We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Cafe D'Etoile

Cafe D'Etoile
Ranked #39 of 433 Restaurants in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I dined here twice on our most recent trip to L.A.
The food, service and athmosphere (on busy Santa Monica Blvd but with a front patio with plenty of plants to keep it "garden-like") are just lovely! ( Priced nicely as well...)
D R Greve
PGH, PA

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DRGVEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A personal favorite”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We eat here at least once a month. Great bar and strong drinks without being prohibitively expensive. The food is always good. From the calamari and the tuna tartar to the half roasted chicken and the lamb shank, every dish on this menu is perfect. Oh, the meatloaf is out of this world, too.

You'll need reservations on weekends, but you could just walk in as well to see if they have a table open. The service here is always good. Always! The waiters are friendly, helpful and funny!

The best thing about this restaurant is that it's reasonably priced! Eating here is a steal.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ielshareef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Calamari ever!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Ok - I have eaten calamari all over the world, and their calamari is always consistently the best. The batter is perfect. The calamari is not chewy. The horseradish - which I ask to have extra of - is strong. The portion is so good it can be a meal in itself.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corona del mar, ca
2 reviews
“Delicious food, friendly service,reasonably priced”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions over the years with my partner and with out of town guest or with my family. We have never been disappointed. Tom the owner is a great host.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankCoronaDelMar_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Terrible is the perfect world”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Quite a disappointment. We went there two years ago and we won't go anymore.
We went for dinner after 9pm. Apparently the waiter was in a hurry, despite the fact the restaurant was half empty.

The bottle of wine was hot. No proposition for dessert. Check given without asking.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe D'Etoile also viewed

West Hollywood, CA
West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Cafe D'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing