We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Fabulous Views ... Needs a Few Smiles!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Mondrian was recommended by a couple of people – it also has the reputation of being a cool hotel – I wanted to spend a couple of days in a nice environment with a good view concentrating on some writing after four hectic days at a trade show in Las Vegas.
I booked a junior suite with a balcony for $419 a night.
The view was stunning! There were wall-to-ceiling windows, so you could see it from wherever you were pretty much, and the room was spacious and well designed with a large white sofa and funky table in the lounge area, a decent sized desk and everything you needed to be holed up for a couple of days … including a fast, free internet, a good selection of movies on demand, a very well stocked minibar and an impressive array of snacks and goodies.
I felt really comfortable in the room. The only thing letting it down was the bath itself .. which was completely incongruous with the rest of the space! It had one of those tacky UPVC slider doors – the bath tub itself was small and pokey and in fact you could not use it as a batch as the plug was not watertight.
As a shower didn’t function particularly well in terms of body coverage, and because of the sliding doors, it felt very claustrophobic!
If I’d been designing the rooms, I would have installed a large glass shower so you could also see the view whilst in it … or located the bathtub in a position where the scenery could also be appreciated while having a relaxing soak in the bath!
The pool deck is currently under refurbishment . but even in this state, it was a really awesome looking space – and this is where you can see the famous sunsets looking down over West Hollywood. I didn’t have time to stay there or even sit down and enjoy it as I was too busy at that time of day, but I did take a good look around.
I popped down to the bar early evening on the second night to take a break from the work, but I didn’t feel comfortable there. I’m not sure if it was in a temporary state because of the refurb, because the Mondrian is too cool for its own good or because it was Thanksgiving week and therefore subdued in the hotel … but the bar tenders were superficially friendly, there were two women down one end having a loud conversation about their ailments and a guy sitting nervously on one of the sofas engrossed in his smartphone! Not much of a vibe!
Instead I went back up to the room and ordered some room service – which was a vegetarian club sandwich. This was bland and completely average – it came with a huge heap of tasteless fries! For some reason I had imagined that the food would be beautifully crafted, organically healthy and presented like a work of art – but that was obviously just an image in my head.
The shop in the lobby has some fabulous accessories and bits, the guy in there was really friendly and in fact I spent about 600 dollars effortlessly on some cool stuff!
I left early the next morning to fly to Mexico City.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015

Hello Anne Louise S,

Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at the Mondrian LA a couple of nights ago. It was a surprise for my girlfriends 40th birthday and she was visiting LA for the first time so I looked at hundreds of other hotels in the area but none had the same impact of a room that matched up to the 'wow' of the communal areas, finally chose the Mondrian as their rooms looked great too. Booked a double studio (FYI hotels own website offered cheaper rates then any of the Travel Republic/Expedia/Bookings.com websites) and emailed the hotel ahead of visit asking if they could try and give us a high floor with a great view when selecting the room. Wasn't sure if anything would come of it but when we arrived and the very welcoming Michael said we were on the top floor my girlfriends face lit up! The view was to die for, a corner room with views of Sunset Blvd, Hollywood Hills and all of downtown LA and totally made the trip! Waking up to this view the next morning was amazing, for a first time visitor to LA it definitely gave her a sense of the city and she hasn't stopped talking about it since! Outdoor areas/pool/SkyBar etc all stunning, wish we had had time to enjoy them for longer! Just wanted to thank Daniel for arranging the room with the view, and Michael at reception for the wifi, thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London2LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015

Hello London2LA,

Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great Place. I arrived very late and my Studio Room was not available so I had to stay in a Regular Room for 1 night . Then they gave me a Complimentary Upgrade to an even better suite.
Great service and great Location...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacintico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015

Hello Jacintico P,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very few hotels in the world focus on customer comfort and satisfaction like the Mondrian in LA. From their Guest Experience Manager Daniel to their front office managers Kaycie and Michael, a beat is never missed. The views, vibe and beautiful people are the cherry on the top and the Mondrian has become my and my entire company's go to LA 'home away from home'.

Room Tip: You want to try face South so you have the sweeping views towards the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeryFrequentTravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015

Hello VeryFrequentTrav,

Thank you for the great review....

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Enjoyed my short stay at the Mondrian. Nice design hotel with a friendly staff. You might think it would have a pretentious vibe but the staff is terrific. Quite clean. Nice restaurant with great outdoor seating. Had a bit of a problem with my bill. Booked and paid on Hotels.com and then got charged again by the hotel. They reimbursed me but it took several calls to reach the right person. That aside, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015

Hello Gary H,

Thank you for your review..

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Mondrian several times on business trips. The facility itself is great - the amenities, cleanliness, location and staff can't be beat. However, I swear it is haunted!! The lights go on and off all night (they're touch sensitive so that could be it) but the same goes for the iPhone docking station. I just always feel like there's some kind of presence in the room. I've been hesitant to say something since I'm very sensitive to these things, but other coworkers have had similar experiences. One even checked out in the middle of the night because of it! So just beware!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MalloryJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015

Hello MalloryJM,

Thank you for the review. Since then the lights have been fixed. I can assure you Mondrian LA is not haunted. Funny though!!!

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Excelente hotel, very well located and good rooms. The only issue is the SkyBar very close to some windom rooms and very noise. The concirge advices were very helpful and the guy was very attencious. The Internet access worked very well.

Room Tip: not close to SkyBar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbaiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015

Hello jbaiao,

Thank you for the great review... very nice feedback.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,720 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,981 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,995 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
413 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $286 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing