We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very good" hotel”
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“"Very good" hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Petit Ermitage is a very good" hotel overall. The service was very good. The value was average. The sleep quality was very good. The cleanliness is average. The location is very good. The room was very good. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    234
    87
    43
    47
See reviews for
88
429
94
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in early June, and I left a coat somewhere on the premises. I was 100% certain I had left it, and I realized this before I even checked out. I therefore asked every single staff member - from the rooftop bar to the cleaning staff to the front desk - and no one had any knowledge of it. I called and emailed several times afterwards. The people on the phone weren't very helpful, and no one responded to my two email messages. TWO MONTHS later, I got a voicemessage from a guy in guest relations, explaining that he had had the coat in his office for "two months" and had only just that day looked in the pocket and found my business cards. In the intervening time, I had assumed the jacket was lost, so I replaced it. I've called no fewer than 10 times about getting the jacket back and paying for my new jacket, which I wouldn't have had to buy if the hotel staff communicated efficiently (or at all). Each time I call, I'm told that a manager will return my call. They've yet to do so. I've posted only one other review on this site, and it was glowing - so you know it's taken a lot for me to make the time to post a review, and a bad one at that. It's irresponsible, unethical and disrespectful for a customer service organization to be this unresponsive about a matter such as this. The place itself is a perfectly hospitable boutique hotel, but the staff needs a serious reboot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfKiteSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico H, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear SurfKite Ski,

Please allow me to introduce myself to you. My name is Nico H. and I am the General Manager at Petit Ermitage. I am writing to you in response to your recent Trip Advisor review.

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for your patronage and furthermore I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the fact that your lost and found item query was handled so poorly and with such delay. Your review did unfortunately not come totally as a surprize and it is just confirming, what I have experienced since my arrival at the Hotel a few months ago.

However, I am happy to confirm that we have almost turned our entire Guest Services team around (including management) to ensure better guest service and communication going forward. Our new Guest Services Manager has been trying to contact you directly to resolve the above issue.

I am hoping that we will be able to restore your faith in our Guest Services team and that we will be able to welcome you back to the Petit Ermitage in the near future.

Sincerely,
Nico H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had visited the hotel rooftop pool with a friend who is a member of the club, and decided that I would stay at the hotel on my next visit to LA.

This was overall a great choice, though there are a few bits of caution I would throw out there.
Pros: Overall very friendly staff - both at the reception desk and the waitstaff I dealt with at the pool and restaurant. I was on the 3rd floor and didnt hear any noise from upstairs club as others have mentioned. My room was comfortable, the bed was great - I slept so well and the sheets were comfortable, and the toiletries were great. I needed an ice bucket with ice and the staff sent it quickly. Very nice. Also, I liked the pool and the food/ drinks served upstairs. All high quality. The house-made granola I had for breakfast was particularly tasty - I loved the dried sour cherries in it.
Cons: Service is expensive at the pool deck. While of high quality, both in the restaurant and at the pool they charge a service charge as well as expect a tip. Things add up QUICKLY due to this, so watch out. While the pool is lovely, the seating areas get reserved quickly so you need to get there early if you want to even be able to sit out there. Plus, I noticed that there are really no individual chairs. there are large padded beds that you split with others. So it can get a little too intimate if you're not careful. I'd prefer more privacy. The charge for the valet service is $36, which seems steep.
Overall, though, I recommed it. It's a little oasis near a busy fun area of West Hollywood but still feels secluded and intimate.

Room Tip: stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor to avoid noise from the 4th floor club/ pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasoncrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel, rooms are large, rooftop bar is for guests only and is fantastic. The only way the hotel really makes money on the bar is to rent it out for events. That said, the kitchen is on the first floor in the back, so wait staff and carts all go down the hall with wooden floors to the elevator up to the fourth floor (rooftop bar) And its quite noisy. If you're on the third floor, lots of noise from the rooftop (bass from the music, depending on the event, as well as constant footsteps...read women in heals). TIP stay on the second floor and its perfect. I will stay again, but will make sure I'm on the second floor. It took two nights to figure this out.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank justsayhey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel and it was in a great location - cool restaurants nearby on Sunset, Melrose etc. The rooftop is the best feature of this hotel - an oasis to take in the view at a poolside area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clementine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Petit Ermitage twice now, and each time I have not been disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are friendly. The rooftop club is the perfect place for a cocktail after a long days shopping.
The only negative is that, as guests, we still had to pay for the valet parking, which I would of thought should be free if you are staying in the hotel.
Otherwise, great value for a great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I find the hotel a place for me to unwind and a great place to meet friends and family when returning to the USA. Your rooftop pool and garden restaurant provides a fabulous jet lag recovery space. Your rooms only need a better sound system to give me you a 5 rating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyChiropractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,676 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,671 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 20 in West Hollywood
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,855 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 20 in West Hollywood
560 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Property: Petit Ermitage
Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing