We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome for meeting people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome for meeting people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friend and I had a brilliant stay at the hostel, things going on every night including limo tours with free alcohol that take you to clubs and bars in central Hollywood. There is free drink most nights and huge meals for $5!

The farmers market is a 10minute walk away and is amazing, it also has a great shopping centre connected to it called the grove. We went for an hour and ended up spending a whole day there!

The staff were all fantastic especially Bow and Pete who were always helpful and chatty and were great at getting everyone involved in the stuff going on.

The rooms were cleaner everyday and there was a range of people from different nationalities is our room but we all got on just fine. I was a bit hesitant that the rooms would be loud but it was not the case at all......the rooms really are just for sleeping or chilling in the day, at night people either go out or go down to the big area downstairs to chill out and have a few drinks!

The only downside would be the distance to the beach, it's an hour on the bus to Santa Monica, but you can then spend the entire day there and walk to Venice (wear comfy shoes!) 10 mins in to Hollywood blvd though with buses that go about every 10 minutes which is great. Overall a brilliant stay, met some great people and would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supergeorge182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    133
    49
    23
    27
See reviews for
10
71
100
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We actually were there in may 2011, we spent 2 weeks there and also went to Vegas. The staff were great and the accomodation was really good. They always had something going on for travellers including $5 dinners or drinking nights!! It was affordable and good fun plus free airport pick up!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kadyandkacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I Stayed here for a week with a few friends and we had a fantastic time.
What a great way to see all the sights and especially the nightlife of LA with some great people.
Will definitely stay here again when I imminently return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brody p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hostel has everything u cud need-friendly helpful staff, comfy beds, free wifi, apple macs, free breakfast, nightly events and it's in a cool area of Hollywood. Not quite in the crazy busy area, but only a short bus ride or half hour walk away. We walked most places and it doesn't take long and u get to see hidden gems along the way. I'd recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raindance_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Had a 5 night stay here and had a great time. Friendly people, great nights out and cheap. We booked a 6 bed dorm but really it was a 12 bed with 2 inter connecting rooms, but we didn't mind. Would stay here again and recommended to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Met some great people here and was given plenty of advise on how to get around LA from the staff.

Good location to get around.

Rooms weren't too clean and beds were shaky.

They let a much older guy in about 3am one night who then left at 6am the next day and so we all got minimal sleep! Which was infuriating.

The organised nights out etc. are fun!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lived here for four nights with my friends in april 2012. We liked it very much! I recomend it to you who likes the hostel life, It was clean and simple. The breakfast was okay. The location was good, just 5-10 min Walk from the center of Walk of fame! So if you what a nice place to stay in when you visit LA, Hollywood west, live here :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbergevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#95 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#105 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing