We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely retreat in the heart of Hollywood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Inn
Save
You added Laurel Inn to your Saves list
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat in the heart of Hollywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a find ! We were within walking distance of everything we needed - grocery stores, farmer's market, coffee shops, and shopping ! This was a perfect retreat with a rooftop view over the Hollywood Hills. John and Lucy welcomed us warmly and we felt right at home - it is nice to have a refuge with easy parking and the ability to cook. We slept well with the great pillows and mattress. It was a wonderful vacation and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TransformedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
34
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is truly a remarkable place in a very unique and safe area of the city. It is within walking distance to lots of great restaurants and shops, and a short hop to everything that is LA. We liked it because it is private, spacious and has all the amenities of home. There is also a rooftop deck area with a great view of the Hollywood Hills and that iconic Hollywood sign. Our hosts were extremely gracious and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. Definitely a gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjscan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I can't imagine a better place to stay in LA. The location was amazing - great access to many popular destinations. Restaurants and shopping nearby were outstanding. The accommodations were more spacious than you can imagine, comfortable and welcoming. John and Lucy are very kind people who are more than happy to offer help with anything and were fun to speak with, as they have unique life experiences. Wonderful place for either a couple or family stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_in_Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Beautiful hosts, lovely accommodation. Comfy bed and luxury bedding. Bathroom was spotless. Extra extra and towels were in our bedroom. Self catering was great. Would highly recommend - wish we had more time there to enjoy the home away from home :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DW21x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

John and Lucy make the Laurel Inn a destination accommodation. They were warm, welcoming and extremely flexible for our unusual set of circumstances, and delightful hosts. Although this was more of a self-catering accommodation than a true B&B, that worked out very well for us. John's pre-trip communication was thorough and helpful, and they were extremely helpful throughout our whole stay. The king-bed mattress was worth the entire trip-- absolute heaven. You cannot go without getting the stories behind the movie and military memorabilia! Laurel Inn is perfectly situated for ventures into WeHo, the Sunset Strip, Melrose, Beverly and Fairfax areas. You really can't ask for more, and value can't be beaten in L.A. Don't think about staying anywhere else. It should be noted, however, that we had hired a car; it might not have been quite so convenient if we were relying on public transport-- but that's true about everything in L.A. (Only little thing to remember is that the office is on the ground level of this three-level conversion, and it can be a little unnerving to hear someone come in late in the evening if you're not expecting it!)

Room Tip: No real options here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here in September as part of our Honeymoon roadtrip. John and Lucy were incredibly hospitable and really looked after us. They helped us with planning taxi's and even with hotels for the rest of our trip. The view from the roof terrace is amazing too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonandFurby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A home away from home.
Very friendly owners who are only to eager to make your stay and great as possible.
Great view from the roof.
Excellent location for Hollywood excursions.
Super for families since you have so much space.
Stevew94025

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevew94025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Central L.A
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn

Property: Laurel Inn
Address: 907 N Laurel Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90046-6921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful two-story first floor full size kitchen, pull out couch, 3/4 bath, dining room table, stereo. Second floor king bed, walk-in closet, full bath, balcony, free cable TV, WiFi, Parking, DVDs on site free. Roof and side patio with a 360 degree view of the city...plush plush. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing