We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This place is magic in so many ways...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Marmont
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
bethesda, md.
Level Contributor
592 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“This place is magic in so many ways...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nothing feels more Hollywood than a nights stay at the Chateau Marmont in West Hollywood, California. Long an icon of Hollywood lore and history, the Chateau is not the fanciest or most comfortable hotel by today's standards, but Nothing beats the sense that your room...every room in the hotel has stories to tell. Always something happening in th he hotel's bars and restaurant too. If it's the "real" Hollywood you want to experience, then a stay at the Chateau Marmont is a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    89
    35
    36
    34
See reviews for
48
165
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Literally just went to Chateau Montmartre, Bar Montmartre, for some pre dinner drinks.
Very cool and had we not had dinner booked in the Tower we’d have stayed...
I get it now! Will go back for full dinner and maybe also book the hotel as I really like this part of LA.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

If you are visiting LA for the first time and haven't heard of the name don't bother coming, you are not going to like it. However, for those who haven't stayed here, but, always thought about, I highly recommend it. The constant swirl of celebrities aside and the archaic accommodations a given, there is nothing like it that I have experienced to date. It's in the air. A certain ease and graciousness of the staff, the pleasant laziness of the courtyard that turns to electric tension in a second, and, of course, the instant immersion into West Hollywood culture. This is not so much a hotel experience as a lifestyle choice, even for a few days. However, if you are just looking for a great deal on Sunset, the Andaz is just a few blocks away, but, be warned you will be letting history pass you by.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Amazing location, great breakfast, fantastic service (esp the concierge and valets). If you're looking for standard luxuries like a fresh coat of paint or an uber deluxe bathroom, the Chateau might not be for you. But the hotel offers a kind of magic that money doesn't buy. And the gardens and cottages are pretty great too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the garden cottages this week for 6 nights - overall the experience was very good: the location in west Hollywood is unbeatable, the staff were all very friendly (being in a cottage our interaction was really just the valet in the garage) when approached and the concierge gave us very good restaurant recommendations etc.

My only tips to fellow travelers is if you're looking to stay in the cottages is that they're not stand-alone but rather connected to one another via thin stud-wall, so we could clearly hear our neighbors conversations when they were just talking normally in their room which was very annoying. I was praying they wouldn't come home at 3am with friends and make noise!
This was surprising as the whole point of booking a cottage was to get some seclusion, instead after an hour of check in we were considering asking for a standard room in the hotel itself.

The only other negative was the bathroom- it was really tiny, with a pedestal vanity very little space for toiletries (we had to keep most of them in the kitchen), and the shower - which is a bath/shower - seems to be either tepid or hot enough to fuse atoms (if adjusted just millimeters) which gets a bit tiresome.

These are pretty small negatives but are a bit disappointing given the expectations and price per night; we came from NYC (the Bowery hotel) and Vegas (Wynn) before here and both were superior in my view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamesz684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Sure, this is a famous landmark hotel and a hangout for A-list celebrities - which I am not - but that didn't stop the hotel from taking excellent care of me and making my stay exceptional in every way. From the advance call from the concierge, the excellent food, the way they dealt with an event in the hotel to every staff person I came in contact with being friendly, helpful and fun. It just doesn't get any better. The rooms are classically furnished for comfort, not to impress. The place is private and appropriate. The pool is small, but very nice. I've had great meals there - especially the hamburger. I live this place and stay here every opportunity I have - THEY GET IT!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chowdown20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Finally had the chance to visit the famed Chateau where the famous celebrities hang out. The entrance to the property is obscure - drive too fast along Sunset and you will miss it. The hotel does not offer self parking, only valet so your only other choice is to hunt for limited street parking around the neighborhood. The exterior of the Chateau looks impressive and imposing, a castle on a hill. The interior was dark and moody, and had an old Hollywood ambiance.

I visited a one bedroom suite on the third floor. To my dismal surprise the suite contained an outdated bathroom and kitchen. The appliances had not been upgraded since several decades ago. The bathroom was small. The only redeeming quality of the room was the bedroom which had nice Frette linen.

I did not get the chance to dine at their property or visit the bar. I also did not spot any famous celebrities but they were preparing for an invite only book release party of a world famous photographer and the Oscar. The hotel staff is courteous but not friendly. They will only be willing to help you if you approach them first.

I do not understand how they can justify charging expensive rates for their sub par rooms. Their rooms are in dire need of a renovation. Looking outside the window from the suite, I could see the roof of their bar was in disrepair - not a pleasant sight to behold.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hubert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Property: Chateau Marmont
Address: 8221 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046-2484
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Marmont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing