We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great concept”
Review of Tender Greens

Tender Greens
Ranked #49 of 434 Restaurants in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great concept”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We walked down to Santa Monica Blvd. after a showing of The Book of Mormon at the Pantages in search of dinner, and we chose Tender Greens. This place was great, and another successful take on the whole "fast-casual" dining experience, kind of along the Chipotle vein of things. Tender Greens uses organic ingredients whenever possible and their menu seems to have real integrity. I ordered the salt and pepper chicken as a hot plate with yukon gold mashed potatoes and their romaine hearts side salad. I had not expected to find such a plainly-named chicken dish so delicious. The outdoor patio at this location was really pleasant and quiet in the middle of the city, and we really enjoyed our time unwinding from our show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank McMidgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco South Bay area
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“advice for a first time visit”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a great restaurant with great food. But your first time ordering can be confusing especially if the restaurant isn't busy. We went in around 8 pm on a Thursday night. There's a long counter with a computer-style register at each end, and neither counter end is marked for ordering or pickup. There were one or two people at each register. So which register should you go to? Answer: The one nearest the front door is for ordering. The pickup area is at the far end. This sounds obvious now but without any signage or crowd flow to give you clues, it's a bit disconcerting when you first enter the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fresh, healthy and tasty.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A great place to eat out as it is inexpensive. The food was fresh and tasty and the menu was healthy too. The service was quick and efficient too. Would love to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshinemags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super fresh, very reasonable fare with lots of tasty, healthy options”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I live near here and eat here often. Great, fresh, inexpensive dinner choices include chicken, rare albacore, fresh trout, lean beef and various daily specials...busy and crowded most nights for dinner. A great choice for an inexpensive, tasty, satisfying and mostly healthy dinner. Wine & beer, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WehoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wish we'd found this place the first night!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We visited Tender Greens West Hollywood on the last night of our holiday in LA, and wished we'd found this place on the first night so we could've come back a few times! On our three week holiday of the South-west, this was definitely the best food we ate!

It's a busy humming restaurant, and a bit overwhelming if you don't know how ordering works, but just go with the flow. The menu is very extensive, and you can adapt different components to form a meal to suit your tastes. The salads were made from incredibly fresh ingredients and the prices were very affordable. Meal sizes were plenty big enough.

We had a few drinks that they make in-store which were nice for a change. We also tried the apple pie - YUM! Make sure you try the mashed potatoes - they're to die for!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tender Greens also viewed

West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Tender Greens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing