We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing furniture and lively pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912 (West Hollywood)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOWEST RATE + 2 COCKTAILS
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing furniture and lively pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

For US standards, the rooms are small. The style however is a beautiful contemporary baroque, not only in common areas but also every room is very well designed (e.g. the mirror becomes a TV)
The swimming pool is nice, a lot of young people, glamourous, lively but still relaxing. The advantage of being a hotel guest is also the fact that you have access to the skybar (which is the pool area in the evening that is transformed into a lounge bar) which is very nice and "happening".
Breakfast a la carte was very good.
It's not cheap but fairly priced given the location and the quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hey there IIGeno- happy you noticed the funky and sexy furniture design at the Mondrian LA. Our designer Philippe Starck wanted to bring a sexy Alice and Wonderland / beach theme to our property. My favorite pieces are the over-sized tree pots that by the pool deck and Asia De Cuba outdoor dining area. Just cracks me up how huge they are. Glad you where able to check out the pool and Skybar during your trip. The weather has been perfect for both! Hope you plan to visit us again. Thanks for the post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    515
    242
    127
    115
See reviews for
162
677
116
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Mondrian from March 19th through the 21st while I was traveling for business. The hotel is very nice, modern and chic. I stayed on the 8th floor and had a nice room with a view of the pool.

Check-in was a breeze and took me 5 minutes, same with checking out. Internet is $10 per day for up to 3 devices. After checking in, I received a welcome basket compliments of the hotel which had some fruit and a bottle of water. I thought that was a very lovely gesture!

During my stay, I stopped at the Skybar and had a glass of wine. The Skybar is nice. The hotel keeps the poor area well maintained and it's covered by a greenhouse-type of plastic that keeps the wind out and the area warm. The pool is heated too, so on chilly days it's still nice to sit out there. A glass of wine at Skybar will run you $13, but the ambiance and the service make up for the inflated price. Keep in mind this is a hotel bar, so it's not as cheap as a restaurant. At night, they have security going into the pool area, and you have to give your room number and ID in order to get access to Skybar. This is great because it keeps non-hotel guests out of the area. The night scene at Skybar was lively and fresh. Lots of business men and women hanging out and letting loose, but still keeping it classy.

The room I stayed in was lovely. The tv is in the mirror, which was kind of cool, but it blocked the day bed in the room which made the room appear smaller than it actually was. The view is great, you have a nice view of LA and at night, the lights look so pretty and you get a feeling that you're in a city. The bathroom was clean and modern, but kind of small. Nice aluminum sink, but not too much counter space for cosmetics. The shower is big enough for two people and the water pressure was good, but I was a little disappointed there wasn't a bathtub. The hotel gives you a nice set of shampoo and conditioner, but the portions are small and I noticed they didn't give me more lotion on the second day of my trip. You may want to bring your own toiletries if you need a lot of conditioner, like me =)

I ordered room service my second day here. I ordered a bagel with butter and a side of bacon and a coffee and it ran about $30, it wasn't so much the food that was expensive as it was the added on service fees. If you don't want to pay for a huge carafe of coffee, the coffee bar downstairs gives free coffee until 9am.

Taxi's are always outside of the hotel and easy to grab. I thought this was great as I needed to get around and I didn't rent a car.

Overall, my stay was enjoyable and if I had to stay here again, I most certainly would. Either here or The London. If it wasn't for the Mondrian, I don't know if my stay in LA would have been as enjoyable as it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justinebaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hola Justinebaybe- I believe a good tag line for our hotel should be "work hard and play harder”. Seems as though you where able to experience all the great amenities that Mondrian has to offer. Hope you found time to dine at Asia de Cuba. Chef Sivilay and his staff of amazing chefs always hit the mark! The pork belly dish, literality melts in your mouth... it is soooo good! Try it on your next stay. We hope to see you very soon and repeat this amazing trip you had. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was so thrilled at the thought of staying at the much touted Mondrian.
But it is not what I expected in any way...
A warning here- even if you have paid in advance which I did, you are asked for 450.00 in cash or credit when you check in for incidentals . I found that to be an outrageous number and told Michael
The cold and rather aloof young man who checked me and and asked kindly if he could do less as I was traveling on a budget. He said no that is the way it is.... And I asked what could I do.
He responded " do what ever you wan to do"
For me the people always make the hotel and first impressions count.
He became distracted by 2 young women in bikini tops and moved over to ask them where they were from before even finishing with me.
The manager was cool but a tad more attentive...
The rooms are very pretty but quite cold in the decor.
Wifi will cost you 10 dollars a night and overnight parking is a whopping 33.00 per night.
There are no bath tubs in the rooms, at least the room I stayed in and the television is in an odd
huge oval mirror in the room.
It's important that you know I went to the Mondrian really wanting to love it.
Almost every experience there was such a let down.

I understand it's on Sunset Blvd. and it's in West Hollywood but that is not an excuse for
such rudeness when checking in and such exorbitant financial demands especially when the
room is paid in advance and I specifically asked as a courtesy and favor to lower the requested amount.
There are so many wonderful place to stay in Los Angeles and a personal touch makes a tremendous difference.
To be very clear and fair, Kaysie the manager sent up a bottle of wine with an apology but it was a little too late for this guest though I did appreciate the thought.
One light in the Mondrian was Mathew the front door valet who could not have been more welcoming and and kind.
A gentle note to the Mondrian - put Mathew at the front desk.
I would have loved to be raving about the Mondrian but I can't i in good conscience tell someone
else to go there.
No matter how fancy the address might be.
One more quick note- parking in and around the hotel is insane.
If you have visitors, they are out of luck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Chantal W- I can't believe you experienced all of this at our hotel. I am extremely shocked to hear that you perceived our staff to be less than helpful. Mondrian West Hollywood drives to be number one in customer service and we are accountable to all our guests. Just to let you know, the incidental hold at check in is a procedure that you will find the majority of hotels practicing. This allows you the right to charge to the room without issue. If you decide to give Mondrian a second shot, I will personally make sure your next trip will be what you expected in the first place. Tell your friends to come as well! I’ll be happy to take care of them as well. Thanks for the post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed in both downtown LA & west Hollywood and by far our stay at the Mondrian was the best. When we arrived first thing in the morning after a long flight they offered us a great room on the top floor next to the penthouse with an amazing view. The room was great airy, spacious and very clean. Pool bar was a great place to wind down after a day out. At times the crowd was a little pretentious but it's a real proper hollywood experience and we loved it! PS. be aware of the valet parking costs as we weren't told there is no car park we ended up with a surprise extra $100 on our bill

Room Tip: If you're going to be above the pool get a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ams002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi ams002- sounds like you chose the right hotel for your trip! Mondrian LA is the only hotel I know to have amazing amenities like Asia de Cuba, Skybar and our new lobby bar. The views at our hotel are by far the best in all of West Hollywood. Very glad your trip was memorable and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just got back from a week in LA. I never stayed at the Mondrian before but wanted to give it a shot. Some of the nicest rooms I have ever seen. Loved the living room area, and rotating mirror-TV. The bathroom was kind of out of place, boring and out dated compared to the rest of the room. But nonetheless this was a really nice place.

Pool scene got crowded on the weekend, but it is what it is. NO complaints about that. Asia de Cuba was excellent, and the Drinks were nice and strong.

Only problem I did have was the whole valet-only parking situation. I was in and out all day long and it got kind of annoying to have to check the car in only to have to wait for it again 2hrs later. Some hotels on the strip offer both valet and self park which would be awesome at this place.

All in all I would come back here 100%

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello mrdigi- glad you decided to stay with us! Good call! Gotta, love the Alice and Wonderland rotating mirror/television in the room. Just adds to the fantasy of the hotel. The pool is a very popular spot; especially when the weather is gorgeous out. I hope you where able to grab a chair and enjoy one of our signature drinks while you were here. Thanks for taking the time to write a comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful rooms.
If you like partying, try to get a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Good time in the summer.
-Valet parking is very expensive due to the lack of parking in the area.
-They need to do a better job of keeping the riff raff out that comes into the hotel for the pool parties. Sometimes feels like they cater to the Ed Hardy crowd.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
All the view at Mondrian LA are spectacular. I do agree, the ones with the balcony are really cool. Especially over summer like you said. Hope you will be back soon to join in the summer festivities. Thanks for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here and each time has been superb. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome - from the valet parking guys to the reception to the bar staff - they are all just the right side of friendly without being false.

It seems I get upgraded every time I come here too and my room was big enough to accommodate a small choir!

Food was good and well presented and, of course, the Sky Bar is legendary - perfect for spotting the shallow and self-absorbed. Great fun!

I'm struggling to find a negative TBH. I guess the valet parking is a bit steep at $35 a day but that's the best I can do.

All in all I would highly recommend the place - whether it is business or pleasure, it will suit you fine.

Room Tip: In my experience there is little difference between a room overlooking the pool and a room overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnythirkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Yes...Skybar is legendary! The chefs at Asia de Cuba always amazing me, with the quality food they put out daily and the presentation that the chefs do with the food. Never ceases to amazing me. We love your commitment with Mondrian LA and would love you back anytime. Thanks for the post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,408 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Herringbone, a restaurant by Enlightened Hospitality Group, James Brennan and Celebrity Chef Brian Malarkey, features ocean-to-table cuisine with an emphasis on fresh seafood and quality meats, while our new Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu during the day and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Base, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing