We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and room size!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Middle East
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location and room size!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Perfect location in sunset boulevard. The place is very modern and always busy. The pool area is small but magical at night.
The rooms are large. Loved how the mirror turns into a TV when you use your remote control. Although we had an AC and water problem at the first room we checked in. They were quick to repair but it was going to take time. It was late at night so we asked them to change rooms and they gladly did.
Excellent excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moni011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello,

Our location is great indeed, right on the historical Sunset Strip with plenty of shopping and eating to do.
I am glad you enjoyed one of our many spacious rooms and that my team was fast to rectify the situation you experienced with your first room. My team is trained to never say no and always provide the perfect experience for all of our guests.

Please do not hesitate contacting me next time you plan a visit in LA.

Nicolas
nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    594
    288
    163
    139
See reviews for
198
787
126
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for a girls weekend to celebrate recent 35th birthdays. I'm an LA local but had a bunch of east coast friends in town. I worked directly with Mari at the hotel and she was so helpful. She was able to add other friends to the list at the pool and sky bar and made our dinner reservation at herringbone with a great table! (The restaurant is amazing but reviewed separately)
Upon checking in, we were escorted to our balcony suite on the top floor. We has a huge room with a giant comfy king bed and a nice living area, desk/office area, large bathroom with seperate vanity area and a mini fridge. We also got two extra cots and everything was comfortable.
We ate at the Herringbone and had drinks at the sky bar after. The next day we lounged at the pool and went out at night to other bars but had wonderful taxi service.

Such a great place for a stay cation or if you are visiting the LA area. The rates are pretty reasonable given where you are and the amenities. Will definitely be back!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleary200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Glad you chose Mondrian for your stay-cation. I am happy to read that you had an amazing time with us and that loved our brand new restaurant Herringbone. Sky bar as you witnessed is still the place to be and we have some surprises coming up that will make it even more a must go to venue.
I will make sure to share your review with Mari. Mari is one of our many wonderful team members and I am glad you found her wonderful.
Please let me know when ever you or your friends plan on staying at Mondrian as I would love to host them. You can share my e-mail address with them and anyone else that needs help with accommodations.

Best,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed @ The Mondrian LA for a couple of days before flying home to Australia.
Very trendy, cool and modern property.
Restaurant was well priced and the food amazing. Views of LA superb, rooms clean and comfortable.
Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: 12th Floor has great views of LA
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello Matthew,

Glad you liked us and had a chance to experience our brand new restaurant Herringbone.

Winter is coming at fast pace for you in Australia so you should plan a trip back to LA very soon. We actually have a special offer happening right now which entitles you to a room discount and free WIFI if you book through Tripadvisor. Just click on the "Exclusive Special Rate" link on our Tripadvisor page.

You may also contact me directly for any accommodation arrangements.

Best,

Nicolas
nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed for four nights in February and the hotel was wonderful. The front desk and concierge were extremely helpful. The view from the pool at night is amazing and our room was great too. We had the 'basic' room and the room was a perfect size for us. The bathroom was massive. Was within walking distance to alto of the main bars in West Hollywood like whisky a go go and had free tickets to the comedy store. I would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiebec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello,

I am glad you loved your stay with us from our wonderful team, to the rooms and our priceless location.
Not sure if you had a chance to try our new restaurant Herringbone but it's delicious as are the drinks at Sky Bar. Make sure you go to both on your next visit with us, you will not be disappointed.

Please do not hesitate contacting me in the future so that I can help you with your accommodations.

Thank you for your review.

Nicolas
nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Best place to stay in West Hollywood. Great service and great location at the heart of Sunset Strip. The Mondrian Hotel in West hollywood has a fantastic pool with city view with luxurious, shophisticated, and comfort rooms. In addition, you can not miss the restaurant located inside the restaurant called "Asia de Cuba" with an extraordinary and taste food!

Room Tip: Book the room in advance and get discount!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlayber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for the review. You summed up everything that we are about.
Don't hesitate contacting me directly as it would be my pleasure to help with your accommodations.

Nicolas
nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Mondrian in West Hollywood is a great place to stay in LA. We only had a whistle-stop 20 hours in LA, and the concierge, Jason, made sure we got the most out of it. We were given an amazing room (thank you Daniel (Guest Experience Manager), with the coolest TV/mirror you have ever seen! And what a great view over LA. The stop for the open top bus tour (a must when arriving in any city!) was right outside the hotel. Glorious weather made it an even better ride. Rodeo Drive called, as did Nate n' Al's deli. Overall, thank you Mondrian for a great place to stay in a fun city.
Our 2 complaints would be; we went to the club at the sky bar and the smoke from the smokers made us leave and the second we had a wonderful 2 hours or so by the pool but why have it covered? the weather was great surely you must be able to take down and put the tarpaulin back up again?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
James,

You will be happy to read that we removed the tent, Summer has started for us and the weather has been nothing but amazing.
Thanks for your review and hope to host you again soon.

Nicolas
nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently. We had a studio suite and it was a really nice, clean, spacious room. We were in town for an event so the extra space to get ready was awesome - lots of mirrors in the room too. The hotel is very trendy and hip - not a place I'd recommend to my parents or bring my kids to though. The location is really great - on Sunset Strip and really central to most things in LA. I've stayed downtown, in Marina del Rey, and in Century City, and this was probably my favorite location. The lobby is really neat and the decor is very trendy.
The only bad thing was that our room was on the 1st floor (1 floor up from the lobby) facing Skybar. We were close to the elevator, directly above the Skybar entrance. The music was loud so we asked about a higher room - the desk attendant offered us a higher room but said it would be a lower room category than ours and would cost more. So in all, we decided that we didn't want to pay more money to sleep in our hotel (and in a lower category room). With noise-cancelling headphones and earplugs, we were able to sleep (had to be up early Sunday). It was really only an issue on Saturday night as the music wasn't loud on Sunday or Monday night.
We did visit Skybar - the view is neat but the drinks are expensive. I wish there wasn't a tent over Skybar like others have commented. It would've been nice to sit outside during the day too and enjoy the view but I don't think you can… I took a few photos but felt rather in the way with people running about getting Skybar ready for the evening.
Valet is $33/night, which is pretty on par with most hotels in LA. Only other thing to be aware of, there's no bathtub and the shower is a glass one, with a 'view' of it from the bedroom. There is a sheer curtain that offers some privacy but again, not a place you'd want to shower with someone other than your significant other in the room!
All in all, a nice hotel… not likely to stay again because of noise. But a nice and very trendy hotel!

Room Tip: Don't check in late on a Saturday night! Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.

Good news is that we removed the tent over Sky Bar... Winter in LA is over for us (lucky us).
I am glad you realized that the prices for valet are in line with the rest of the market (they are actually cheaper than our competition), as for the prices of drinks they are also in line with the rest of our competition.

I would love to be your ally in the future and can make sure you are placed in one of the many quiet rooms. Just contact me directly and I will handle from there.

Nicolas
nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,676 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,855 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 20 in West Hollywood
997 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,016 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 20 in West Hollywood
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing