We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to the attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice and well managed hotel, friendly staff, easy parking, quiet rooms facing the small but beautiful pool area. Breakfast was simple but included in the price. Not so many tables and seats but ok to bring the breakfast to your room or by the pool. Less than 15 minutes drive to universal studios or beverly hills.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Komfortturisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife, (Marlene Dixon) are retired now but for many years as hosts of "The World of travel" on CTV and "Travel Talk" on a daily radio show in Vancouver, B.C., we made it our business to find top value places to stay around the world. On a recent tip to LA on other business we spent three nights at The Sunset Plaza Hotel in West Hollywood. It is quite simply the best value for the money we ever came across. The rooms are spacious and clean, the gardening around the pool is stunning,and the management thought of everything - including sugarless maple syrup at the breakfast.for diabetics. We've been trying to find that ever since .The whole experience was so good we may just go back into the business and write a feature article on the Sunset Plaza area..
Terry Wolfe, Richmond, B.C.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfman426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed while touring the west coast with friends, couldnt say enough good tings about this hotel, beautiful rooms, pool, service, just the general demenour, there was a fab saddle ranch across the road and it was a good location for seeing Hollywood! Breakfast was fab just need to get down a little earlier to beat the cues!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location, clean room, good staff. One point, when making reservations request a room pool side. I just loved my room, in fact it was so good that I didn't want to leave.... I enjoyed the parking garage, didn't have to park outside along the curb.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Apart from the thin floors/ceilings and the air con that sounds like a freight train, the rooms are comfortable enough, if you can get to sleep.

What I really did not like about this place was the way they treated the environment. Of course they have the standard "think green" card asking you to recycle linens, but I very much doubt the motivation of the managers of this property - try the breakfast and you will see what I mean - they're too lazy and or cheap to provide plates, cups and cutlery. Everything is disposable. Paper plates for your scrambled eggs and waffles. Paper cups for oj and coffee. Plastic knives and forks. Paper bowls for cereal. Disgraceful - a MINUS 10 environmental star rating. Don't stay here.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank MRPAX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Please be assured that the Management of the Sunset Plaza is actively concerned about its impact on the environment. We are striving to be more environmentally friendly through the efficient use of energy, water and material and have reduced our carbon footprint dramatically. 100% of our disposable breakfast items are recyclable and 0% are made from Styrofoam. We use water saving shower heads and toilets, water softeners to reduce water usage for laundry, an Ozone Laundry System to reduce energy and water usage, double-paned windows to reduce the consumption of energy, biodegradable cleaning products, use fluorescent light bulbs and have a staff recycling system. We also have preferred parking spaces for our staff with hybrids and Smart Cars. We understand that our job is not complete and will continue to be ecologically conscious of our impact on the environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel has a great location about two buildings down from House of Blues right on Sunset Boulevard. We had a room in the back that was extremely quiet. The neighborhood is safe, and you can walk to a lot of nearby attractions (Chinese Theater, Ripley's, House of Blues, Walk of Fame, etc.)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

There are dodgy bits in Hollywood but this hotel is in a great safe neighbourhood with big expensive housing surrounding it. The rooms were beautiful and modern and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfy and the breakfast was great. Parking was under cover and there was lots of spaces free when we were there. The most amazing part is the pool, it's truly beautiful and makes you feel like you are in Italy. It's easy walking distance to the main part if Hollywood boulevard. There's plenty of great place to eat all 5 mins. Greenblatt's deli, Cabo Cantina an the Griddle Cafe are all places we were able to walk to easily and enjoy. Stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonAsh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
459 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,752 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,015 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,096 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#7 of 19 in West Hollywood
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $258 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing