We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, food and location”
Review of Katana

Katana
Reserve with OpenTable
Katana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 435 Restaurants in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: La Cienega
Description: Katana is an extraordinary beautiful Japanese restaurant serving Robata, a form of Japanese tapas, traditional sushi, and a unique variety of Japanese cuisine. There is a Robata and sushi bar, and spectacular patio dining overlooking Sunset Strip.
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Service, food and location”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Turned up with no reservation, excellent service, got us seated outside after we had a cocktail in the bar. Great food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank queenoftherow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    126
    40
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wowie!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Yum! Yum! Yum! Great food, atmosphere with good service. I would give them a 98% perfect score. I would deduct 2 because it would have been even better if we had a little advice on the timing of the delivery of various items...."that item takes quite a while; maybe you should order something that comes out quickly at the same time." But other than that, we thought it was just an outstanding evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oyster_afficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great outside dining, plenty of atmosphere, interesting cocktails with a twist. A pleasant experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank willgwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cool vibes and fantastic food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to take friends and get the West Hollywood ambience with wonderful food, service and crowd! We ate about 10 plates between the three of us and they were all excellent. I stretched the ceiling by trying the Spanish mackerel sashimi and it excelled. The sushi rolls were also great - definitely try the spider roll. The tuna plate with jalapeños was to die for. Great crowd too - we sat outside on a chilly night and we had plenty of warmth and no shortage of great people around us. Good place for friends, business, and romance and we could see plenty of all that there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My daughter lives in West Hollywood and made the reservation for us. We were very happy with the outdoor seating. Food was very good. we tried many different items. Yakitori Grill was the best I have had. The Sashimi was fresh. Other items were tasty. Waitstaff was friendly and easy to work with.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katana also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
West Hollywood, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Katana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing