We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Chateau darling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Marmont
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's Chateau darling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

Why can't life always be like this?

We got the cheapest room in the joint. It was still heaps! HEAPS! What we spent at Chateau would've gotten us around the world and a half. We stayed for 2 nights and ordered lots of room service, for your gauge.

The room service was comedicly fast. Feels like you just put the phone down and they're quietly - respectfully - wrapping on your door.

IT'S THE CHATEAU MARMONT! GOSH DARN IT!

You never see anyone, it's always dark. Could be day or night, any era, a dream you don't want to wake up from.

They have interesting things like music you can hire.... we wondered how cool you'd have to be to be on the CM CD list. Really cool we concluded.

Big TV. Sexy minibar with stuff you just have to buy. And there's heaps of complimentary stuff, it sustained us through the next phase of our trip - India. That's a nice pretzel!

Cristal is on the menu. Sweet Lord.

Nice robes, we bought one. Only one though cos it was $200.

Really classy we feel like we learnt a lot about being rich. Restaurant is chic, so is the bar, so is the key to your room.

And we saw that guy from Entourage, Vinnie Chase. Yo Vinny!

Never felt so young and gorgeous as at Chateau.

We would add photos but they ask that you please refrain from taking them cos everyone's so rich and famous. Like us.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rabdeepsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    95
    40
    42
    37
See reviews for
57
178
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

I think the reviews of this hotel really say it all - you love it or hate it. For me, it was love.

When you check in, it does feel like the hotel california, with alcoves, dim lighting and a bit of spookiness throughout. It didn't help that my room was number 66! True, it is a bit musty and feels like you are in "LA Confidential" but the beds are comfortable, the mini bar (all free except drinks) is great, and I found the staff very helpful. I opted for a junior suite after hearing that the basic rooms were small - I had a balcony that went from the hills in the back to Sunset Blvd in the front. The room had a dining room, kitchen and sitting room - all very 1920s. The lights in the homes in the hills were on all night - I loved the night owl feel to the place. Breakfast was great and not expensive. IF you have breakfast before 10, it is a ghost town.

I had lived in LA for years and always wanted to stay here - glad I did. It is dripping with cool and secrets. It lived up to the hype with on exception - the crowd staying there did not seem particularly cool or industry - I suspect all of those people are hiding out in the bungalows.

  • Liked — history of the hotel
  • Disliked — the crowd
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alainef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

I stayed here with a friend who always raved about the glamour of the Chateau but I was very hard pressed to find anything glamourous about this faded screen star. Granted, our room was big but the bathroom had peeling paint, a tub stopper that was a moldy circle of plastic, and no, I repeat, no power outlets. Not good for two girls getting ready for a night out. The whole hotel is stained and dingy. Every time I groused about this however, my friend said "You just don't get the Chateau Vibe!" Well, the vibe I was getting was being ripped off and then asked to feel fab about it. The service is very unprofessional but I have a feeling it steps up several notches if you are famous--there is no way some busy star would put up with the recurrent lameness of the staff we encountered. Overall--if you get a great internet deal and want to check out the "vibe" go for it--otherwise stay at the Sunset Tower or the Roosevelt for your taste of Hollywood.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank llamaMamaMarinCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

The Chateau Marmont is a beautiful old hotel. It's very old Hollywood. And that's part of the problem: The rooms are small, not especially comfortable (the bathroom was bigger than the room, it felt) and the walls are super thin.

I know that the Chateau is where Hollywood types party, and perhaps I should have expected the screaming at 3am from the room next door (or maybe not, since the note from the manager said they hoped we'd have a relaxing stay). We called the front desk numerous times, and the screaming/partying continued even after security visited our neighbors twice. I did not want to be a bad guy, but since we had an early morning flight in a few hours, I went downstairs, exhausted and frustrated. The hotel decided to remove the guests, and took 50% off that night.

The pros: The lovely restaurant and courtyard, as well as the pool.

The cons: Room size, quality and comfort.

  • Liked — Location and charm
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rsbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

This was our second year running at the hotel - last year we brought the kids and rented a cottage in the grounds. This year we had a first floor rear facing suite with no kids - perfect. My wife and I just love the hotel, the pool, the staff and especially the terrace restaurant. Everyone has a script with them at breakfast, for lunch it's deals been done or stars being interviewed and in the evening it's glamour and late night revelry in the dimmest of lights. This is LA after all....

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mikedjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

A lot of guests having problems at check-in, we didn't get the cottage we had booked but once we did it was bliss. The hassle was part of the staff, one part nice and service minded - the other half seriously not understanding they aren't Tom Hanks - the are service people that unlike their guests actually have to work for a living... Only other problem: dirty dirty hotel, towels dirty, pool dirty, rooms dirty... yuck. Free minibar nice and Kiehls products perfect - once you don't have to deal with the staff and can get that residential feeling it's great - extremely beautiful and calm unlike the very ugly LA.

  • Liked — The Chateau itself
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CleoStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

This was my second stay at the Chateau and I absolutely love the place. It's certainly not for everyone: rooms vary widely, service is friendly but casual, and the vibe is laid-back rather than crisp and efficient - it's definitely not the Four Seasons, and all the better for it. What you get when you stay here is access to a fun world of musicians and movie producers hanging out, a historic and beautiful setting, and some of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. I'd recommend the junior suites: about twice the size of standard rooms for only about $100 extra, they are very large and have kitchens and dining rooms as well. Bathrooms are small but pretty, and are rammed full of Frette towels and Kiehl's goodies. It's all a little shabby but in a way that's fully in keeping with the 1940s film-noire atmosphere.
Not so good was breakfast - not fresh enough pastries, only one small cup of coffee, and less than fresh fruit. But the Standard is over the road (you can even walk which is a pretty revolutionary thing to consider in LA) and they do awesome, cheap food 24/7.

I think fundamentally, you'll either like this place or loathe it. If you want conventional luxury, fawning service, and spotless predictable rooms (and there's nothing wrong with all that) then stay away - there are plenty of very nice hotels in LA that will give all this. If you want somewhere low-key, stylish, a bit chaotic, very fun, and extremely beautiful, you should give it a try.

  • Liked — Great atmosphere, lovely rooms
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DocCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Property: Chateau Marmont
Address: 8221 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046-2484
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Marmont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing