We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my style.....”
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Pros:

Good location in West Hollywood
Cookies at the front desk
Toiletries smell amazing
Fireplaces in the rooms are a nice touch
Staff is very friendly and accommodating

Cons:

Rooftop pool is the size of a postage stamp and perpetually overcrowded with smokers
Literally could not find somewhere to sit in the pool area. Every single lounger was taken. Some people had put towels on the ground and were sitting on those
Upon first inspection the hotel looks pretty cool and Boho and European but after a few nights we realized it was all paint effects on the walls - very little in the way of amenities or luxury
Bathtub was uncomfortable and poorly designed. You have to sit straight up as there is a wall right behind you preventing you from leaning all the way back
Valet parking is $35 a night and there is no street parking or other alternatives that we could find

Overall we were very eager to check out. I can imagine there are people who would love this place for its eclectic style and European vibe but we booked this hotel mainly for the pool which was too crowded to use so we were very disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgelbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico H, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear dgelbard,

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write the above review on Trip Advisor. I very much appreciate your very constructive feedback.

I am so sorry to hear that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay at Petit Ermitage. The Hotel has been unusually busy during this month, due to the early awards season. In general we are trying not to sell out Petit Ermitage to its capacity to avoid issues such as the ones you have experienced.

Nevertheless, I would hope that you will give us another chance in the future to experience Petit Ermitage under different circumstances.

Sincerely,

Nico H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for Petit Ermitage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is located in a great, quiet neighborhood. The staff members were excellent and attentive. While the hotel has a unique charm and decor, it's a bit worn. For the amount of money paid, I would expect the rooms and public space to be in better condition. It was clean though! The exercise room also needs a treadmill. Overall ok place but the price for the condition of the hotel may be a bit steep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank js836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had a lovely experience at the Petit Ermitage in West Hollywood. The hotel is boutique and clearly used to be apartment buildings. It is located on a quiet side street just outside of the bustle between Santa Monica and the Sunset Strip. A very short walk takes you to either location and Melrose Drive is only a little further. This part of LA is in 'the hills' so do note that although short, the walk up to Sunset or back from Santa Monica or Melrose involves a steep climb.

I stayed in a Jr. Suite overlooking Cynthia Dr. My room was large and well laid out with nice separation between the bed and sitting area. The bathroom was not particularly luxurious, but the wall tile was a beautiful mixture of greens and it was very clean. The bath products were lovely and as it used to be an apartment, I had a medicine cabinet behind the side mirror which allowed my to tuck away al my bits ad bobs. There were 'bohemian' touches throughout the room with hand plastered walls, hand painted doors an finishes throughout.

The bed was a perfect queen and the towels, and linens were very nice. The hallways were filled with 'actual' art and not 'hotel' art. Very worth walking around to see what is on the hallway walls.

The roof top restaurant was very nice, VERY private and the food was good, not great. I did not use the salt water pool but there were certainly people using it. The pool and rooftop deck feel much more like an adult space than a child's space.

I had room service once during my stay and it was the best I have ever had. I ordered simply. Burger, salad and fries. But my food was delivered within 15 minutes with the burger nice and hot, the salad fresh and the fries crisp instead of the sodden mess usually delivered to one's room.

Service was uniformly pleasant top to bottom.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimyagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's a nice little apartment style hotel in the middle of hollywood. The location is pretty good in terms of access to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are a bit old, but clean. The staff is super helpful and gave great insight to the destinations around. it's worth staying.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel was very cool. It was different. It was in a great location in West Hollywood. Between Santa Monica Blvd and Sunset Blvd. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooftop has very beautiful views of the Hollywood Hills and Downtown Los Angeles. I defiantly want to come back here!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from public areas, like away form the lobby or elevators, to have less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joemanpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at Petit Ermitage for just one night on my way back from Mexico to Europe and I wish I could've stayed longer.
You can barely see this is a hotel from the outside as it's located in a nice residential area in the heart of West Hollywood, and that gives you a feeling of staying in a private, secluded place away from the hustle and bustle of Sunset Blv.

Will not bore you with a long review, just wanna say what I liked and what I didn't:

PROs: as others already said, the ambiance and the decor of this boutique hotel are super cool and decadent. The rooftop is probably the best part of Petit Ermitage: amazing 360° views over the city, great cocktails, a tiny and lovely pool, Monday movie nights by the fire deck (with complimentary popcorn). I also found the location in WeHo just perfect.
The room was large enough with a separate sitting area. Bath products smelled so good.

CONs: ordered in-room breakfast and what came was kinda poor.. a super sad plate of fruit, a not so memorable yoghurt + granola, coffee, and a glass of a mediocre orange juice (not freshly squeezed). The guys at the front desk looked pretty bored and sometimes seems they are there just to do you a favor.
The a/c unit in the room is odd (look at the pic), noisy and really out of the hotel context.

Would I return? Despite those little bad things I had a great time at Petit Ermitage so I would probably come back. It's a lovely alternative to those big L.A. hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank interpol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Was traveling for work and was so pleasantly surprised by the amazing European/Isralei style breakfast buffet available on the indoor/outdoor roof restaurant. Needless to say it left me not wanting to go to work!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank EmCang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,706 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 19 in West Hollywood
571 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,942 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $337 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing