We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“THE place to be for The Scene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THE place to be for The Scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I come to LA for work often, and my company puts us up here. I can't say enough about how well the hotel treats. They're very flexible with our needs and the staff goes above and beyond to make sure we are comfortable and well taken care of. Whether we've needed printing for a presentation or it was an extra bottle of water on the house, customer service is no.1.

Though being in West Hollywood, it's a popular and busy spot. Full of scensters, star makers and wanna bee's, the weekends are the hardest to handle, since the hotel hosts exclusive parties. While i understand this is the bread and butter of the hotel, it can be disturbing to it's guests who are not there to party. So, i've learned to just meet up with friends or take myself out of the equation on Friday/Saturday eves.

Access to the pool is the only thing i would argue. Policy is no reservations, yet some one's got pull because there are reservation tags put on choice beds well before 9am. I've learned to just get down there early, and stake my claim. It can be a bit dog eat dog.

When the pool parties begin at noon on the weekends (yes, daytime pool party), it can get crowded and the non-guests start staking out territory. The staff does their best to manage the beds and give preference to paying guests. But on occasion, a scenster will nab one, and it's hard to ask them to move.

I would also suggest eating outside the hotel: you'll save money and there's a lot more to explore over on 3rd st, Melrose and Santa Monica just a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello Meapale,

Thank you for your feedback, this is good information and we definitely do our best to accommodate everyone at our pool. Our parties are fun and full of great people and understand that it may not be for all. Please reach out to me directly should your travels bring you back to the Los Angeles area.

Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    530
    252
    138
    122
See reviews for
175
705
117
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I went to a party at the Mondrian's SkyBar and this place is gorgeous, even at night. The lounge is awesome too and quite a few people (including us) were doing selfies and 'photo shoots' at this very contemporary modern hotel. Love it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aidhakhalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Aidhakhalil,

I am happy you had a great time at Skybar, please reach out to me directly if you return at luis.saldana@mhgc.com

regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Very stylish and glamorous hotel. Cosy rooms, nice reception and a popular roof terrace.
Exactly what you need in order to get in the mood of the city that lives under the lights of Hollywood.
The only disadvantage is that duting the evening you get some noise from the rooftop bar in some of the rooms.
You should also be prepared to use your own car or a taxi for almost everywhere you need to go, although the hotel is situated near the famous West Sunset Blvd.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello Dimitrisk,

Thank you for your comments, its great to hear you enjoyed yourself while visiting us. Please feel free to reach out to me directly in the future should you visit us Los Angeles again.

Luis
Luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here this past Mon-tues night. They were hosting an event for the espys with red carpet and all. I left the hotel and then had trouble getting back in due to the security for the event. I told them I was staying at the hotel but they made me cross the road (in the middle of on-coming traffic) and then recross in front of the hotel to get in because the sidewalk in front of the hotel was "closed." Then to top it off my room was directly above the red carpet so I had to keep my shades closed all night because of all the camera flashes. My stay Monday wasn't very relaxing or welcoming. The grounds themselves were nice and the pool is relaxing. Pool staff was attentive. All and all I think it has the potential to be better- they just need to focus on guests more and hosting events as second.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Ross,

Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at luis.saldana@mhgc.com should you visit the LA area again in the near future. I would like to invite you back.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at the Mondrian last weekend and it was an unforgettable experience. First of all, the hotel smells like paradise. Just walking in, I knew my visit would be a delight. When I got to my room, I was totally taken by it. There was an incredible view of Los Angeles and the room was decorated in white, so it was super sexy. Housekeeping was on top of everything and the service was so nice. I went downstairs to lay out at Skybar and all of the servers and bartenders were fast and friendly. The crowd was attractive, young and hip, and the DJ played music fitting for a sexy summer pool party. It was very reminiscent of a Miami vibe, yet still with a sense of calm. Above all else, I was incredibly pleased because I lost my cell phone at Skybar, and they returned it to me the next morning. A+ experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeSpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello SkyeSpence,

Thank you for the great feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the vibe at SKYBAR. Please feel free to reach out to me directly on your next visit at luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My most recent experience at the Mondrian was nothing short of fabulous. From the sweeping city views from my room to the attentitve staff, there's no wonder why this hotel is my top Los Angeles pick!

Room Tip: I have stayed here about 10 times and no matter what, there's always a good view from the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Michael S,

I am happy that Mondrian is your hotel of choice and value your feedback. Please reach out to me directly on your next visit at Luis.Saldana@mhgc.com. I would like the opportunity to personally meet and greet you.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I spent 2 nights at the mondrian, it was ok i guess but for the price you would expect more. The rooms where spacious and had a lovely bathroom and view. I could see sky bar from my room. there were a lot of diners and restaraunts around as well as shops so that was nice but other than that it was average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0sann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi R0sann,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoy your time here with us at Mondrian. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at Luis.Saldana@mhgc.com should you visit the LA area again.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,494 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Herringbone, a restaurant by Enlightened Hospitality Group, James Brennan and Celebrity Chef Brian Malarkey, features ocean-to-table cuisine with an emphasis on fresh seafood and quality meats, while our new Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu during the day and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Base, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing