We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated celebrity hotel”
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Marmont
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Finally had the chance to visit the famed Chateau where the famous celebrities hang out. The entrance to the property is obscure - drive too fast along Sunset and you will miss it. The hotel does not offer self parking, only valet so your only other choice is to hunt for limited street parking around the neighborhood. The exterior of the Chateau looks impressive and imposing, a castle on a hill. The interior was dark and moody, and had an old Hollywood ambiance.

I visited a one bedroom suite on the third floor. To my dismal surprise the suite contained an outdated bathroom and kitchen. The appliances had not been upgraded since several decades ago. The bathroom was small. The only redeeming quality of the room was the bedroom which had nice Frette linen.

I did not get the chance to dine at their property or visit the bar. I also did not spot any famous celebrities but they were preparing for an invite only book release party of a world famous photographer and the Oscar. The hotel staff is courteous but not friendly. They will only be willing to help you if you approach them first.

I do not understand how they can justify charging expensive rates for their sub par rooms. Their rooms are in dire need of a renovation. Looking outside the window from the suite, I could see the roof of their bar was in disrepair - not a pleasant sight to behold.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hubert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 495 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the chateau for a long weekend. We arrived and they upgraded us to a cottage-it was so lovely and charming. It was fully stocked and they even had stationary with my name printed on it. The service was impeccable and we will definitely make this our only place to stay when we go to LA.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Let me start off by saying that I have been to the Chateau more than I can count. I have only stayed in the Hotel one night. But find myself going back to the patio for dinner, drinks, and to hang out under the stars or next to the stars. The food is delicious. Very basic, comfort food mostly. But I or my friends go there for the vibe. You need a res, because they have many celebs and visitors. So they can be picky to get in. But once you are in, they treat you like your'e one of them. You need to sit outside. Do not sit inside as you will be disappointed. It's all about outside and the atmosphere . I have had dinner sitting next to Pink, Ellen, Collin Ferrel, Natalie Portman, the list goes on. It's still a Hollywood A lister place. If you like that kinda thing, you will like this place. But remember it's not about them, it's about the Vibe.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room, don't expect perfection with the rooms, they are old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 3yarddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The dodgy neon sign with only half of 'Marmont' illuminated should have been a warning sign, but we plundered on in...then there were ear-plugs in the bathroom cabinet - ahhhhhhhh, getting interesting. First off let me say the staff were exceptional - on the desk, in the wonderful restaurant and bar and helping us park in the garage - great people all...our stay in Room 27 was less than splendid though in a ho-hum room with leaky bathroom. There is a line - a thick one I now think - between cool retro and old, tired and a bit shabby. The clattering from the kitchen below our window at 2am wasn't appreciated - yes, should have used those ear-plugs. You expect more from a room which costs $650 a night. By contrast, we had the best of times in the wonderful bar and restaurant. As others have said on Trip Advisor, insist on a renovated room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Chateau on about 10 occasions over 10 years. It's one of the main reasons why we travel the 6,000 miles from the UK to LA. Oh, and the weather too.

It is a five star hotel, but not a conventional one. It's funky, it's old Hollywood and there's is genuinely nowhere else like it in the world. Where many five star hotels are plush, but could be in any major city, you know where you are at the Chateau.

The pool is charming, the main lobby stylish and the outdoor restaurant is tranquil by day and buzzing at night.

The staff are wonderful, friendly and charming. Special praise for Jesse, Peter, Scott, and Matthew the host, he of the fabulous hair and very high cheekbones.

The restaurant food is great comfort food: strip steak (with superb fries), spaghetti bolognese and even shepherds pie. The Sunday night fried chicken is rightly legendary.

We'll be back in May 2014. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the city have amazing views, but you pay for the privilege
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewN916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was lucky to get a renovated room, nr 21, facing the restaurant. There's just something in the air at this place. Old Hollywood. I absolutely love it. The gym is tiny. I usually care, but I don't. I just don't want to leave. Your mileage may vary.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room. The other ones aren't that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Magnificent, in a word. World Class in two. Without equal in two more.
THE Chateau is legendary and after a week during the Holidays it is even more so. Ambiance in all places. Grand food and wines. Discreet and caring service make this the only hotel for us in Hollywood. We even fly from LAX fbo to our other West Coast venues just to stay here. Yes, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckclowdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,050 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,088 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,732 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,039 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Address: 8221 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046-2484
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $511 - $1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Marmont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing