We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Bed Bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Convenient Location, but nearly everyone got bitten by Bed Bugs! Some girls were even advised to go to the hospital to get them checked out! Really noisy, rooms not that clean but bathrooms were. Toilets got blocked often.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SparklingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 341 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2009

I had a great time at this place! Not only is the prices reasonable for travelers on a budget, but they offer so much extra such as internet, breakfast, shuttles and dinners for free. Their location is central and close to everything. The staff was friendly and helpful. The building is older but they do a good job of cleaning every single day. Our rooms were fine especially for the price. They have a party room in the basement which could be better. But hey,we had fun anyway. I recomend this place for anyone who is on a budget and looking for a fun, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KThomasUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

This hostel is not clean. I stayed for a week and my room wasnt cleaned once. The shower blocks and the place is riddled with bed bugs. If u have stayed here make sure you clean all travel items absolutly everything. I have welts from the bed bug bites. And the internet is crap.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Stayed here last year with a friend. Initially they had someone still inb our room who had not checked out. Had to spend the first night in a different room when we were very jet lagged. Moved into our proper room the next day. It wasnt very clean and the patio door opened onto the social area which is great for socialising but not so great when at night it doesn't lock and I woke up one night to see someone i didnt know in our room. Turned out it was a room mates friend but thats how easy it was to get in. In hind sight we should have asked to move rooms to somewhere which locked. While we were there some people had important documents stolen but there are lockers so use them. The kitchen was large but nothing worked so was pointless. The social aspets there were great and made lots of friends. Close to The Grove in LA but tends not to be in backpackers budget anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stecky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This hostel was ok... except for the bed bugs! My husband was covered in bites, even on his face!! The management were very quick to give us a refund when we mentioned the bed bugs.

The breakfast was ok though.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kingsbury_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

This Hostel is an old hospital it still has the emergency call buttons in the bathroom which have not been updated since before the WAR! The toilets do not flush, the showers do not turn on let alone drain! The halls smell of disinfectant the bed linen dirty. The staff were not friendly at all ecspecially at breakfast which was disgusting, This is not a joke every one of these things happened to us luckily we did not pay in advance and got out of there as soon as possible. I have stayed in hostels all around the world including asia and this place was the worst!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank amb11s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

After staying at the other Banana Bungalow, moved here as it's closer to Melrose Avenue, Farmer's Market, Grove, Beverly Hills, UCLA. Same friendly faces, same helpful staff, and the old die-hard, Tiki bar and garden. Extended stay here by two more weeks instead of moving to Venice or Santa Monica beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobcatsofbhutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#119 of 352 in Los Angeles
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,372 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
989 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range: $39 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing