We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night!”
Review of Katana

Katana
Reserve with OpenTable
Katana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 434 Restaurants in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: La Cienega
Description: Katana is an extraordinary beautiful Japanese restaurant serving Robata, a form of Japanese tapas, traditional sushi, and a unique variety of Japanese cuisine. There is a Robata and sushi bar, and spectacular patio dining overlooking Sunset Strip.
Como, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent night!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

First time at Katana it was great!
We have ordered the Rabata menu and I have to say it was very good.
The waitress suggested to try it, great choice.
We ate a lot, did not expect as much.
As all fancy places in LA a bit overpriced but I think it was worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Jackonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    120
    40
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High expectations”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had high expectations for Katana but were let down. Beautiful people! Average food. Okay service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nksberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Glam Japanese on Sunset”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Set in a fabulous building that looks like a Tuscan Villa right on Sunset Blvd, it's very glam. The interior is modern and dimly lit, we enjoyed the food and the service was adequate/slow until we paid the bill and then there was none.
Would still recommend it we enjoyed it immensely and it's just across the road from the other glam spot Mondrian Hotel and the fun Skybar.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnkiGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All good things must come to an end?”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was awful. Nothing like the Katana of a few years ago. Servers are tired and seem to hate their jobs. Food presentation old and drab.

Wouldn't recommend the experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia-LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Glam & Sushi”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We were sat outside on the terrace and enjoyed a truly wonderful Asian cuisine and a great Californian white. If you have problems with your sight, make sure you bring a little reading lamp to be able to see what's in the list. It's really dark as much as the candles are pretty and make a fabulous ambience. The service by an abundant choice of long legged beauties is very friendly, however they tend to get confused with orders. Nevertheless a unique experience! We'll be definitely back!

Helpful?
Thank AKKCDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katana also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Katana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing