We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
West Hollywood
Post
Inbox
Search

“Authentic Russian Cuisine”
Review of Traktir Restaurant

Traktir Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 501 Restaurants in West Hollywood
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
Description: Homemade Russian/Ukrainian cuisine located in West Hollywood is a true authentic taste of great dishes such as traditional borscht, chicken blintz, beef stroganoff, chicken tabaka, stuffed cabbage "galubtsy", vareniki, and many more flavored dishes. Enjoy our house infused vodka of raspberry, lemon, cranberry, horseradish, pepper garlic. Come in for an authentic taste of Russia and see why Traktir Restaurant is a favorite amongst locals and an inviting surprise to newcomers. Na zda-rov ye! Cheers! See you soon.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came for lunch with a bunch of Russian colleagues and let them order. Russian seemed to be spoken at every table. That’s a great sign. The food was authentic and excellent. Just be prepared to over eat.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank SheldonK233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Traktir is a wonderful restaurant. The food is A+. The service is A+ in a great atmosphere. The only 2 negatives I found was the place is too small and is in a HORRIBLE area of town. The surrounding neighborhood is a F-.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank johnneyeagle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019 via mobile

If you're interested in authentic Russian cuisine in a small quaint atmosphere, visit Traktir. The location is easy to find, and the place itself is simple, but the food was amazing and the atmosphere feels more like being at someone's home as opposed to a restaurant. Highly recommended!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Tigertraveler012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina A, Owner at Traktir Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2019

Thank you so much for a great review and taking your time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and hope you dine with us again soon:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

We have eaten at different Russian restaurants numerous times. This one is a little different in the way they serve traditional some dishes. Of course, we could not sample the entire menu in one sitting, but we tried a variety of items.

The sitting area is very nice. They have air-conditioned portion that connects to an outdoor patio. We chose to sit inside because it was pretty warm out and also there is somewhat regular traffic on the street outside.

The bread basket that started us off was amazing. It had three types of breads, all warm, served with butter. Super Yummy!

To begin with, we had the soup of the day, which was Holodnik, cold borscht. It was very good served with lots of dill, pieces of cucumber and egg, with sour cream already premixed. We also ordered Chicken with porcini mushroom sauce. The sauce was creamy, there did not seem to be a lot of mushroom pieces in it, but it was flavorful.

For the main course, we had Chicken Shashlik, which seemed to have a bit more of cayenne pepper than is typical for that dish. It was not a bad taste, but not exactly what we expected. Similarly, Beef Stroganoff was prepared in the unusual manner. It was served in a a little crock pot without typical creamy sauce. It seemed to be more of just stewed meat pieces in its own juices. Generally, it is served over potatoes or pasta in a white creamy sauce. Both dishes were served with a side of mashed potatoes and salad. Salad and potatoes tasted good.

Not a bad place for lunch.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luv2Tour2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

What a unique treat in WeHo, an atmospheric Russian-Ukrainian cafe with authentic home-style dishes. Its friendly staff served us a couple of bowls of tasty, meaty borscht, an assortment of fresh pickled veggies and lamb. The infused vodka was fun and their in-house fruit punch was delicious. Even the brown bread seemed authentically Russian. Will return with friends.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traktir Restaurant also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Traktir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing