We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money ! Horrible service”
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Marmont
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed for a week in the Chateau Marmont and I had a room on the same floor then the reception. The room itself was not to small but it was horrible dated. Beware you won't sleep before 2am cause it's very noisy from the Hotel Bar in the courtyard. From the outside this Hotel has a lot of charme from the inside it's just dated. The staff is not friendly at all even often very arrogant. I stayed a few times at the Sunset Tower Hotel which is a complete different world. The Chateau Marmont is only good if you want to eat in the courtyard at noon. Then service is "Ok". Later it will be horrible. I saw people who received their main meal served with the invoice and a nice tag that they have 10 minutes left then the next guests will come to take their table.....

Room Tip: Beware of a room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Marantz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Marmont
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 482 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Took a family vacation to LA and chose to stay at Chateau Marmont. Although the location was great, the rooms were very disappointing. We were not informed that smoking is allowed in the rooms, and the smell was overwhelming. When we asked the hotel to deodorize all they did was come in and light a candle.

The bungalow we stayed in was in need of serious renovations: bathroom floors were coming up in the corners, tub and sink were constantly clogged, ceiling in bathroom was water-stained and crumbling.

Generally service in the bar and restaurant were good, however the last day we were there a bartender gave himself a $40 tip on top of what we already tipped and the front desk was unable to resolve the issue upon check-out. Mistake or not, they should have fixed this promptly, and after 3 weeks we still had not been contacted.

For the price we paid to stay at this hotel, I would have rather stayed at another luxury property and given up the "experience" of Chateau Marmont.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cmara32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ive been fortunate enough to stay at Marmont several times, this is the first time in a room, rather than a cottage or bungalow. The room was fantastic, but found the service this time a little inexperienced, perhaps due to it being Christmas time?? It was also the first time a didn't receive a room upgrade despite the hotel only at 40% occupancy, also a late check out fell on deaf ears unless a paid an additional $300 plus. There for christmas day and was told lunch would have a few christmas dishes, but just the standard menu, still delicious mind you! Also charged for something on the credit card that we didn't have, annoying. So these little lapses you dont expect from them added up. Will i go back again, for sure, but perhaps not with the same enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Up a little higher and deluxe suite offer best value.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a romantic weekend and absolutely fell in love with the place. This place is about the atmosphere. It's not the 5 star hotels we normally stay in, but it was comfortable and relaxing. The people watching was a plus! We will for sure be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jreimert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

All the stories about old Hollywood ambience are true. But what really impressed me was the service. It was friendly and gracious, without being stilted. As you'd imagine in Hollywood, the staff is attractive -- but it's also professional, which doesn't always go with being pretty. Once you walk through the door, you're a member of the club. Like many clubs, the rooms are nothing special and some of the furniture has been knocked about a bit. My room (a standard) was large, linens were good, and bed was firm. Bathroom was OK (with Kiehl toiletries) tho could use some updating. The public areas are inviting. Part of the charm is that, while you're right on the Strip, you'd secluded and completely private. For those precious hours of your stay, you'll feel like Hollywood royalty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brasilerio2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I are from Australia, and stayed at the Chateau for 2 nights in November. This was our second visit, after staying one night the first time

We love the feel of the hotel, and sitting having drinks in the lobby and watching the constant stream of people, and having dinner in the fantastic outdoor garden area, epitomises the aura of the Hotel.

We never had any problem in getting in for dinner, and found the service by everyone we came into contact with to be 5 star

We also tried Bar Marmont for drinks and a snack this time and loved that also

We stayed in a junior suite both times, and the rooms and amenities have been great. The bathrooms need a bit of work as they are still from a bygone era, but the whole experience of living in and being a part of this iconic hotel overcome any negatives.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel. We love the celebrity spotting and the ambience, and the history that is the Chateau

Next time in L A we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Chateau Marmont is a slice of glamorous Hollywood history that everyone should try and enjoy at least once. The untouched beauty and its timeless interiors are its magic. There are some things I can imagine people complain about but it's so minimal in comparison to the ambience. The beds are so comfortable and our room had a living space & kitchen, so it was lovely to sit in at the end if the day, have a wine and look out at L.A.

We found the service so friendly and easy going. Not fussy or over bearing at all.

My husband thinks the breakfast burritos are the best he has had (we are now doing our own burrito challenge. Chateau is still winning) however the food was good but nothing compared to other L.A must go to places. It's the surroundings, staff and people watching that makes it all so special.

We will be back and stay here again. It's really really good fun.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank OHendo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,948 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,703 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,954 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Address: 8221 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046-2484
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $507 - $1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Marmont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing