We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much substance - new rooms not bad though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 1, 2008

It is obvious that Mondrian plays on its reputation as " cool, singles scene" hotel and in all fairness that is the audience its management/owner primarily targets.

However, there were several operational shortcomings during my stay, along with some arrogance from the staff that made the stay less than excellent considering the rate (400 USD/night).

There is still construction work going on, mostly on the facade of the building, though xthe entrance/lobby is less than what is to be expected for a supposedly five-star hotel. The wireless internet connection hardly worked from my room (one of the upper floors), and even with a signal booster it was hardly acceptable reception.

Some of the staff is alright, but the other half seems more interested in playing actors than providing customer service - in particular one representative which was unprofessional at several occasions addressing guests in an informal manner.

The level of room service is acceptable - nothing more. Sky Bar does provide excellent views over LA, and if you're into the party pool scene and care more about having fun than five star service this is for you (up to early 30's crowd posing). The newly renovated rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the shower excellent. However, there is no separation between the bathroom/toilet and the rest of the hotel room which is probably some LA "Californication" guy's interior designers of a hedonist hangout - it just comes across as cheap though.

It is clear that Mondrian is living on its reputation, and by any standards it is not a bad hotel property - but the hotel is undoubtedly overpriced for what it offers. Compared to its sister hotel Delano in Miami this is a bleak shadow in terms of the Schrager experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2008

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. As we pride ourselves on being extremely unique while upholding a fun prefessional demeanor we are disappointed that we fell short while you were with us. If you’re not happy, then we’re not happy! It’s our full-time job to make sure you have a good time at Mondrian and it seems that we have dropped the ball. How can we make this up to you?

Please feel free to contact me anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2008

After reading a number of reviews - mixed - on the hotel, I was very pleasantly surprised during my stay there. It was clean, service was excellent, the restaurant Asia de Cuba was outstanding (both food and service and also surprisingly good value for money). Skybar was a lovely setting but pricey. Some really good bars nearby are a good deal cheaper. Great location for exploring.
The downside to this was when Skybar emptied (2-3am) it got a bit noisy. It was particularly rowdy after a Saturday night with revellers messing about loudly in the corridors. Almost felt like hearing an episode from the Hills! During the week (Sunday to Wednesday) it was significantly quieter - almost peaceful. Definitely enjoyed it and the ongoing building work did not spoil our stay at all. Just ensure you ask for one of the renovated rooms!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2008

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

In regards to the noise you experienced from Skybar we have rectified the problem by installing double-paned sound proof windows in all of our guest rooms.

Whether you had an awesome visit or not so great experience with us before, we are confident you will love us now.

Please feel free to contact me for anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

As a big fan of the bars in these Morgans/Schrager hotels, we stayed in the Mondrian for a night mostly so we could use the Skybar freely (and because it was convenient-enough to the airport). The bar was about what you'd expect - amazing view, good drinks, good staff, crowd of LA people - and the hotel was, too.

That is to stay, most of the staff were fairly friendly, in a sort of condescending, "I'm not really a person who works at a hotel" kind of way, but they were attentive. The rooms have lots of high-tech gadgetry (flat screen TV hidden behind a mirror, Bose iPod dock) but are tiny. Great minibar stocked with a lot of good stuff, for usual minibar prices. I hear that eating Asia de Cuba by the pool is a real pleasure, but we didn't get to do that.

So, if you stay at the Mondrian, you get kind of what you expect - a "cool" sort of property that will probably make you feel out of place if you're over 35 or don't otherwise fashion yourself to be hip. Unless your sense of self-worth revolves around your choice of hotel, there are probably a lot of properties in LA that are less expensive and have bigger rooms. Even among the hip hotels, I would prefer the Standard to the Mondrian overall.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jlb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Do not stay here and expect some great value - I think our breakfast was almost $100 (it was good though). The restaurant, Asia de Cuba, is good - try the butterfish. The staff was rude - we asked for directions and they were condescending. I believe this type of service is taught within Morgan Hotels Group. Numerous reviews commented on the bad service and I must confess that it's true. If you are spending $600 or $1000 a night - you expect top notch service. The club is good but you have to be there on the right night. One great thing - the rooms have spectacular views but it's still not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KMKC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2008

The mission of our staff at Mondrian is to help you have the time of your life while you are a staying with us. We are crushed to find out that we missed the mark and we want to make it up to you!

Please feel free to contact me so we can provide the service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

The bar,the lobby the pool scene is all very nice, very modern.İt has that fresh,sunny LA feeling.People are coming and going all the time just hanging out at the bar.Location obviously perfect on Sunset.The room was a different deal though,it was old and not elegant at all and the prices were too elevated to my taste.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leisha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2009

Mondrian has recently undergone a 35 million dollar refurbishment with our re-launch taking place in September of 2008. We have totally renovated and redesigned all 237 of our guest rooms which now include flat screen TV’s, IPOD Docking Stations, business desks, hardwood flooring, rain showers and some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs. As well we have introduced new mattresses, terry, linen and robes.

In addition we have completely replaced our heating/air conditioning system and all plumbing in the hotel. As we are centrally located in the heart of the Sunset Strip we also installed double-paned sound proof windows in all of our guest rooms.

As SKYBAR continues to be one of Hollywood’s best nightspots and Asia De Cuba restaurant still serves up some of the best cuisine around, we are happy to introduce our new destination bar/lounge, ADCB. Asia De Cuba Bar is located in our main lobby and includes a brand new tapas and sushi menu.

Whether you had an awesome visit or not so great experience with us before, we are confident you will love us now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and I stayed in one of the newly finished rooms which was great. If you choose to stay at this hotel I guess you are looking for an experience outside of the ordinary and the hotel delivers. The sky bar is fabulous and the atmosphere very relaxed and laid back. It is a non corporate place although alot of business going on. I will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chasingplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2009

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can provide the same experience next time…if not BETTER!

Please feel free to contact me in the future so I can assist you with your accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

I bid on Priceline for a 4-star hotel in West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. I won the Mondrian for $185/night. Therefore, I was a little concerned.

I had a late flight and arrived at the hotel to see a dimly-lit, sexy-looking lobby, with "a celebrity" and "beautiful people" milling about partying. I thought, "Hey, this is great!" WRONG! I thought I would be enjoying a king suite. The room actually had 2 TWIN beds, loud street noise, stained carpeting, loud HVAC, and a running toilet. I was disgusted. Management told me there were no other rooms available. I got little sleep that night due to the street noise.

Management changed my room the next night. The king suite was only marginally better; it also had stained carpeting. There was a kitchen of sorts but no microwave that I could find.

Though centrally located for my purposes, I would not stay at the Mondrian again. I would not recommend this hotel. I will NOT use Priceline for my next trip. I have heard that Priceline customers get the worst rooms. I do not want to sacrifice comfort for price.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 8NoTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynGEM, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2008

Mondrian has recently undergone a 35 million dollar refurbishment with our re-launch taking place in September of 2008. We have totally renovated and redesigned all 237 of our guest rooms which now include flat screen TV’s, IPOD Docking Stations, business desks, hardwood flooring, rain showers and some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs. As well we have introduced new mattresses, terry, linen and robes.

In addition we have completely replaced our heating/air conditioning system and all plumbing in the hotel. As we are centrally located in the heart of the Sunset Strip we also installed double-paned sound proof windows in all of our guest rooms.

As SKYBAR continues to be one of Hollywood’s best nightspots and Asia De Cuba restaurant still serves up some of the best cuisine around, we are happy to introduce our new destination bar/lounge, ADCB. Asia De Cuba Bar is located in our main lobby and includes a brand new tapas and sushi menu.

We are confident you will enjoy your experience when you return. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,721 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,981 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,995 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
413 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $286 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing