We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, clean, great location :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, great location :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My friend and I stayed here a couple of months ago and were very pleased with this hotel. It's in the perfect spot on sunset strip. Walking distance to shops, restaurant and bars. Check in and check out we're quick and went smoothly. Concierge was amazing at helping book restaurants and letting us know the hotspots. It's a short taxi to Hollywood blvd, there is always taxis waiting out the front. We had a choice of what view we would like and chose the hills side.our room was always cleaned by house keeping and the general look of the place was clean and very trendy. Skybar at the hotel is pretty good sitting by the pool with a cocktail and a view of LA. What more could you want :) definitely stay here next time !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello Sammy,

I am glad you guys had a great stay with us a couple months back. Thanks for the wonderful comments. We really appreciate it. Take care and hope to have you back with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    574
    267
    149
    126
See reviews for
187
754
122
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in a Deluxe Room - we had beautiful views overlooking the pool and greater Los Angeles. The hotel is very trendy - beautiful people everywhere so don't expect to arrive and slum it, you will feel the pressure to look your best. We laid by the pool one afternoon and had drinks and snacks and the service was quite average but come night time the place explodes and the Skybar becomes one of the hottest places to be! GUest get free and automatic entry to the Skybar, no matter what the queue is like. One of the nights we stayed, the hotel hosted a premier of some sort so the pool and bar were closed off to guests until 10pm which was pretty average. Despite the late night bar atmosphere we still managed to get a good nights sleep as the windows manage to keep the noise at bay. We had a very early dfeparture the next day and the staff were great at the checkout, making sure we got a cab and supplying us with complimentary bottles of water for the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and views of the Pool on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Crystal..thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback...truly appreciated. I am very happy you had a nice stay with us recently. I do apologize we did have a closure the one evening and hope that this will not keep you from returning. Thanks again, Crystal and look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I used to stay at the Mondrian years ago when travelling to la on business and decided to try it again for pleasure. Since then they have remodeled the rooms ...a huge plus. I didn't see the big deal about the rooms before the remodel but now they are definitely suitable. The hard wood floors and the television stand that resembles a mirror add just the right touch of design. The sky bar still seems to be packed not sure if its with the "right crowd" back in the day they were highly selective on who they let in not sure now...I have somewhat outgrown the crowd so I didn't spend much time down there so cant fairly review that part....Service was good. Hopefully one day they will find a way to reduce the valet charge but I guess that is every hotel in LA.

Room Tip: If you want a room on the quieter side ask for one higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bribriUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your insight. I am so happy that we are still able to please after all of these years. Thank you for coming back and giving us the opportunity! Next time, don't wait so long to come back! Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at the Mondrian three times this year. The service is friendly and efficient, the rooms spacious and smart and - unlike the experience of other reviewers - we value how quiet it is! I think chosing the right room and floor might be the key to this - we always stay on a high floor with view east, ie not overlooking the pool and Skybar which can be very noisy especially at weekends. The pool is really just for posing so if you want a hotel with an exercise pool, you are better off elsewhere. Breakfast at around $75 for two is crazy expensive but there are other options within walking ditance nearby, plus there's free coffee in the lobby every morning from 6am. If you like a charming, clubby, boutique place with a relaxed and friendly vibe, this is the LA hotel for you.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank World_Shopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review. I do agree with you, the East view is the best ,in my opinion,-overlooking downtown to Hollywood. Just to let you know, we recently soundproofed all of our rooms overlooking SKYBAR. Should be no more issue with noise. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and do hope to have you back with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Mondrain for an Friday evening on our way out of town. The first thing that you have to know is that it's well concealed behind two large panels that are meant to be large doors opening to the hotel. The hotel is very trendy and well staffed, they seem to do a great job of tending to their guest and handling the influx of people to the popular bar. We stayed in a standard room and enjoyed the chic feel of it. It's not the best value for the money I've experienced at a hotel in this price range, but a worthy one it just needs a little updating.

Service - My wife and I found the service to be very good from the bell hops to the front desk. Everyone was clear about what was offered and available. They did what they could to help, nothing more or less.

Value- The rooms are small and decently appointed, it's obvious that some of the materials are well used and the room we had could be ready for an update soon? For the price of the room, I'd say I expect more/better. We weren't able to eat at the restaurant so I can't factor that into the review. The room offered a refrigerator stocked with lots of alcohol, soda, and water all priced for the late night crowd that the hotel attracts, not so much anyone else. $11 for a water? No thanks.

Sleep Quality - The bed was comfortable with a lot of pillows.

Cleanliness - The room was clean, just worn

Location - Great location in West Hollywood from different rooms you have great views of the pool, Mountains, or the city. It's clear you're paying for this.

Room - I covered most of this under value. They did a nice job of fitting everything into the rooms, a spacious shower with a rain head was a plus (the handle was about to fall off), and the rest of the room was nice. The TV in the mirror was cute, but more of a gimmick. You're not there to watch TV anyhow.

Spa - N/A

Breakfast - N/A

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello Greg..thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am very happy that you had a good visit with us recently. I really appreciate your authentic feedback and insight. Greg, we truly appreciate your patronage and hope to have you back with us again very soon. Check for great deal we have on our website. I might suggest a Studio Suite for a bit more space on your next stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stabio, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is cool, very well place on the sunset blv, and everything was really OK.

Be aware of these:

- the pool/skybar is very very noisy. In rooms near to the pool you won't sleep until 2 am.
- on Friday/Saturday evenings the hotel is very crowded, so the valet service is not efficient at all (too many people)

Room Tip: Deluxe double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I will let you knwo that we have recently soundproofed all of our rooms facing SKYBAR. There should be no more noise issues from these rooms. Thank you, Stefano....hope to have you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had done a big tour of America and wanted to go out with a bang so booked into the Mondrian and then went for a upgrade when we checked in. The room was great and had a great view. What does take away from our experience considerably is the pool situation. Upon checking in and paying many 100's of dollars for a room there was no sun loungers available unless you get bottle service at 3pm in the afternoon? This may be acceptable if the pool is full of hotel guests but it's not they are all hang out people..... Eventually as this crowd had enough of the sun we were finally given a place by the pool of our hotel. On our third day we thought ahead and after breakfast went down to the pool to put our books on a lounger not being able to find a pool attendant I just did it.... When we came down about an hour later we were almost given a ticking off from the guy saying he was about to move our stuff even though there were beds still free? These two experiences marred what would have otherwise been a top class experience. The restaurant is fantastic and the service generally is top notch. I would put this place in a growing list of hotels that are far more concerned with being a hip bar with a hotel than a hotel with a hip bar!
We did finish with a bang but it could have been a more pleasant affair!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stucros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. So sorry you guys did not have great experiences in regard to our pool. As we do have limited space at times it can tend to get a bit crowded if not there early. As for holding beds, we do not do this as well as they are limited. However, seems our Pool Attendant could have been more gracious in his messgae. So sorry for this. I am glad that it seems the rest of you stay went well. Please reach out next time you are in town. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing