We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent Chinese food in nice setting and location”
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
Ranked #46 of 433 Restaurants in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
Description: Chin Chin Restaurants made its debut in Los Angeles in 1983, introducing Dim Sum and other Chinese favorites prepared to order, without adding any MSG, and served in a contemporary environment with friendly and efficient service. After 30 years, Chin Chin Restaurants remains the most popular Chinese restaurant in Los Angeles, with 4 locations throughout the city and one in the New York-New York Hotel & Casino™ in Las Vegas, Nevada. Chin Chin has revolutionized the Chinese food experience with its ever so popular Chinese Chicken Salad and delectable Dim Sum and Then Sum feature. Chin Chin is known for its generous portions, reasonable prices, friendly service, take-out, and delivery. All of our food is prepared fresh daily and cooked to order. To ensure freshness, the finest quality ingredients are delivered to the restaurants daily. Recipes are traditional from various provinces of China as well as other Asian regions. We hope you will enjoy your experience at Chin Chin, whether it's at one of our charming locations in Los Angeles or during your escape in the New York New York Hotel in Las Vegas. It is our commitment at Chin Chin to provide excellent food, service and an experience for you and your family to enjoy for many years to come.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“decent Chinese food in nice setting and location”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice outdoor seating in Sunset Plaza, friendly service, but food was middle of the road. Not particular good, but not bad either. Good option for a quick well-priced dinner in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    63
    32
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“What a bomb...I get better take out at home!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Being an asian food buff, and after checking what my fellow advisors had to say, I decided to give Chin Chin a try try. I was not impressed.

The eatery itself is quite beautiful superficially. Interesting art on the walls, pretty fixtures, and nice flooring. However upon sitting at our table we noticed a few unpleasant things. Firstly; the table was unsteady. One of the legs was about an inch shorter than the others and the table just rocked back and forth. (We tried to move to the table beside us but the same thing happened...only worse, so we moved back). The tabletop was filthy. Sticky and pitted with various sauces, full of crumbs and what appeared to be salt. The silverware and the plates on the table were dirty. My plate had a thick layer of dust on it and the knife had bits of food on it. We requested a wipe down and new silverware.

The server was actually very nice. Apologetic, attentive, and genuinley nice to talk to. He was the only good thing we encountered at dinner that evening.

The food was God awful. I mean, GOD AWFUL. The wonton soup was a flavorless broth that had the color and consistancy of dirty bathwater. The globs of spinach freely floating were gritty, and likley unwashed. The pitiful wonton in the soup was mealy, mushy and had fallen apart in the broth.

The tea was nice. I ordered a special blend, and it was delicious. Unfortunatley the two packets of honey I recieved were dirty, sticky, and disgusting.

The mongolian beef was ok. It was typical fast food beef. A bit on the greasy side and pretty chintzy with the portion. The chicken I has was inedible. Globs of gelatinous sauce slathering chicken that tasted of styrofoam.

Even the rice was bad! Nutty, gritty, rubbery....they likley use some hybrid type of rice that is super expensive and trendy but its not what you expect when having asian. There are just some things that are universal...and should translate....like rice. Seriously. They messed up rice. I didn't even think it was possible.

Even the fortune cookie at the end, that was in a wrapper, was stale and broken...much like my heart after i reached into my wallet and paid 125.00 for a meal that was mostly left untouched.

Skip skip chin chin.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravelkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun location and great food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We went there on a sunny day and managed to get a table where the sun crept up slowly... Check!

The person who served us was particularly helpful and packed not only the leftovers but extra sauces which we had liked... Check!

The location is on Sunset Plaza which has a bevy of restaurants and a general festive vibe... Check!

The food was very good - Anthony's noodles with the coriander sauce (we asked them to leave the chicken out), spicy eggplant were really good. I didn't like the mango flavoured ice tea that much.

Nice casual place - perfect for a lunch al fresco.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandhya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This place is addicting!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Fried rice, Chinese chicken salad, Mein Mein, chocolate dipped fortune cookies, mango tea - all amazing and at a great price! When I travel to LA, this is the one restaurant I try not to miss!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenTHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had better”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Mongolian Beef was ok. It was too sweet and too much soy sauce. They're Orange Chicken wasn't bad though. For Chinese food, it's pricey and not all that great. Service was ok.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissAudreyXo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing