We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”
Review of The Charlie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Charlie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Love staying at 'The Charlie' better than a motel. We stayed with our friends in a two bedroom (Valentino room) just done Route 66 and what a place to seat back and relax. Next time in Los Angles will stay at the Charlie. Telling our friends about this place

Room Tip: Love it rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your review John!

We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us at The Charlie! And thank you for referring us to your friends--word of mouth is our primary marketing tool!

We look forward to having you back with us at The Charlie during your next trip to Los Angeles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

PHENOMENAL! - The only word to describe my experience at "The Charming Charlie!" I love staying at hidden jems off the beaten path and The Charlie is just that AND MORE! From the private patio to the comfy, yet well-appointed bungalow.....and the rose-lined stone paths to the inviting and personable staff, this oasis left me wanting to just cuddle up and make this my home! ...centrally located to dining, shopping, sight-seeing....the only question remaining is, "when can I move in?"

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDM1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your review MDM1989!

We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your recent stay with us! And we hope to see you at The Charlie during your next trip to Los Angeles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Yes, they are dog friendly, but they also charge $100 fee- not a deposit, just fee. Have never encountered anything close to that, and for sure I think guests should be notified in advance. I did call ahead and left a message indicating I would be bringing a dog, but no one contacted me to tell me their pet fee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 32810Gew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your review 32810Gew!

We are pet-friendly, but we do charge a non-refundable $100 fee per stay (for stays under 1 week). This is a very reasonable charge and compares to other neighboring pet-friendly West Hollywood hotels.

We hope you choose The Charlie during your next trip to LA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

perfect location and a bargain for what you get. Just for balance, the downside: firstly, spiders and ants are beneficials and I would not approve regular spraying with toxic chemicals to suit Tastebuds 14 or any other visiting complaint. However, the parking spaces are tight (just have to be careful), the hot water does take a few minutes to come on, it would be nice if they had a breakfast option (maybe croissants and tea in a basket), and a couple of bath-robes in the closet. But it is a delightful, quaint, and special spot, well worth the price. And West Hollywood is the best part of LA.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Conrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just by accident and certainly fate I found the Charlie in west Hollywood.
It was such a joy to walk into this little paradise behind a simple wooden garage door.
Masha greeted me outside and literally guided me into my parking space and walked me up to the
Most gorgeous and charming 2 story apartment it felt liked was in Paris.
Every need, every question, was answered in minutes.
I love the bathroom with the huge, immaculate showers and the patios belong in an Audrey Hepburn movie.
What I love most of all was coming home from the madness that is Los Angeles and stepping into a quiet, perfect world that you only find at The Charlie.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

UNACCEPTABLE ACCOMMODATIONS! I stayed in The Gregory and found the place infested with bugs. I made the owners and management aware and they said they would look into it. Nothing was done! After finding black ants walking across my sheets, ants in the kitchen and bathroom and killing 4 spiders I quickly packed my bags and left after a few days. I had originally planned on staying 2 months. My deposit was NOT returned. They were very unconcerned! I found out a few weeks later the same thing happened to another guest.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tastebuds14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

The Charlie has never had a bug “infestation,” and it is absurd to make such an accusation. Any hotel “infested” with bugs would simply not be able to successfully operate. We average 90% occupancy year-round with 60%+ of our clients being returning guests. Our establishment is amidst lush greenery, and although it is possible for an insect to get into a suite, never has a case arisen where this has become an out-of-hand issue.

The Charlie management will always follow up with any guest-relevant issues in a timely manner. However, if and when our staff attempts to investigate the issue, the guest must be flexible and let us into his/her suite to further investigate, especially if this is a pressing matter. Should the guest happen to turn management away several times [due to inconvenience], the guest suppresses our staff’s ability to assist in resolving the issue.

When a guest reserves a suite several months ahead and for an extended period of time, The Charlie reserves the right to take down a deposit. And although the deposit taken is very minimal in comparison to the losses we face should a client happen to change his/her mind, it is necessary to collect as we block the room off from any other perspective clients. Policies might vary, but are clearly stated both in verbal and written terms at the time of the booking.

We, at The Charlie, pride ourselves on the personal relationships we build with our clients. We do our best to cater to each client’s need and accommodate their every request. We strive to provide the best service, and create a comfortable home-away-from-home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Charlie is a boutique/B+B hybrid in an unassuming part of West Hollywood within an easy stroll to great food and shopping. Free off street parking, too. The staff are very pleasant and accommodating, quick with assistance or suggestions as needed. We stayed in the Ruth and found the apartment quaint, relaxing and nicely furnished with an updated kitchen and bathrooms.
Our only criticism regards the appointments. For such an upscale property we found some of the basics absent. There were no facial tissues anywhere in the apartment, nor towels (paper or cloth) in the kitchen. There is a tea kettle and coffee maker but no tea or coffee in the room. We did find a store a short walk away and were able to stock our room for our stay but as frequent travelers (1-2 trips per month) we come to expect these things even in the most inexpensive hotel rooms.
The gardens or deck are wonderful places to sit and read while enjoying your coffee in the morning or sipping a cocktail in the evening. The Charlie is a charming and relaxing trip back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvnota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,101 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,751 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,132 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,094 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlie

Address: 819 N Sweetzer Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90069-5407
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Hollywood
Price Range: $267 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charlie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlie provides exclusive luxurious accommodations to a worldwide clientele, whilst preserving the natural and historical beauty of the property's grounds. The landmark upon which The Charlie resides today was first built & established in 1924 by the Ruth Gordon family. Word has it that numerous movie star legends have roamed these grounds in the past, living out their glorious days to the fullest! Charlie Chaplin, Marilyn Monroe, and Gloria Swanson are only a few of such legends to name, to whom at one point or another The Charlie grounds were believed to have been a home! In 2002, threatened by re-development, this historical landmark was acquired by Menachem Treivush and has since undergone a multi-million dollar renovation. By carefully preserving historically-scrutinizing details, incorporating the technology of today, and dedicating careful attention to detail, Mr. Treivush has rapidly built up The Charlie into the unique establishment that it is today! Since re-opening to the public in 2008, The Charlie has become known as The Hidden Gem of the legendary West Hollywood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charlie Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing