We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place has an excellent location. The staff was very friendly with us. Ideal place to stay. Close to differents locations and tourist center. The food was regular, nothing special. Great Value for Money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophieintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 341 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent location, the staff were pretty helpful. I was a bit disappointed that the Universal Studios trip was cancelled as no one else wanted to go (and was only informed the morning of the trip). I had some good people in my room, otherwise it would have been hard to meet people at the hostel, although they do run activities to try and encourage socialising, I found some of the people not too friendly, especially if they had been there longterm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Banana Bungalow in West Hollywood was great !
Offering breakfast every morning, evening entertainment and snacks/bbqs. The staff was very helpfull and fun.
Safe location, close to many stores, restaurants and the famous Fisher's Market (=> if you have a car, do not take it there !! Parking is EXPENSIVE (20$ for 2 hours) and it's walking distance !)
They offer affordable and fun tours.
Free wifi and computers ... small outdoor "gym" ... Free parking ... big clean rooms ... Perfect !

Merci beaucoup !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money, helpful staff, plenty to do in the neighbourhood especially for gay guests. The ideal place to stay for anyone who is traveling on a shoestring! You even get a free breakfast and if you're travelling alone, it's easy to meet people there.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucemarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

OVERALL:
Great location. Cheap place to stay. Hostel has a lot of activities and tours which they arrange for you, so if you are here for a short time, this is ideal. It can become noisy at night, so if you can’t sleep with noise, this is not the place for you.

MY STAY:
I stayed here for three nights in a dorm. A private room may have been better, but I didn’t want to pay double the price as I was on a budget.

DORM:
Sharing with 6 people (three bunks). However, to access this dorm, I had to pass through another dorm, which would have likely disturbed others sleeping in there. There were two sets of bathrooms and toilets for all 12 of us to share which was not too bad. They were all clean. As I expected tbh.
The hostel ONLY provides two sheets and a pillow case. So you would need to get yourselves a pillow and a blanket if you need one. I just used my jumper as a pillow. Luckily it was not cold, so I could manage with just a sheet.
The dorm I was in was located right next to the common garden area. This could get pretty loud, so if you don’t like noisy environments at night, THIS IS NOT FOR YOU. I didn’t mind the noise, so I was fine.
Lockers are provided to store your valuables. I felt safe staying in the dorm.

LOCATION:
The location was great as it was walking distance to the major shopping avenues. Also it was a walking distance to the Grove (shopping and dining area) and a “farmer’s market”. There is a bus stop close by also. Pretty decent location, which bars and food places nearby.
Area felt safe to walk around on your own. However, like everywhere, you would need to be aware of your surroundings and be street smart.

THINGS TO DO:
If you are only there for a few days, it’s a great place to stay as the hostel arranges different activities. On one night, I went to the other hostel, where they arranged free hotdogs, beer, kareoke and a night out to one of the clubs in the area. The club played music to my liking, however I felt the venue was not as appropriate for the majority of the hostel guests, as the club was pretty rough. I just felt some of the hostel guest seemed a little vulnerable in that environment. The hostel rep also left everyone on their own, so we had to awkwardly socialise with each other.
Other activities that the hostel facilitated were trips to Universal Studios Hollywood, Disneyland, Six Flags, and other places. This was great. They also arrange trips around town. Of particular note, the Celebrity Tour/Hollywood Tour is a must here. You get to visit the Walk of Fame, Hollywood sign and take pictures, visit to Bel Air, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive, a celebrity hot spot.
There is free wifi, which does not work very well for some reason. But there are computers with internet and you can use them for free.
There is a kitchen where you can make your own food if you choose to.
There is a washing machine also.

STAFF:
Staff were pretty friendly. Special mentions: Boogie was really cool and seemed really interested to ensure that your trip is a good one. He was great. Kevin was also nice. The german guy (sorry I forgot his name) that did the Hollywood tour is also really nice. He was also really funny and made the tour extra special with his witty personality. There was a female staff that appeared really superficial and I got the sense, she wasn’t bothered about the guests and was more interested in socialising with the other ‘staff’. The other staff being an incredible silly person, who could not even understand basic verbal communication in English, and looked at guests as if they were stupid.

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast is free. Toast, butter, jam, peanut butter, tea, coffee, cereal. Nothing spectacular, however does the trick.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShutterIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here I jan 2013 and certainly for value for money!! We had a private room which was fantastic, and clean etc upon arrival. Boogie couldn't have been anymore helpful when he came to helping us organise everything and look up tours etc! It was soo easy to get the shuttle buses that left the hostel every morning! Would recommend for a great, cheap and convinient place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hostel in late January. It was our first experience at a hostel and it had both it's ups and downs. On the good side, it was relatively cheap, the people at reception were really friendly and helpful, they rooms were decently if tackily decorated, there was always something to do at nights, they had free dinners sometimes and we met a few awesome people during our stay. On the bad side, the shower was a shocker - it flooded the tub while you had a shower which was pretty gross. Also, let it be known that THIS IS A PARTY HOSTEL. The last night we stayed the people from the other Banana Bungalow Hostel came around and we had free food and drinks which was all good. Unfortunately, although the party was then moved to a sort of downstairs club it was still blaringly loud til the wee hours of the morning - definitely not the type of sleep you want before a long flight like we had.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floors - I'd think they would be a little quieter
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambiepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#119 of 352 in Los Angeles
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Elan Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
989 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range: $39 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing