We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service truly apalling - make sure you feel grateful to be staying there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Myself and my other half have been traveling for 6 weeks, as such have stayed in a variety of places from Motel 6 to The Wynn Las Vegas, and this is, dollar for dollar, by far the worst. I used to think as long as a room was impeccable and the location etc great then service was secondary. Not here.
When we checked in (in shorts and t shirts as we'd been travelling all day), initially the extremely snooty receptionist couldn't find the booking. Eventually found it, but not before looking us up and down and enquiring "are you SURE you are staying at the Mondriaaaaan". And yes, this is how he pronounced it. Secondly, after looking through his computer, clearly not having anything in the range we had booked, he told us about a fabulous upgrade he could give us... for an extra $100 a night. Call me cheap, but when I book a hotel I look at the options, if I wanted the more expensive room I'd have booked it, I don't like being made the feel like a cheapskate for refusing.
All of the reception staff were extremely snooty, as if you should feel supremely grateful to be staying in their hotel. He ended up having to upgrade us slightly anyway, to a corner room, but only on the 2nd floor, and the TV didn't work. They sent an engineer up to fix it, during which time we went out. When we got back it still wasn't fixed, and when I called they said they'd send another engineer up. Given it was 11pm I said that wasn't good enough and asked to be moved. The guy informed me that he didnt have anything else available in my price range. Like that's my problem? What kind of reception is that? If something doesn't work, you move someone, even if only the penthouse is available.
I kicked up a small fuss and we eventually got moved, funny how something manifests itself when you insist.
When we got back from dinner we decided to go for a drink at the Sky bar. One of the reason I'd decided to stay there was, because I like a nice, cool bar. I don't even mind if it's all a bit pretentious! But there was some VH1 event on so we weren't allowed in. We weren't even allowed to go to reception because there were press and slebs milling around. I suppose I might have contaminated them or something. Afteer all, I'm only the fool paying to stay in the place.
I don't normally like moaning about hotel service, and even if its a bit patchy it doesn't usually affect me, as long as the room is nice. But this hotel has categorically some of the worst service I've ever encountered, I've never been made to feel grateful to stay somewhere by some wannabe actor/receptionist and told I couldn't move from a defective rroom because they had nothing in the same price range. Maybe if you're spending $100 you can overlook it, but this is an expensive hotel. I would never give them the satisfaction of being able to ruin the final few days of our trip in the USA, but they have certainly tried, and it has left a bitter taste. I am unfortunately booked in for 4 nights and preppaid, so looks like I am stuck here.
As to the hotel itself, the pool area is very small, the pool itself is a token effort, not much bigger than an oversized hot tub. On a more positive note (is it possible), the location on Sunset is pretty good and the rooms are quite cool and spacious, though we too have a small bathroom. I don't mind small bathrooms at all (honestly despite what you read here, I'm actually pretty easy to please. I actually thought Motel 6 was very nice!) but dont advertise "oversize bathrooms" if that information is false.
You have to pay $10 for internet access, but valet parking seems to be free. I'll believe it when I check out.
So if you book this hotel, don't expect to be made to feel welcome. Unless your name is Brat Pitt of course. Then there'll be a red carpet rolled out to meet you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellTravelled888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2009

If you’re not happy, then we’re not happy! It’s our full-time job to make sure you have a good time at Mondrian and it seems that we have dropped the ball. How can we make this up to you?

I do hope you will afford us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please feel free to contact me anytime.

taryn.wolfe@morganshotelgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,060)
There are newer reviews for Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,595 - 1,601 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2009

We had already had a great time in SanFran and L.V hotels so was hoping that this too would finish a perfect holiday but we were disappointed. It was noisey by the pool we were never able to get a sun bed as the hotel is mobbed by the locals at the weekend. The place to be seen yes but not if your a tourist. The inside bar 3 nights in our stay was allocated for private parties so there was no where to sit in the evening unless you wanted to stand outside by the pool.
Seing tables reserved i asked how we could reserve a table by the pool in the evening we were told it cost $1000 and a 2 bottle minimum. I said "were guests" its same price
The brouchure and Net says an oversize bathroom yet ours was small and with no where to put your soap bags.
On the last day when i asked at reception were we could get a coffee i was tols its over there and its free. We had never been told of this on check in.
It was birthday holiday and in the other 2 hotels we were greated with happy birthday and gifts here not a mention.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debsk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I've stayed at this particular Mondrian about six years ago and had an amazing time. However, I was really disappointed that upon check-in, I was told I wasn't on the group list (I was traveling with colleagues for a meeting held in the Mondrian) and that it wouldn't be a problem getting me a room. Well, of course not! I was put in the business center room (which meant that really, I could hear my meeting going on without leaving the room) and had people coming and going just outside my door to use the office center. I was even more disappointed when I went to take a shower and found used soap and a wet washcloth. Not cool!!! I once recommended staying here, now I will recommend my friends don't.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SillybuttChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed at the Mondrian at the end of May for our wedding Anniversary. The reason we chose this hotel was that it was part of the Morgans Hotel Group and, having stayed with them a few times, we knew the experiences and customer service would be of the very highest standard.

On arrival, check in was quick and professional. The staff were very friendly and made us feel comfortable straight away .The lobby was cool and funky and I couldn’t wait to see our room. The elevator come straight away and was very sleek!

We got to our room and what a room!!!! Breathtakingly beautiful, the view was amazing .The room was everything we were expecting and much more. The TV in the mirror stand was a really nice touch and the bar area was cool, as was the sofa area. The bathroom was spacious and had everything you could ask for and the bed was so big and comfortable we didn’t want to get out of it!

Room service was efficient and friendly and the house keeping excellent. The room was always cleaned to perfection.

We popped down to the Sky bar and pool area; the deco and lighting were amazing! The drinks were lovely and the people watching was great as the evening got really busy and lively. The next day we chilled out by the pool and had lunch at Asia de Cuba where the food was excellent.

Concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable. They made reservations for our anniversay dinner and we had such a lovely evening I would like to thank Jason, Danielle and Greg for all there help.

We managed to get a tour of the hotel and all the rooms we saw were beautiful. I can’t understand why there are bad reviews as I have had first hand experience of the hotel and I can’t fault it. Customer service is exceptional and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable and Taryn, thank you for all your help.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank travelagent09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed here for 3 days at the end of a business trip. Hotel is stunning in terms of design but maybe a little over designed...the rooms are lovely though and bed very comfy. The staff are nice enough, its the clientele for me that let the stay down. Most of the guests belong on the set of 90210 if you asked me, if you want to go on holiday to pose and walk with a wiggle at the swimming pool in stilettos and a bikini, then this is the place for you. The prices in the hotel are very expensive, 14 dollars for a mojito for example, and room service is very expensive and service here was very slow. One good thing is the Ipod speakers in the room. Hotel is right next to Comedy Room on Sunset and also the House of Blues. It would cost around 15 dollars in a taxi to get to Hollywood Boulevard. Personally, I preferred the Hollywood Roosevelt hotel to this one for location, staff and overall enjoyment of stay. There was something unclassy and pretentious, even fake, about the Mondrian, but the Roosevelt had authentic glamour.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Weecathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2009

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our new room renovation and new design. It is very exciting when a fist time guest as yourself appreciates the new look and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry about any inconvenience you experienced in slow service and I do hope you will provide us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please feel free to contact me anytime if you would like to return to Mondrian and experience the type of service you deserve. Please feel free to contact me at taryn.wolfe@morganshotelgroup.com .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I'm staying at this hotel now, literally, I'm actually using the internet from my room, which I would've been overcharged with had I not brought my Sprint Wireless card with me. This hotel is gorgeous, but WAY too overpriced. This is my first time in Cali, and I plan on coming back every year for the E3 EXPO (definitely NOT at this hotel), but $32 a night for valet? Come on, give me a break! Before booking my ONE WEEK package, I wasn't told that it would cost $32 to put my RENTAL car that cost $20 a day away for the night. $23 for the WORST pizza and God only knows how much I was charged for opening up the Fiji Water. I don't mind "spending money", even if I DON'T have it, but not stupidly. This place is a RIP-OFF, the ONLY good thing is the DECOR which doesn't do anything for you anyways. I'm really frustrated about this stay. and it's SUPER loud at night. I still have 6 more nights to go :-(

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelzein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2009

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience for the extra charge of valet, and for any noise you experience during your stay. I hope that you will afford us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please feel free to contact me at taryn.wolfe@morganshotelgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I recently spent three nights at the Mondrian with a work colleague. I had a great experience at the London Hotel for pleasure a few weeks earlier, but my company requires that we stay at the Mondrian for trips to Los Angeles; I hope to change that travel policy asap.

Check-in was smooth but things fell apart swiftly thereafter. I stayed there several years ago before the re-design but have to say that the renovation is uninspiring at best...although I was on the 10th floor, there was a tremendous amount of noise coming from the pool late into the night...the concern here is more for the business generated by the bar than for people who need to sleep before midnight. Heaven help the people trying to sleep on lower floors!

Combine ugly interiors with an odd problem of no hot water (maintenance tried to address this issue with no success - and no, it wasn't a peak bathing time...took 15 minutes to get the water to turn hot at best) and mediocre, over-priced breakfasts and I will do my best to avoid this property in the future...take my advice and that of another recent reviewer and give the London a try. Same neighborhood, better prices, fabulous restaurant and QUIET.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2009

It looks like we made an impression…but it wasn’t the right one! How can we make this up to you?

I do apologize for any inconvenience for the loud noise, during your stay. In the future I would be happy to assist you in a future stay and place your room away from Skybar. Many of our business travelers are very happy with these rooms as it keeps them away from the bar and excessive noise.

Please feel free to contact me at taryn.wolfe@morganshotelgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,702 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,951 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
403 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $294 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing