We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

There are dodgy bits in Hollywood but this hotel is in a great safe neighbourhood with big expensive housing surrounding it. The rooms were beautiful and modern and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfy and the breakfast was great. Parking was under cover and there was lots of spaces free when we were there. The most amazing part is the pool, it's truly beautiful and makes you feel like you are in Italy. It's easy walking distance to the main part if Hollywood boulevard. There's plenty of great place to eat all 5 mins. Greenblatt's deli, Cabo Cantina an the Griddle Cafe are all places we were able to walk to easily and enjoy. Stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonAsh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    731
    167
    55
    26
See reviews for
634
629
65
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buff Point. NSW Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have recently returned from 2 weeks in the US. Our first stop was 2 nights in this hotel. After reading many conflicting reviews we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of Sunset Plaza. The hotel itself is small but is placed in a great location with easy access to restaurants, bars and attractions. Our room was spacious and clean and the pool and courtyard have a real "Melrose Place" feel. The staff were friendly and helpful. I agree with some of the comments relating to the breakfast room being small but you have the option to take your meal and sit by the pool, which is a great way to start the day. Although the hotel states a continental breakfast included, it actually includes eggs and bacon which makes this great value . Many restaurants are available in Sunset Plaza, a strip a few blocks down from the hotel. We ate at 'Cravings' and had a beautiful meal but there are many other options of where to eat. Do yourself a favour and cross the road to visit the 'Saddle Ranch' a fantastic bar and restaurant that serves great food and drinks at reasonable prices and has a fun atmosphere with wonderful staff and quirky activities to keep the customers amused. The hotel has a taxi rank out the front of the hotel so you are able to make your way to all of the attractions around Hollywood. For the price paid I believe Sunset Plaza was in a great location and good value for money

Room Tip: The hotel is on Sunset Bld so request a room over looking the pool to avoid any road noise. We had 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you are after a hotel close to Hollywood, then this is the place for you, conveniently located on Sunset Strip, and just a short (30 minute) walk to the Walk of Fame and Manns Chinese Theatre then this is the hotel for you!

We had the one night here in September specifically to see one of our favourite bands, Steel Panther at the House of Blues (about a 30 second walk from the hotel!). The hotel was ideal for our purpose. I recommend waiting until the show to eat dinner at the premium tables which need at least $150 spent to sit there & watch a show in comfort upstairs.

Benefits include - in room safe, free wi-fi, great location and breakfast was included in our rate.

Perfect for looking around Hollywood and a night out at the House of Blues!

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DemonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just wanted to set people straight about this place as we were duped by misleading reviews on TA. Wanted to extend our stay by a couple of days in West Hollywood so chose here as the Standard and other options were booked out. Not worth it unless you really have to. I have certainly stayed in worse places but it is NOT clean in the slightest. First room was awful, dirty and the air con system was hanging off the wall, whilst we are on walls there was a big one blocking the complete window, complained and the guy behind reception almost knew what I was about to say before I even opened my mouth (this must be standard procedure there to try and fob people off with these rooms before they complain!).

Guys was helpful though and services was not bad throughout so no complaints there. The main issue really was that our second room was equally as dirty and the decor is revolting, really needs updating, air con in second room still did not work which gave us two choices, keep on and freeze to death or leave off and wake up sweating early every morning, plus it sounded like it was about to take off at any point.

In a nutshell don't bother, this place relies heavily on its location which is nice therefore it thinks it can survice by not spending any money on the building or its rooms. If you are desperate and can get a room here for less than $80 then maybe but we paid nearly $200 and I thought the place was so bad it took the shine off our last few days, do yourself a favor and spend that little bit more and stop in one of a number of nice places just a stones throw from here.

Room Tip: Here's a tip to get a good room, don't book at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TFizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am happy to hear that you found our Front Desk staff helpful during your stay. We are also proud of our Housekeeping Staff as they continuously strive to excel in their efforts and have won the Award for Excellence in Housekeeping for the past four years. We understand your frustration, but as a 100% Non-Smoking Hotel we couldn’t refund your charges for choosing to smoke in the room as we need to deep clean the room for the next guest. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was excellent. It was one of the cleanest I have stayed in. The staff were friendly too.As other reviews state it is a good location if you dont have a car as you can walk out and eat in the evening at a good variety of places. The breakfast is good and a great way to start a busy day. However, I would say not a garden more a courtyard with a pool. There is no bar so you cant buy a drink only vending machines. It would be nice to sit by the pool with a cold beer or glass of wine hence take your own drink as people were doing this. I would say try to get a room with a window as we faced a wall and with no natural daylight, so we did find after 3 days a bit annoying. But would stay again.

Room Tip: As mentioned try to ensure you have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montgomery16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My son and I stayed here for three nights recently. The location is very handy to restaurants and taxis are easy to find. Hollywood is only a 10 minute ride away. The room we stayed in (104) was clean and comfortable, but it had very little natural light. The weather was very warm, but the aged air-conditioner was too noisy to leave on all night. The pool area is nice, but the pool isn't heated so an after sunset swim (after a 80 degree day at Universal Studios) was kept brief. Breakfast was average, with people lined up to get a table in the dining room. We elected to take our trays down by the pool instead. The male desk staff were efficient, but I did not see any of them smile - not even once. I'd consider staying there again, but I'd also be looking for alternatives in the area.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms on the upper floors (rather than 1) would have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmarty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great location and the hotel was easy to find and they have on-site secure parking ($extra). We had a really nice room (clean, modern and large) on the top floor that over looked sunset blvd. we didn't find it noisy.

Breakfast was included and was really good, also Wifi worked throughout the hotel. The pool area is really nice.

If I ever return to LA I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTimeCDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing