We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Very unique style hotel , great roof top restaurant , good size rooms , quiet location in west Hollywood but easy to get to all attractions , easy check in , friendly staff , it's a bit far out of the Hollywood strip but a $10 cab fair to get to walk of fame . Plenty of nice cafe and restaurants near by

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Hello Sally,

Happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Walk Of Fame is not too far but far enough not to experience the craziness of Hollywood boulevard.

Hope you can come back to LA soon so that I can recommend you some other fun attractions West Hollywood has to offer!

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    237
    87
    43
    49
See reviews for
89
434
95
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Petit could and should have been a perfect little hotel, and it's a shame that my 7-day stay over there was an overall disappointment.
The rooms are big, the rooftop garden and pool are beautiful. But that's not enough.
Charging $36 a day for hotel parking is outrageous. In LA It's like charging extra for hot water.
The breakfast buffet, also at a $30 cost, is far from generous. No meat, only boiled eggs and no vegetables.
But this was not the real issue. The service was the main shortcoming. Some of the guys at front desk were inattentive, bordering on being rude. No smiles, no will to help out. Arriving early morning after a 15 hours flight, they offered me no solution other than saying "Our official check in is at 4PM". Never mind that I had made a specific request for an early check-in. After sharing my frustration with them, with me heading to the exit, I overheard one of them say "I just hate these Sh***Y guests".
Next time I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chamizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Hello,

I was away for a couple of weeks so I want to apologize for not reaching out sooner. I am hoping you will contact me via e-mail with your phone number so that I may speak with you.

Looking forward to speaking with you.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Perfect location to shop, dine and relax in a trendy part of LA. Room was clean and decorated as per website. Reasonably priced and quiet rooms for the area. Swimming pool is tiny but enough to cool off in summer and relax on the many sun beds. Stayed 4 nights in the Demi-Suite. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Booked Demi suite which was the smallest but still lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Hello,

It's great to read that you plan on coming to visit us again. Make sure to contact me directly so that I can upgrade you and help you with your accommodations.

See you very soon I hope.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel was recommended indirectly through an old school friend via Facebook. I booked then checked reviews on Tripadvisor but was surprised at the varying reviews of this hotel.
My fears were unjust and we have just completed a very enjoyable 5 night stay at the hotel.
With only 80 rooms the hotel is boutique, the roof top a local sanctuary, and the staff laid back but very helpful. During breakfast, lunch, at the pool etc you never felt the need or pressure to close your tab and move on.
The rooms are as described and very comfortable and we had a small balcony which enabled us to have door open which is very important to us but harder to find amongst hotels in USA these days.
Location is fantastic and great walking, shopping, cafes and bars everywhere.
Thanks Petit Ermitage for a cosy and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were in Room 214 and it was fine. No noise from above or side to side. We sleep early and had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry7264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you Harry for your review!

How soon are you planing on coming back? We all miss you very much!

Contact me next time you plan a visit.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

While many might find the sexy location and hip veneer of this hotel mesmerizing, I only found a rude dishonesty and a lack of responsibility at the front desk. I arrived with a bonafide booking and reservation confirmation at 11:30pm. However my room had been sold to another person. It was not until 1am that the front desk staff begrudgingly assisted in finding me another room clear across town, at a much higher price category. During that time I was subjected to dishonest remarks and offered nothing to assuage the awful situation they put me in. To top it off when I tried to communicate after this ordeal with management after this event they did not follow through.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Scott,

The fact that the 3rd party vendor through which you booked your reservation messed up is certainly not a reason to bash our hotel specially when we did our best to help you. As you know we were completely sold out and you were not able to present any proof of reservation as well.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottm
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great location, tucked away from the Sunset Strip, but an easy walk to local bars and restaurants. Loved the exterior of the hotel and the valet parking, we felt like film stars on arrival. The décor of the hotel was eclectic and quirky, there was always something new to spot. Check-in was efficient and welcoming and the lift staff were lovely, really friendly and down to earth. The room was 405 which had the wrap round balcony and great views over the neighbourhood. The roof top pool bar had great views over Hollywood and was great for people spotting, everyone in L.A looks famous and here was no exception. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive, we really enjoyed our evening drinks under the heat lamps with the furry throws and a couple of glasses of red. our daughter had her 13th birthday here and she recommended the cookie plate and the lemonade. We chose this hotel as a fab place for our daughter's birthday, but would have to agree that its probably somewhere that my husband and I would want to come as a couple next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulupieNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Lulupie,

It's great to read your review and to know that you had an AMAZING time at Petit. All of our staff goes above and beyond to make every guests stay their home away from home.
We have a huge amount of repeat guests that keep coming back and stay loyal to us because of the experience that we all provide.

Hope you can come back soon, if you do make sure to contact me. Also, you may share my e-mail with anyone you know that is interested in coming to visit LA and I will be more than happy to help them with accomodations.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Some friends had recommended Petit Hermitage which made cutting through the many LA options a lot easier for us. The hotel is in a very good location which is probably it's main benefit. It also has a popular roof top bar and a very funky vibe. The only down sides were the small pool surrounded by spectators (I guess that is what you get with a roof top pool bar) so not ideal for swimming and also some areas of the hotel were showing their age.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_MurrayNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Your turn to recommend Petit to all of your friends!

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this great review.

In hopes of having the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 19 in West Hollywood
566 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Property: Petit Ermitage
Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing