We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightful ambience ... Reputation makes you feel naughty just being there.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Marmont
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
336 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Delightful ambience ... Reputation makes you feel naughty just being there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

You don't have to dig deep on google to find the stories of the rich, the famous and the Chateau. The decor is a delightful tribute to old world charm and retro chic. The suites are a perfect step back in time to the 50's right down to the old fashioned bottle opener screwed to the kitchen cabinet :)
The location is perfect and puts you 10-15 minutes from most everything worth seeing and doing in town. The service is impeccable.
We like everything about this place and plan to return.
If you're even thinking about a meal in the dining room or a drink in the lounge / bar you better book reservations when you book your room. There little to no chance of just dropping in for a drink or a meal. Your standing as a guest has no weight with the dining room, bar or lounge as proven on several ill fated attempts to get in LOL. Fortunately, LA is full of great places to fill that need..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild_Radek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    90
    37
    39
    35
See reviews for
51
170
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
227 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are the type of person who buys a certain brand of car, not for how much you like it, but what others think when they see you driving it ... the Chateau is where you want to stay. The people who frequent this old school Hollywood Haunt (self included unfortunately) are snobs pure and simple. Any hotel in any other location with rooms that look like those in the Chateau would be the category 2 priceline deal that you bid on. Add a cashmere throw and a reputation like NO other hotel has and you have the Chateau Marmont.

In the past, it was the place where celebrities went to evade the lenses of the paparazzi. They came for the privacy within the hotel which became policy within the hotel. No cameras inside, staff who are brainwashed to pretend not to care they are waiting on the most famous actor in modern cinema and a 'you just threw a tray of glasses against the wall in the lobby? no problem miss Lohan we will just add those to your bill. Have a nice night.' sort of attitude.

How ironic that today most of the people who stay here are staying here because society today not only idolizes celebrity but it believes that you CAN be celebrity. The uber ranks of facebook models and the dozens of free (and not bad) photograpers on sites like modelmayhem give average everyday schmoes the idea that in their own facebook circles ... they are famous and should thus belong at the Chateau.

The crowd at the Chateau on a Thursday through Sunday is almost unbearable to be around. This is why I stay there only on the nights that the wanna be celeb crowd and hipster groups aren't there. Occasionally, I will dine there one a night where you are likely to see paparazzi camped outside waiting for the chance to take a few photos of a celebrity jumping into a cab while ignoring B listers like Andy Dick asking them to interview him.

Outside of 'all that' ... its actually a nice concept for a hotel. It has sort of a resort feel inside the walled gate where the pool is because nobody can get through that gate unless they have a key. Except for the young hipsters who casually wait next to the door for a guest to go through the gate and then sneak in behind them. The gate leads to Shangri La. A shady looking and small pool surrounded by expensive chez lounge chairs ... the occasional Moroccan themed sitting area that I always try to reconstruct in my back yard but never can ... and the stairways to the infamous bungalows. Well worth the thousand dollar splurge when you are in 'baller mode'.

If you are a 'be seen' person ... you'll want to do it here. But ... not just anyone can get in. Unless you've stayed here a few times and spent some paper at the Marmont (or are uber goodlooking or uber connected) ... you won't get past the paper of the guest list. Not even for a drink. You will be directed to the Bar Marmont a few doors down which the hotel owns. This is a bar for those not quite cool enough, famous enough or loyal enough to get a reservation for dinner in the fabled patio area. I've been on the receiving end of the 'try the Bar Marmont' comment a few times before staying here whenever I am in town on business. Since then, its really nice to be able to get a reservation for dinner in the courtyard (especially on a quiet night) but honestly, I hate to admit that I like the vibe in the Bar Marmont a tiny bit better.

You pay for the experience here ... before hotel genius (or scene genius) Andres Balizar took this property over ... the rooms were less expensive but other than the luxurious grey cashmere throws on the beds, they didn't change much. In fact, the whole hotel hasn't changed much except for the price. Yet it still does sell out frequently much to my chagrin. Part of that is Balizar's public relations genius ... and part of that is people believe themselves to be in celebrities these days and will pony up to feel that they belong in the category as such. As a result, I have heard many of the very famous celebs who used to use the Chateau as a sanctuary are now going to the much more under the radar Sunset Towers Hotel who is glad to take the business and operates under a completely opposite atmosphere when it comes to parties and noise.

I will say on non-stay nights at the Chateau ... you will spend as much in an evening at the Marmont as you would to stay at even a somewhat comparable hotel in West Hollywood. (if there is such a thing) The last time I was passing through and decided to have dinner there the parking fee alone was $50 for 4.5 hours. (They will charge $15 for anything up to 3 hours) And when I asked for a glass of Merlot the waitstaff gladly chose the most expensive of the two for me without asking at $22 per glass. That is $72 spent even before the $100 for food, $12 on bottled water and $20 for tip (which 15% of is always automatically added in due to the high amount of European tourists who have started to frequent the Chateau). In fact the last times I've been there the whole place had an Austrailian accent. Go figure. But the attitude here by the staff isn't really 'you should be famous if you are staying here?' in my experience it's 'you shouldn't care what we charge for that if you are going to be staying here'.

But overall, if you are ready to open your wallet ... you should be ready to have a good time because there really is noplace like the Chateau at all. Anything goes here pretty much. Although I will say that the last time I stayed there room service could only offer me 6 cold choices from the menu at 3:40 a.m. I never thought I'd ever hear myself complaining about that but a hot item would have been nice over a game of ping pong at almost 4 a.m. And I'm only sort of kidding.

One of these days I am going to rent the penthouse suite. I've slept in the bungalows, slept in the standard rooms, I've even slept in the bushes by the pool (from what I've been told) ... but that will be something I aspire to at the Chateau and where do you go from there? So hopefully it never happens.

Room Tip: Go big or go home. Get the bungalow. You know you want to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LovinHotelLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of this hotel in hollywood has some great views and excellent sunset... Been on sunset blvd was also great. I did dine in at the restaurant one night and what terrible service i did receive if your not famous or have a million dollars or more in your bank account and drive a nice car then you will get looked upon and receive terrible service i certainly will not recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind excellent service cheers :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

You really don't go here for the rooms, really. You go here to feel a part of what it must have been like 50 years ago when movie stars were part of the studio system. The romanesque architecture, the patio, the cool air and, what you can't believe is the surreality of it all. There is a very thin sliver of hedges that separate you and the Sunset Blvd but you forget that the roadway is there. Moreover, what makes this place exciting is its morose psychiatric hospital look from a distance and yet it just draws you in..... It really is an unbelievable place. Funky fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mobiousthunderduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Chateau Marmont. We enjoyed it's secluded atmosphere. Our room was nice size, with a somewhat old bathroom but the latter was fine. Dinner was great. I especially enjoyed their "no camera" policy at the restaurant. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bazilu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was my 5th time staying at the Chateau, and as another guest explained "you get it or you don't" You will either love or hate this hotel, I LOVE IT and have never been able to get enough!

Most importantly, if you act like a "star gazer" you will be quickly dismissed...be cool and nice, the staff will go out of their way for you....I know all the staff by name, was respectful and I was treated like a celebrity. The food is excellent, nowhere will you experience the vibe that surrounds The Chateau Marmont...the experience is one I can never describe. You feel the presence of movie stars of the past and will see many more from the present from film directors, writers, producers and actors themselves. They come here because it is private and they know they won't be bothered.

Treat yourself, I never regret the money spent........I will go back as soon as I can!

Room Tip: Cottages are wonderful as well as the suites!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are looking for a newly built luxury hotel - this is not the place for you. However - if you like Hollywood history, tasteful decor and discrete luxury - you've come to the right place.

This was my second stay at CM and this time was just as good as expected.
As it was Emmy weekend they wanted the hotel part for the A-listers so I was upgraded to bungalow 83. And it was just perfect. A one bedroom suite just behind the pool area.
The newly established bar was good news - beautiful french retro design and great drinks.
There are only two areas that the hotel management should consider developing: the check in routine and the restaurant service/food quality.
But as a total experience - this is one of my absolute favorites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Property: Chateau Marmont
Address: 8221 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046-2484
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Marmont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing