We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of Whiskey-a-Go-Go

Whiskey-a-Go-Go
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Glamorous Hollywood and Beverly Hills Highlights Tour of Los Angeles
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Best of Hollywood Food Tour
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Movie Stars' Homes Tour
Ranked #3 of 36 Nightlife in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous club has for years been a hot spot to see the top names in rock 'n roll.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“nice place”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

a friends band was playing, enjoed the act and we went to support and the drinks were a little different.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Rock and Roll History in the air”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Was so glad we stopped here to have a beer and listen to some music. Just thinking about all the people that have played here you can feel the history in the air. It was nice to just sit and soak it all in. There were some pictures on the wall. The place was a lot smaller than I expected with not much seating.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaLyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whiskey-a-Go-Go, the place to go-go”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I visited LA in September 2011 with some buddies, and the Whiskey was high on my to do list and it didn't disappoint. We had a great night watching some local bands followed by The LA Guns. As a fan of 80s music, this notorious rock club on the Sunset Strip just had to be visited alongside a meal at the Rainbow bar and grill.

Drinks are reasonably priced, beers and spirits readily available, the venue is tight, gritty and full of rock history. When you think of the bands that have come through here, you actually have to be delighted to be in the place. After a few drinks it's like a rock heaven. Forget the big concert venues - get down and dirty at the Whiskey and rawk on \m/

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mke
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun to see a show there”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a fun night at the Whiskey. Drinks were reasonable for L.A. They seem disorganized at the door. You buy your tickets online then wait in a really long line only to turn in your ticket inches away from where you bought it. You don't get a ticket stub--you get a handstamp. No point in the the long ticketing line. Go very early if you want to sit at a table upstairs. We preferred to stand, but the crowd did get pushy and irritating. Fun night though. We saw Wild Child.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DepartingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience in L.A.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good bands & Rock & Roll all night! I went with my husband to see The Faster Pcat in a place where most famous bands played such as Motley Crue and Guns and Roses.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Gimena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey-a-Go-Go also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Whiskey-a-Go-Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing