We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my friend visited Banana Bungalow at the beginning of December. It's an excellent location if you want to get out and explore Hollywood and it's surroundings.

We stayed in a private room which had everything we needed. On the small size but we really only used it to sleep. Bathroom inside the room was cleaned and I believe towels changed daily if you needed.

The only negative would be our room backed onto a car park so night times it was quite loud with trucks and cars coming in and out.

Breakfast was simply but again, all we needed and free of charge.

Staff at the hostel were very helpful and knew their way around LA which helped when asking for directions.

If we were staying longer I'd take part in the hostel run activities. They sounded awesome, we just needed early nights to make the most of the day ahead!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    133
    49
    23
    27
See reviews for
10
71
101
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was my first time staying at a hostel, and I have to say I'm impressed. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room. Everything was pretty clean when we arrived. The hostel provides breakfast and while it may not be the most amazing breakfast, it helped us save money. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The hostel has many events and tours, and I'm really happy we participated in a few of them.
If we come back to LA, we're definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Clean comfortable room, staff were very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was included each morning, and on some nights there was free/cheap dinner and alcohol. Free parking was also included. Overall it was excellent value and one of the best hostels I've stayed at in America.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. Wouldn't write home to Mum about it but it seemed to have a good atmosphere for those wanting to stay longer! I am not sure why you would though LA is not the travellers friend. One major con was the cold showers in the morning, not so fun.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Possum1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hostel is in a great location in west Hollywood. Close to bus into town, walking distance to Farmers Market which has loads of shops, food, cinema...feels very safe. Lots of Indy clothing, hipster cafes and fabulous deli, Carters....room great value for money. Clean, spacious..would def stay again..

Room Tip: Private room very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyMob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

as far as hostels go , this one seems to have a pretty good atmosphere . seems to have gotten a good name for itself . i personally found the man on reception quite rude and unhelpful but then the following day the lady was more than welcoming and pleasant. location is okay .. was really great that the hostel had daily tours which you could book on to. especially the one which pretty much takes you all over the main sights to see when you only have a few days.

i would stay again at the right price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeingtheworld_ckb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

As you can see by my title , this was my first hostel experience . I stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm but I found it weird that there was a door to walk into the neighbouring room. So to get in and out of my room I had to walk through another room of people .
Breakfast is good , basic but does the job .
Staff are very helpful and friendly .
The overall location is a bit out of the way so you'll have to catch a bus or train most places you want to go to .
If I stayed here again I would definitely get a private room because the dorm I stayed on was dark and dingy and the bathroom wasn't very clean .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tx096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#108 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing