We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan Inspired Luxury”
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moroccan Inspired Luxury”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I once worked with a Moroccan gentleman and he was most distasteful, boorish, and unpleasant. It’s a good thing I didn’t let this gentleman influence my choice in hotels. I recently stayed with the Moroccan inspired Petit Ermitage in West Hollywood and must say I was taken aback when I arrived – and pleased.

The hotel, nestled in a residential neighborhood (the property was an apartment building in a former life) sneaks up on you and can easily be missed. The valet dressed in ivy and the entryway is flanked with gas burning lanterns, which made me feel very at home arriving at 2am; a flickering glowing beacon. My suite, if one might call this a suite, I suspect was larger than many residences in the busy surrounding neighborhood and provided all the comforts of home. A step down living room, fireplace, kitchen, well-appointed bath (who doesn’t like C.O. Bigelow?), and large screens and technology throughout. The Moroccan theme and colors magenta, mustards and browns make one feel very at home. Moreover, I spent more than five hours at the rooftop private club, pool, and restaurant and bar and report they are all top notch and not a single complaint. If I were to identify any detractions I might mention the very, very small elevator and, albeit well appointed, the very small bath (even in my suite); not to mention

Bellmen in Moroccan attire including headdress, yet wearing Nike athletic shoes – a mild oversight. Such small things will never get in the way of my next visit.

Would I recommend Petit Ermitage you ask? But of course. I not only recommend a stay with the Petit Ermitage, I am already planning my return. Next time with targets set on a romantic weekend. Petit Ermitage fits the bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGlitterati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    233
    87
    43
    47
See reviews for
88
428
94
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montefollonico, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A charming hotel with antique furniture and paintings gallery with valet parking where Santa Monica Boulevard as well as Sunset Boulevards are easily accessible. The rooms are really cosy with all you can ask for. The hotel is not noisy as it is situated on a side street. But there are eateries very near to the hotel. The staff is courteous and the walks at night are inviting.

Room Tip: Our room has a door to the garden so air conditioning was not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have read a few of the reviews on here and must say I am quite surprised. My stay at Petit Ermitage was wonderful. The customer service was top notch. The Rooftop Pool area was so relaxing and I had invited friends who live in West Hollywood to come over and check it out. They had no idea the hotel existed and felt like they were 'on vacation' as we had lunch with the hummingbirds. Everyone who worked at the hotel was kind and helpful....( except for one bartender on the roof who apparently hates his job and wishes to be on film ). The room service was very fast, the staff at the front desk were very cheery and the dudes who hang by the elevator make me feel like I was in a Wes Anderson movie ! The location is also a bonus... right below Sunset Blvd - and right above Santa Monica blvd. Restaurants, Sunset Plaza, Liquor Stores, great restaurants... I mean, I don't know what else you could want. Thank you Petit Ermitage. My stay was a memorable one.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor in room 318 facing Cynthia Street. It had a balcony where I would sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila2997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Okay, so I got sucked in by the "boutique hotel / we really value our customers" sort of thing and thought Petit Ermitage looked to be a wonderful place to stay on my wedding night.

The French theme in the rooms and the artwork all over the place were very lovely, as was the rooftop pool. The magic really started to fade, though. Some friends had sent some delicious chocolate covered strawberries to our room before we even checked in, which was an awesome touch. When trying to order another batch of them later on, the answer we got was "uhhh, those were a special order....I'll have to call you back."

"I'll have to call you back?" Petit Ermitage finds it fun to insinuate no wish is too great... to quote their website: "Should you wish your Honor Bar to be filled solely with Chocolate Meringues, or have Sunset Boulevard closed so you might walk your Giraffe - your wish is the Liaison's command..." My Liaison (which you get with the Masters Quarters rooms) seemed nice enough but, when his phone rang and rang and went to voicemail, I just started calling the front desk with any questions or requests I had because I knew someone would pick up.

Also, their billing seems to be absolutely horrendous. If you choose to stay at Petit Ermitage, watch for extra charges that might pop up on your credit card. In my case, these were the problems:

1. They put a hold on my credit card for the room AND parking bundled together. When I then ended up paying for parking in cash at checkout time, they billed the credit card as a separate charge for the room itself. The combo of the hold AND the adjusted, room-only charge nearly maxed out my credit card.

2. There is now a separate, $32 charge on my card that popped up - that amount happens to be the cost of parking which, as mentioned, was paid in cash.

3. There is also a $40 charge that popped up. I can't even begin to imagine what that one is for. I called the hotel (on a Saturday night) to see what the charges are attributed to, and they transferred me to accounting. As most accountants probably don't work Saturday night shifts, I couldn't get an update for a couple days.

Bottom line, don't stay here. They have a slick website, but take particular notice that their "manifesto" is all about "you can do this," rather than "we can do this for you."

UPDATE: As a follow-up, two of the managers called me. They both acknowledged mistakes made and sounded sincere. The $40 charge was for a bottle of WINE that I picked (from a choice of red, white, or champagne) that was included with the Masters Quarter room. A bottle of CHAMPAGNE was in the room on ice when I arrived, however, so I moved that to the mini-fridge and took the bottle of red by the snack bar in the room. I called the hotel when I got home (20 min. after checking out) to let them know I took the red and that the champagne was in the fridge, to make sure they wouldn't bill me in case they overlooked it. I was told it would be no problem and was billed for it regardless.

Judging by some of the other reviews, the hotel can, at times, provide decent service... but let this serve as a notice of the headaches they are also capable of.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doctoro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was referred to this hotel by a friend of mine whose opinion I trust. I was highly disappointed (and so was my friend) in the customer service, cleanliness and responsiveness.

I am planning my birthday party, and I called twice on 2/27 to request to speak to the reservations department. I called 310-854-1114 at 9:56A, and the first time was transferred by a gentleman to the reservations voicemail. I called a second time at 11:45A, spoke to a gentleman (not sure if it was the same one) who said that the reservations department was unavailable and that if I had previously left a message, it would be returned shortly. I never got a call back.

I happened to be the in area the next day and stopped by and asked for the manager. I met the Revenue and Reservations Manager, Mesut Erkoc. I explained to him that I had a party in a few weeks and would like to book 1-3 rooms and maybe the pool side for a party. He all but rolled his eyes as he showed me several rooms. I mentioned to him that I might want to book the pool area for different parties in the future, but that didn't seem to make a dent in his frosty demeanor.

The final straw was when I mentioned that my two calls the day before were not returned. Mesut really didn't have an explanation or apology. Do they NOT need the business that badly that they can't return voicemails on their reservations line promptly?

As a side note, the decor was not my taste but I am really complaining about the service. There was a eaten watermelon rind on the stand in front of the front desk - I mentioned it to Mario at the front desk, and he was nice about it - maybe he should be promoted to Mesut's place.

I am sorry to write a negative review, but I feel that a boutique hotel such as this, charging these rates for tiny rooms with expensive parking ($15 for events, $35 for the night) should have superior service and cater to the customer.

It's too bad that the Special Events Manager, Laryssa Stevens, wrote me an email promptly with information about booking events - because of my experience, I will be booking my birthday celebration somewhere else...too much attitude - not worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amylremax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week while on business. The room was unfortunately very shabby and in my opinion not worth what I was charged to stay in it. The rooftop bar was lovely and staff very helpful, but I was also the only one up there. They could do with a good remodeling as the hotel is in a good location and this could bring them happier guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Spurs 1985,

thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy you enjoyed our Private Rooftop Club with our Garden, heated salt water pool and firedeck, as well as our staff and service. The overall feel and decor of Petit Ermitage, including its suites is based around an antique, bohemian theme and certainly not for everyone, but I assure you, each item in the suite, from the Moroccan mirrors, handwoven Turkish carpets or 618 thread count Egyptian cotton linens is a high-end luxury item and has been picked with the utmost care. I would be happy to give you a tour of some of our suites when you return, so that you can select one you prefer most, as each suite is slightly different from the next. Thank you again for leaving us this note, it is truly appreciated and valued so we can contstantly grow, expand and exceed guest's expectations on future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel was quite unusual to me. It had that homely feel like all the rooms were different and each piece of furniture was handpicked. The pool had a spectacular view of the Hollywood hills. Short walk to restaurants and shops. Found the only Australian-like supermarket here. Actually had a fruit and vegetables section. Make sure you go to Millions of Milkshakes while you're in the area. People staying at the hotel seemed a little pretentious but I later found out it is where alot of actors and actresses (aspiring or otherwise) hang out. Which makes sense while they were all talking on their phones to their "agents" making sure everyone in the pool area could hear. You might even catch a celebrity event if you're lucky, I hear not long after I was there, Chanel (or something like that) held an event at this hotel.

Room Tip: Seems like more of a boutique hotel so I think while all rooms may be different to look at, I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikki-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Rikki-Lee,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review here on our page. We are happy you enjoyed our boutique home, the Private Rooftop Club with its heated salt water pool, and view of the Hollywood Hills. You are absolutely correct in your observation that each piece of furniture, each art work and other element of Petit Ermitage is handpicked to create a home away from home for all of our guests. I personally love that you went to Millions of Milkshakes as this is my little guilty pleasure and am glad you got to explore our neighborhood of West Hollywood. I do apologize about the experience you had upstairs around the pool, our guests are usually very laid back and come to us to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city and shut off their cell phones, so please know this is not the norm or usual occurance here in our home. Rikki-Lee, thank you again for taking the time to write such a detailed review and I do hope to be able to greet you personally next time we have the pleasure of welcoming you as one of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,675 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,671 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 20 in West Hollywood
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,852 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 20 in West Hollywood
558 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Property: Petit Ermitage
Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing