We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, friendly, funky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at West Hollywood banana bungalow thanks to a great location, value for money and especially the staff!!! I really enjoyed how welcoming the staff were on arrival as I was traveling alone. I think her name was Michelle she was so great!!! I'm Australian and I think any Aussie traveling will l love this place as u feel so at home. Always something to do, people to meet and you are able to walk to some fantastic LA sights.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britney1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 343 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

I loved this hostel! For the most part, the staff is very helpful and nice! I've met some great new friends from this experience so i'm grateful for that! Peter was amazing and very nice to get to know! He went above and beyond to help the guests! I wish I remembered the other names of the staff but the lady who served breakfast was lovely, so was the Canadian dude and the blonde chick up front! Darker haired chick wasn't friendly whatsoever and Steve was scary when he got drunk! Nonetheless, had a damn blast :D Thanks guys! - Laura

Room Tip: Mixed dorms are always better for meeting a range of people! Private rooms can sleep four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurar0se1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a member of staff Maria staying in the room next to ours. She would constantly storm into our bedroom, turn the lights on, slam the bedroom door, be screaming on her phone at 3am. We were suppose to have shelves in our room, sadly I never got to use mine because she had taken every single one and piled all her stuff on. (Included in photos!).

The worst part was where she decided to get undressed in the middle of the room and throw her dirty underwear next to my bed and leave it there - twice! For my entire stay there.

The breakfast was awful, it is basically cereal and toast. And I didn't even get to pour my own milk??

However there were some members of staff who were very helpful and gave me a map and gave me transport advice etc.

And the rooms were clean.

I would never stay here again, but if you are looking to get drunk and stay up late then I would probably recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Wouldn't stay here again. Dirty, rundown, rude people, free breakfast is a joke. Door rooms suck, we were in a 6 bed mixed dorm which was used a walk way through to the room attached because the shared the door. All the rooms face into the court yard and pumped (mostly very, very bad) music until the wee hours each night we stayed. Our window/door into the court yard was jammed and didn't closed so we got to enjoy all the music, screaming and talking all night.
Location wasn't great. Walking or cabbing best bet. Considering the price to stay here, not too many will opt for the taxi option every time. Worst place we stayed in our 3 month trip across the U.S.
On the plus side it did have an ensuite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The place is nice and clean, but some of the staff is rude and expect too much. we went down to eat couple of minutes before the start of the breakfast and all we got is a rude scream, and get the hell out of here order. The breakfast is really not a big deal , but ok for a budget hotel. 7am in the morning the music in the kitchen was so loud that the cheap oatmeal in your mouth tastes worse than ever. So, what did we have ? Zero service. no help, no kindness.just a lady with an open tipjar expecting some dollars. i understand that life is tough these days, but maybe u should help a foreigner,( who is first time in LA, no english) to wash his dish , and than maybe he comes down the next day happy leaving you a small tip.But dont expect us leaving u a tip for being rude or pulling the peanut butter out from the fridge to the table once a day. the rest of the staff was ok, at least they tried their best.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here with 6 other lads while travelling the West Coast and must say I really enjoyed my time in the Banana Bungalow. The rooms were pretty standard for a hostel, 3 bunk-beds, a bathroom and some storage space; everything you'd expect for this price range, had no complaints whatsoever. The facilities were top notch, there was always something to do and you are guaranteed to meet some cool people there in the spacious living/activity room or at night by the bar. There were computers, free wifi, pool and table-tennis tables, a big kitchen, a cool (and cheap) bar and lots of couches to chill out on. They also served very cheap breakfasts and dinners which is perfect for those people on small budgets. In addition, there were also some great nights out organised by the hostel with its sister hostels down the road in which we got drunk, met a load of chilled out people, had karaoke and ended up in your typical pretentious Hollywood club, we all had a great time. Buses into the main Hollywood strip stopped right across the road which was also handy for doing touristy stuff etc. All in all, I really enjoyed the place. What I liked most was the exciting and chilled out atmosphere of the place, there was always something on at night and it was full of other young people looking to have a good time. Definitely great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff is friendly and helpfull.
The location is pretty good.
There are animations every night (eg, free BBQ on sunday).
The only downside is about the bed, the mattress wasn't thick and you have to put linens on it yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,721 reviews
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#121 of 353 in Los Angeles
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
413 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,385 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range: $36 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing