We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool hotel for sunset/w.hollywood experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Took a room for a few nights, booked it on hotels.com. For some reason when we arrived they didn't have the booking there, so for the trouble gave us same rate and upgraded us and gave us a couple of free drinks! Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room was beautiful! Had a cool rotating mirror/tv. King bed, couch etc.. Due to the 'modern' design hotels like this age very quickly and marks and wear are visible quite fast. Because of the bars/clubs around, noticed this as a bit of one night place for people with some money to spend, but if you don't care about that, pool is very nice. Food is pricey, and drinks, but overall a very nice hotel. The Wanted stayed there at the same time, so they are doing something right!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iakovk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear the Front Desk was able to resolve your reservation issue in a timely manner. We hope to remain your top choice of hotels in LA. Please come back very soon to visit. Sincerely, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,058)
There are newer reviews for Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Mondrian LA for 2 nights at the begining of our trip to the West Coast. The hotel is in West Hollywood a stones throw from The Andaz and The London and in a great location for getting around Hollywood and Beverley Hills.
Rooms OK, decent sized bedrrom and bathroom although the showers were not as powerful as i would have liked.
Breakfasts were nice although expensive as you would expect, we also really enjoyed drinks in the Skybar both nights which was a lively relaxed bar, with good drinks and service.
We didnt find enough time to sit around the pool but did notice it fill up early and beds were limited after around 10am
Based on location and the bar i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a lively young base in West Hollywood
Note the sightseeing bus stops directly outside the hotel...

Room Tip: From lower rooms overlooking the pool you can hear the music from the Skybar...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your return visit in the near future. Regards, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in August. Booked via a travel website but contacted hotel to request an early check in due to the early arrival of our flight. We got to the hotel at 9-00am and the room was ready for us as requested and we were given great room on 12th floor with beautiful views over the city. Room was spotlessly clean with excellent bath products provided. Staff were friendly yet not overbearing. During our stay we accidentally didn't close our door properly and I was surprised to hear a knock on the door from hotel security to advise us that the door was not fully closed. Easy walk to some great restaurants and shops on Sunset Boulevard and short taxi ride to Rodeo Drive or Hollywood. Complimentary tea and coffee available every day which was great when you had to have early starts for sightseeing tours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsyanneBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It looks as though you really enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to host you the next time you are in the Los Angeles area. Come back soon to visit. Sincerely, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

They made several errors on my billing after I checked out. Rather than holding an amount on my credit card (which is typical until after you check out), they charged it right through in error. They put through TWO separate charges in error. It took me three weeks to sort it out with my credit card company. Hotel was slow to respond and did not apologize. Watch your CC statement after you leave!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at Mondrian. We extend our apologies and hope that this experience does not deter you from visiting in the future. Regards, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in August. Rooms are perfect and the view .. fantastic ! Upgraded on arrival with complimentary wi.fi. in my room. The best position to explore W Hollywood area and half on hour (by car, of course) from the most exciting places in L.A. Excellent breakfast and the best mango mojito ever at the pool bar .. Will return

Room Tip: Ask for an high floor room, sunset blv/downtown view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetraveller66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit with us. It looks like you had a lovely time. Come back soon to visit. Sincerely, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hi


Stayed here 4 times so far, with another 10 trips booked for work

The hotel is expensive ( LA ), however offers one of the best service experiences in the area

cant be faulted to be honest

pool is small but the hotel is pretty small to be honest,

bar is great

rooms are great

service is great

prices are a bit heavy, but you pay for the location

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancatsoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience. I am very happy to see that you have become a loyal Mondrian guest. We are excited to have you back with us! If you have a couple of minutes on your next trip, please stop by the Front Desk so I can introduce myself. Sincerely, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at the Mondrian LA for 2 nights at the beginning of our US trip. Check in was fast, our room had a floor to ceiling window with views over Sunset Boulevard and across to downtown LA. Rooms were very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathrooms were well appointed (shower pressure was very weak though). All in all, a good standard room with nothing to set it apart from other hotels in the same price bracket.

Breakfasts were excellent, reasonable amounts of choice and really impressed with the free coffee for everyone, regardless of whether you were eating.

The pool area is small and you'll struggle to get beds unless you are up early. It's very trendy, a place to be seen rather than to relax and kick back.

Sky bar was nice, I was expecting something a bit glitzier but it was really a poolside bar reminiscent of many holiday resorts. Music of an evening was good and gave a good ambience. Most, if not all, of the seating areas were reserved so be prepared to stand unless you book in advance.

Location is good for West Hollywood, near to all the major spots and opposite a HoHo bus stop (the comedy store).

Check out was a bit of a farce, they tried to check us out of the wrong room and then when we eventually got our own bill, we had been charged for parking despite not having a car.

All in all a good stay but nothing spectacular. You'll stay in worse hotels for the same money, but you'll also stay in better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay at Mondrian. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your hotel room. I apologize for the frustrations you experienced while checking out of the hotel. I hope we were able to rectify the parking issue in a timely manner. There are many hotels to choose from in Los Angeles, and we appreciate you selecting Mondrian. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,947 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,944 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
402 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $296 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing