We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Cool and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great location, excellent staff and comfortable rooms.
The staff are what make this so special, in particular those on the front desk. The rooms are stylish and modern although perhaps slightly stark which is why I took away one star.

All in all, a great L.A. venue.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank multiply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2015
Thank you Multiply for your great review.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    530
    253
    139
    122
See reviews for
175
706
118
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was amazing 10 years ago - it's sagging as much much as the wanna b's hanging out at the pool. The food is blah, the people that work in this box think they're all that, but they're tired and totally junk. There's so many better options - sorry

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chowdown20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas b, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chowdown20,

Thank you for your review. Of course it's disheartening to read when a guest thinks so poorly of the hotel that we take so much pride in, but equally confusing is what you detailed as the major problems that you encountered.
I am going to address one thing regarding your review. The staff at Mondrian is not junk. We have some of the most gracious, competent, friendly, hard working and pleasant people that you will ever find in this industry working here. Judging by your review, you seem as though you may have been a bit irritated or disappointed in your hotel choice while you were staying here. Normally, this is where I would invite you back to experience what Mondrian truly has to offer, however, it is apparent that you don' t want to come back however I can show you what we are all about.
I want to speak to you in person also. I want to hear a little more detail on what prompted this negative review so I can ensure that what is within our control doesn't occur again in the future.

Nicolas Black
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff need to take a course in customer service. We arrived with friends and checked into the hotel all together (two couples but seperate rooms). When we checked in we were escorted to our rooms by the bell boys. Our friends asked about the wifi and were given the code as a complimentary service. We asked about the wifi and was told we would have to pay $10. I paid this as at the time I was not aware that our friends had been given this complimentary. When I asked the receptionist he explained that this was given to some guest complimentary but it was at there discrection. I was totally mortified. How do you decide who deserves the wifi code and who doesn't. We paid the exact same price for our rooms and checked in together. I had read reviews before about the terrible attitude of the staff before I came to stay and this confirmed it. Future guests may come across preferable service for no apparent reason.

Aside from this however the hotel is in a great location and the rooms are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2015
Thank you jessicalou12 for your honest feedback it is much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent service...super car valet guys...front desk and concierge help was great...From a non hipster perspective, I can say that the hotel loves up to the hype...the Pool is the place to be on the weekends and eye candy is abound....from a hotel guest perspective, I can say small rooms with good service...see through bathrooms so don't ask any guests to your suite if you need to relieve yourself....smoker friendly hotel..terraces have ash trays on them, if that's your thing....good service in the breaky room...not too many choices for eats, but Pinches Tacos down the block will help you out.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank slipmahonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2015
Thank you slipmahonee for your great review.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryne, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The service on this hotel was awesome! From the moment they open are car door to they closed it when we left. The city view from the room was breath taking. Just needed to order Champagin to the room an enjoy it. Thank you for a great experience:)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cato L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2015
Thank you Cato L for your great review.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great hotel and fantastic location. A very modern hotel where average age of guests was in their 20's. Over 40's may feel out of place. Staff were excellent and rooms were clean and fresh. LA is hot so the pool was used daily to cool off. The pool area and bar became a nightclub at night with music booming to the early hours. We got a good deal on the room but if you don't book in advance you will pay top dollar.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandiThomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2015
Thank you SandiThomp for your great review.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The décor of the hotel oozes trendy sophistication, the ambiance very 'LA.' The the rooms which are very bright and spacious. They have floor to ceiling windows. Sky Bar/pool offers spectacular views. As a guest, you are permitted entry to Sky Bar vs. waiting on street to get in. Great location on Sunset Strip near many restaurants, House of Blues, Comedy club etc. Nights can be a little noisy, but expected for LA nightlife. Drinks were quite pricy, but I'm assuming it's intentional to maintain a certain clientele (aka beautiful rich people.) Restaurant was under renovation, breakfast/lunch by pool was expensive. I'm sure I'll see some of their staff in a magazine or movie - hospital, beautiful employees everywhere... ah, to be in my 20's again.

Room Tip: Overlook pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2015
Thank you Giag21 for your great review.

Kind Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Herringbone, a restaurant by Enlightened Hospitality Group, James Brennan and Celebrity Chef Brian Malarkey, features ocean-to-table cuisine with an emphasis on fresh seafood and quality meats, while our new Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu during the day and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Base, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing