful bougainvillea which offered a lovely outlook from the window. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a decent sized bathroom. Free wi-fi and buffet breakfast is included and car parking spaces underneath were easily accessible. The two beds in our room were big and comfortable and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted quiet, comfortable lodgings.
Judith M

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaangelLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently stayed here during the second week of December. The location was great and there are many tasty restaurants to eat nearby. The hotel has free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and the service great ... overall I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximusGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is very nice, a little dated but clean and tidy. Has a nice courtyard with a pool. Free wifi in the good sized rooms. The reception staff were a mixed bunch some friendly some not but it didn't get in the way. The location is ok but LA is so sprawling a you need a car to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated on Sunset Oulevard, easy walking distance from many restaurants and clubs. The hop-on-hop-off bus stops right across the road. The pool looks lovely and the gym is adequate. The rooms are spacious.
Breakfast is very limited if you're health conscious. I managed an apple every morning. The hotel offers few other amanities, e.g. no restaurant or bar.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are more expensive, but the outward facing rooms are noisy. Street traffic and t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

With apologies for not posting this before I wanted to say what a great hotel this is. We stayed here mid-October during a ten week trip to Canada and the US and, of the twenty or more hotels, motels and B&Bs we stayed in, this was one of our favourites. It was a delightful oasis in busy LA, well-situated and nicely appointed. We were lucky enough to have a ground floor, poolside room and it was a real pleasure to sit outside to enjoy an evening drink. The breakfast was fine, the pool nice and the parking ideal. The service was typically (we found) American: initially a bit brusque but actually friendly and helpful once you were past that slightly cool front. In fact, we had a nightmare with our hire car and the various reception staff who helped really couldn't have been more sympathetic or helpful: they were terrific.

I thought this was a really nice hotel and I would most certainly recommend it for every aspect. I'm just sorry I didn't take the trouble to post my comments earlier - the staff deserve the accolade.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor, poolside room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithWW419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were extremely happy with this hotel & would definitely stay again if in LA. The room was extremely clean and spacious and we found the breakfast more than adequate. We would have loved to have used the pool (which looked lovely) but unfortunately didn't have time.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Lucille the receptionist was a lifesaver! I left my phone there and only realised it when I got to Vegas. Not only did she find it, she went out of her way to organise a courier after her working hours so that it would get to me in Vegas before my flight out. This saved me a lot of hassle, time and money, allowing me enjoy the rest of my trip. Breakfast was also very filling and yummy here!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulasice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,702 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
403 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
989 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $256 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing