We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know What To Expect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holloway Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holloway Motel
Save
You added Holloway Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Know What To Expect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you know what to expect before you come to Holloway Motel then you will make your life and your stay much more pleasant. First and foremost, this is a motel. It's not a hotel. The motel is old and definitely needs some repair but if you're going to be staying here hopefully you won't be speding much time in the room. After reading all of the horror stories about the manager and staff here, I wasn't sure what to expect. My check-in was quick and painless and I talked to both the guy at the window as well as the manager. No problems there. The room, as I said, is old. The carpet was worn, the bed was as basic as it gets, the shower door was broken and didn't close BUT the water pressure in the shower was better than many places I've stayed at. The rooms are very small. If you're in the area to go bar hoping and just want a place to crash, this is ideal. If you want a nice relaxing hotel, go somewhere else. One other thing to be aware of is that the walls are paper thin and the motel is located right next to Barney's Beanery (which will provide the many drunk people) and the IHOP that all the drunks go to after the bars close at 2am. Quiet? Notsomuch.

So again, don't expect this to be a nice relaxing hotel. It's a great location that will give you quick access to the West Hollywood bars and clubs but that's about it. As for all the bad reviews about the manager, I'm guessing many of these people created the problems themselves. Be nice and respectful and I'm sure you'll get the same back. I did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    18
    13
    32
See reviews for
5
16
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Over a year ago, I arrived at LAX and rented a car to begin my search of a place to stay nearby to where my daughter and grandson live in West Hollywood. I stopped at the Holloway Motel where I met with the Manager who gave me a key to check out one of the rooms. The room appeared clean and the rate was great which included free parking as well. I stayed for 4 days and the housekeeping was good. I am making a return trip to LA for another visit with daughter and grandson. I thought I seach the Internet for the Holloway Motel and was suprised to read some of the negative reviews by past guests. Initially, my thought was to pass on this property and consideer other options. However, I decided to call the mananger and discuss the negative reviews reflected on the Internet. I decided to make my reservation and looking forward to my return visit. Will let you know the outcome. By the way, my phone conversation with the manager went very well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Location - great; quality - terrible
If you want somewhere where the staff are downright rude - you found it here.
The only redeeming feature of this place is the location. Walking distance of several W Hollywood facilities like Barney's Beanery, Basix etc

This is a basic place, the bathrooms desperately need refurbishing.
Get a few cocktails down you and it doesn't seem so bad,
But if you want to be treated like a nuisance by the reception 'staff' you've got the right place.
They are downright rude.

Room Tip: Our guess it they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Hollywood hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I paid USD 70 per night which was very cheap and housekeeping did a great job keeping an old place immaculately clean. For this price in this location i would have given it a 5 overall but the reception man (not alex whom i'd emailed) was gruff on multiple occasions and that brings the rating down. Example, when i arrived i asked 'hi, are you alex?'. Response was 'no'. I never did get his name. When i asked for an iron and ironing board i was told 'we are a motel, not a hotel'. Free tip: motels provide irons, even at 70 bucks a night. Good spot but stinking hot in summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Looks lovely from the outside, excellent location.
Rooms awful. Cigarette burns on sheets, window in bathroom broken
In dire need of refurbishment
Felt dirty

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoandGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I can't understand the only negative comments here. I've been to Holloway in 2010, 2011 and 2012. The rooms are in poor condition, but clean. The "front desk" is most certanly not "five stars" but effective and friendly. The value of money is great, specialy if you consider the location and "free parking". We spend one night in another motel (just oposide to Holloway). It was way wroste (less friendly staff and even poorer condition of the room). If you want a good hotel: Go somewhere else. If you want a cheap place to sleep in West Hollywood: Holloway Motel is the place to be.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Rude staff, no security, couple opened our door with a key to a different room and said sorry wrong room, complained to staff, couldn't care less. Just don't stay here, plenty of better places, a DUMP!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helenm2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
West Hollywood
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,396 reviews
West Hollywood
Palihouse West Hollywood
Palihouse West Hollywood
#14 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holloway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holloway Motel

Property: Holloway Motel
Address: 8465 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Holloway Hotel West Hollywood
Holloway Motel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing