We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in early December 2012 because it is in a great location. It is built around a courtyard and pool with colourful bougainvillea which offered a lovely outlook from the window. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a decent sized bathroom. Free wi-fi and buffet breakfast is included and car parking spaces underneath were easily accessible. The two beds in our room were big and comfortable and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted quiet, comfortable lodgings.
Judith M

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaangelLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    683
    155
    54
    25
See reviews for
579
593
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently stayed here during the second week of December. The location was great and there are many tasty restaurants to eat nearby. The hotel has free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and the service great ... overall I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximusGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is very nice, a little dated but clean and tidy. Has a nice courtyard with a pool. Free wifi in the good sized rooms. The reception staff were a mixed bunch some friendly some not but it didn't get in the way. The location is ok but LA is so sprawling a you need a car to get anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
295 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated on Sunset Oulevard, easy walking distance from many restaurants and clubs. The hop-on-hop-off bus stops right across the road. The pool looks lovely and the gym is adequate. The rooms are spacious.
Breakfast is very limited if you're health conscious. I managed an apple every morning. The hotel offers few other amanities, e.g. no restaurant or bar.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are more expensive, but the outward facing rooms are noisy. Street traffic and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

With apologies for not posting this before I wanted to say what a great hotel this is. We stayed here mid-October during a ten week trip to Canada and the US and, of the twenty or more hotels, motels and B&Bs we stayed in, this was one of our favourites. It was a delightful oasis in busy LA, well-situated and nicely appointed. We were lucky enough to have a ground floor, poolside room and it was a real pleasure to sit outside to enjoy an evening drink. The breakfast was fine, the pool nice and the parking ideal. The service was typically (we found) American: initially a bit brusque but actually friendly and helpful once you were past that slightly cool front. In fact, we had a nightmare with our hire car and the various reception staff who helped really couldn't have been more sympathetic or helpful: they were terrific.

I thought this was a really nice hotel and I would most certainly recommend it for every aspect. I'm just sorry I didn't take the trouble to post my comments earlier - the staff deserve the accolade.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor, poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithWW419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We were extremely happy with this hotel & would definitely stay again if in LA. The room was extremely clean and spacious and we found the breakfast more than adequate. We would have loved to have used the pool (which looked lovely) but unfortunately didn't have time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Lucille the receptionist was a lifesaver! I left my phone there and only realised it when I got to Vegas. Not only did she find it, she went out of her way to organise a courier after her working hours so that it would get to me in Vegas before my flight out. This saved me a lot of hassle, time and money, allowing me enjoy the rest of my trip. Breakfast was also very filling and yummy here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kulasice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing