We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in west hollywood with fab restaurant an great nightlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in west hollywood with fab restaurant an great nightlife”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at the Mondrian the end of last April, beginning of May for a long weekend. I had not ever stayed at a Mondrian before, but now I am hooked. Great staff, great location, great nightlife (Skybar), beautiful views, wicked cool rooms (and bathrooms), but the best part is the restaurant, Asia de Cuba. My fiance is vegetarian, and they were more than willing to accommodate his dietary needs - I think people in LA are just used to that - but nevertheless, wonderful service and fabulous food. I now look for this hotel chain in any city we go to, so we can venture back to the restaurant, and if we happen to stay there, that would be great too. Even with the nightclub there, we had a lovely, funky, quiet room done in the style of old hollywood glamour meets alice in wonderland. Love it! My only complaint is that we had to call the front desk about 3 times to have the come empty the mini fridge so we could put our own stuff in there. That's it. Go there - I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank januarytheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do want to take this opportunity to apologize for the delay on your request for the minibar to be emptied. In the future we can provide you with a small refrigerator to place your items in. We do hope you return soon and please feel free to contact me if you need anything. Best, Taryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    598
    288
    165
    143
See reviews for
202
793
126
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charleston sc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Me and 3 girlfriends stayed at the Mondrian last spring for our 50th birthday celebration and it was fabulous in every way! The staff were incredibly nice and helpful and got us hard to come by reservations at Chateau Marmont and the cool asian restaurant across the street.. (can't remember the name but it was amazing) The pool scene on Monday afternoon was terrific-- great people watching. Having Sky Bar on premises was definitely a plus. We had a blast there every night after we came back from fabulous restaurants nearby. The bartenders were very friendly and knew us by name by the second night. The location is perfect-- walking distance to many great West Hollywood restaurants and clubs and a short taxi to great shopping and tourist must sees like The Kodak theatre and the Hollywood Star walk. When we checked in we kiddingly asked for an upgrade to suites as it was our 50th birthdays and we were pleasantly shocked that our wish was granted! The suites were wonderful-- large with fabulous bathrooms, sitting room and terrace with great view of the pool. Our floor was high enough so that noise from Sky Bar was not a problem.( We usually closed it down anyway...) We had dinner at the restaurant in the lobby one night (Aqua de Cuba) and it was GREAT! Our waiter, an aspiring actor natch, was ridiculously handsome and nice and the food was glorious. Highly recommend eating there one night and then going out... Did I mention how incredibly NICE the staff was? Being from the south that is something we really appreciate. No New York snootiness here. I wish I could remember everyone's names ! The concierge who helped us with dinner reservations was especially nice and funny. and of course they are all movie star beautiful. I would recommend The Mondrian to anyone looking for a fun LA experience. It was fabulous . We had great poolside service too, from a cute girl from North Carolina! Thank you Mondrian staff for a wonderful 3 nights. Sorry it took me so long to post review!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others. It is so wonderful to hear that our staff was so friendly and personable throughout your stay. At Mondrian we pride ourselves on a giving unforgettable guest experience and we are so pleased to hear we rose to the occasion for you. Please feel free to contact me if you need anything in the future. Best, Taryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Stayed here in early september and had a fantastic experience.
After doing some business around in CA I hooked up with some friends/colleagues in West Hollywood which have said so many nice things about the Mondrian.
And It all was true! Can understand why they use this hotel a lot!!!
Great staff, great room, great food, and of course...a fantastic nightlife at Skybar!

Nothing but good things to say :-))))

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euforisk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be returning in the future. Please feel free to contact me for anything. Best, Taryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed in the hotel as part of our stop over from London to Melbourne. It wasn't our original choice, but we decided to move hotels late in the evening after landing and discovering our hotel we chose was horrid, and the Mondrian staff were most accommodating booking us a driver and checking us in promptly.

The room was large with a kitchen and a great view over the pool. The hotel is minimalistic and attracts a young Hollywood crowd so expect glamourous people everywhere! The staff are really helpful and service is fantastic, as is the food at the restaurant.

However - word of warning - if you want early nights and sleep this hotel is not for you as the hotel bar/nightclub is going off until early in the morning and you not sleep through it.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and do hope you come back soon. In the future, if you are interested in a more serene room, our City facing room tends to be the quietest location. Please feel free to contact me in the future if you need anything.

Best,
Taryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

This place was in a great location but it was very expensive. Only stayed as I got a good deal.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NathanielS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
Thank you so much for your feedback. We do hope you return to the hotel soon and please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Stayed just for one night at the end of a 2 week vacation in Califoria, and was exactly what we needed for our only night in Hollywood. Flashy, very stylish, and a fascinating place to soak up the unique LA lifestlye.

Stunning corner room with glass walls on two sides had fantastic views, and was just about high enough for the noise from the pool bar to be bearable (can imagin this might annoy some, but didn't keep us awake.

Not the greatest pool area for actually swimming in (not sure I've ever seen anyone actually swimming in an LA hotel) but great for hanging out and having a drink, bith in the day and in the evening. At night, the bar is very popular, and being a guest alllows you access that you'd likely not receive if you weren't staying there.

If you need a hotel in West Hollywood, definitely recommend it...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We hope you return to Mondrian soon and please feel free to contact me if you need any assistance in the future.
Best,
Taryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Dates: Nov 12 - 15
Room: one room suite
Purpose: Business
.
Ratings (1-5)
Cleanliness: 5
Service: 5
Amenities: 5
Food: 5
.
I recently stayed at the Mondrian for business, with several colleagues and we all celebrated our birthdays together.
.
- The valet team was amazing, always very prompt and very friendly. The 'welcome back' when they opened your car door was a nice touch.
- The front desk team was very pleasant and check-in was a breeze. They explained where you could find everything, what was available and asked if you needed anything else
- The bell team was also very helpful, ensuring you were happy with your room before departing and giving you instructions on where to find things, if needed
- The concierge was very helpful in suggesting places to eat when necessary and had a good amount of pull in getting you into hot spots
.
The lobby is very nice. Sparsely decorated and clean with white and pale wood.
.
The elevators come quickly and have an indicator to let you know what floor they're on, so you know how long you will be waiting, at night with the bar scene in the lobby and in Sky Bar outside, there is security to keep riffraff from travelling up to the rooms, very much appreciated!
.
The hallways on the guest floors are quite dark, very common in the new boutique-style hotels, but not too dark to find your key, which is perfect. There is a strange set-up just outside the elevator of a television screen and a single chair, which mostly served a purpose for people's room service trays, but it didn't bother me.
.
I was fortunate enough to stay in a suite, and was very impressed. I had a view facing Sunset blvd and in the distance I could see the LA skyline (through the smog). The room was immaculate and very bright; the white and pale wood decor was extended to the rooms with a touch of black and orange.
.
The TV is concealed within a large 2-sided swivelling mirror in the centre of the room, allowing you to tilt it to where you want it, the bed or the living room. Excellent move. It was also a very nice touch to have the TV concealed so it isn't an eyesore.
.
The washroom is fantastic. My favourite feature was the shower which had a glass wall overlooking the rest of the room and the windows. You had the option to conceal it, or open it up and enjoy either the view or the TV.

The mirror over the sink lacked a bright light, but we were provided with a small vanity area to apply make-up, etc. Excellent choice as well.
.
The closet area is spacious with a good space for your bag or shorter hanging items. I had enough hangers and shelves for everything. My only comment would be that there was nothing to hang the ironing board and it took up precious space on the floor.
.
The in-room bar is well appointed and the prices aren't too offensive. You're provided with nice glassware and a bottle opener in case you need it. You also have a small bar sink, which is very helpful.
.
The portable telephone is good, although occasionally it was tough to answer because the buttons were very sensitive. The wake-up call was always dead on time.
.
You are also given a desk which looks out the windows and a Bose iPod player, which is perfect. Unfortunately, it's not close to the bed, so it's slightly inconvenient if you want to use your iPod as an alarm, but it did the job nonetheless.
.
The bed is very soft and the linens are crisp. The couch is also very soft and has plenty of pillows to lounge on. I also believe, should you have a guest, it would be suitable as a bed.
.
Asia de Cuba is a very good restaurant. We took the server's suggestions for our meal and it was quite delicious. The view is fantastic and the atmosphere is young and trendy.
.
Skybar was only busy the Saturday we were there, and then it was very busy even though the weather was not really very warm. There are heat lamps to keep you warm and plenty of seating on "beds" around the (small) pool and in the bar area there is only seating if you pay for bottle service.
.
The drinks are pricey, depending on how you tip they run about $20, but they're strong and the service is fast. The line up for the bathroom is ridiculous, so if you're a hotel guest I suggest going into the hotel lobby.
.
The music was quite good, lots of 90's hits and non-stop MJ tracks. The crowd is fairly mixed...there were many young people plus I saw an Orville Redenbacher look-alike, so oddly varied.
.
The gym was very small and often very busy...you are in California, afterall. It was even a touch too small, though very convenient.
.
One thing I found slightly cheap is that the wifi was not free, there was a surcharge. Considering how most people live now, it would have been nice to have free wifi to access, I firmly believe this is something that should be offered with the price of a room in this day and age.
.
*****
.
The standout for me was the customer service at this hotel. Taryn took excellent care of the three of us ladies and even sent up a bottle of wine to help us celebrate our birthdays. They are ready at any moment to help you with any need, be it some plastic bags, some scissors, anything.
-
A big thank you to Taryn and her team for a great stay. We would definitely come back and are recommending it to the rest of our colleagues and friends for the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
Thank you so much for your amazing review! It was our pleasure having you at Mondrian and we do hope you will return soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything. Best,
Taryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,027 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
393 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing