We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“November visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“November visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is great, rooms are nice, workout room is almost non-existent, service is not great. We arrived at 330pm, room was not ready and checking in took forever. No one seemed to know any answers to a couple of questions, one being, is there an ice machine???? Finally someone called us back to let us know we could get ice, if we brought the ice bucket to them, they took it to the kitchen, and got us ice. We also ordered room service and they forgot us, had to call 30 minutes later to find out where food was, and they had to call us back telling us it was on its way, after almost 45 minutes, for a bowl of soup. The upstairs club is nice, nice pool area, food is good. Service was our issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    201
    81
    37
    41
See reviews for
64
355
80
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Amazing-sauce! That's what we bathed in all weekend in this hidden sexy, oasis! Converted apartment building (why didn't I think of that) into an artistic achievement in boutique hotels! Josh, our "butler" greeted and escorted us to our fab room. We sprung for the top floor rooms with a great view of the Hollywood Hills and easy access to the rooftop pool/lounge/sexy-time area! Food was amazing, drinks superb, staff more than accommodating! Great vibes all around! Will most definitely return!

Room Tip: Any room on the top floor is well, tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Petit Ermitage in October. We picked this hotel because of its location and size and were not disappointed. We had room 106 which is on the far end of the first floor of the west wing of the hotel. It was extremely quiet and very comfortable. Eat breakfast on at the roof top restaurant. The food is very good and the view is great. Our only complaint was the flat screen TV in our room had an analog signal so we got a very fuzzy picture. We were told the top floors had cable but our floor did not. Very odd. While it is about 5 miles to any freeway from the hotel, we were close by Santa Monica Blvd and Sunset Blvd. There are some great restaurants within a 2-3 mile radius. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Really lovely little hotel in the heart of West Hollywood. Located near everything. Excellent rooftop entertaining area -- bar, pool, view, comfortable seating. The rooftop restaurant has surprisingly excellent food too and a nice outdoor feel. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FitzFamiily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our first impression was WOW! This is a world class boutique hotel of the first order. We've stayed at other "boutique" hotels before which usually translates as a euphemism for old, rundown and hasn't been refurbished since it was built.

This definitely is not the case with Petit Ermitage. We arrived at night and the entrance and lobby were beautifully lit with candles and vintage lighting. The lobby defies description - you have to see it to believe it. A stunning entry to the hotel is continued throughout the entire hotel.

A genuinely warm and friendly welcome from the front desk staff further reinforced the initial visual impact of the hotel. The staff are all good looking, well mannered, well dressed and well spoken. They are helpful and accommodating in the extreme. The valet parking staff would retrieve our hire car everyday as soon as they saw us walking towards the valet desk without asking our names or room number.

This hotel is a low set building (only 4 storeys) in a quiet residential street between Santa Monica Boulevard and Sunset Boulevard. The first morning in the hotel a very "chatty" squirrel made its presence known to us and entertained us for quite some time with its antics. In terms of location it cannot be beaten. It's close to absolutely everything - Hollywood Boulevard, Graumann's Chinese Theatre, Walk of Fame, The Viper Room, The Ivy Restaurant, Chateau Marmont, Rodeo Drive, the Beverly Center, Beverly Hills, Belair, Universal Studios, Santa Monica Pier and many other Hollywood locations of note.

The rooftop garden is beautifully planted with herbs and flowers. The view over Los Angeles is impressive and unobscured with a selection of daybeds, lounges and assorted seating with faux fur rugs from which to take full advantage. There is a rooftop fireplace which we were grateful for as the nights were cold. The restaurant provides a world class gourmet menu with a comprehensive wine list incorporating local and imported wines. The cocktail list is delicious, interesting and diverse using ingredients that don't at first seem at home in a cocktail glass. Only registered hotel guests and a maximum of two invited non-hotel guests per room are allowed access to the restaurant and rooftop bar which allows the hotel management to maintain the exclusivity and privacy of guests.

Our room, a demi-suite, was huge with thoughtful touches such as a travel-sized handheld clothes steamer that worked as well, if not better, than most hotel steam irons without leaving the usual calcium stains or scorch marks. We loved the steamer so much, we came home and ordered one on online from the same company.

The hallway carpet is a rich deep red with a gold fleur de lysé pattern. The gold pattern from the carpet is partially carried up the wall in gold paint and the lamp-post and pavement (sidewalk) are painted with the same pattern and gold paint. It sounds really kitsch but it's actually beautifully done and enhances the uniqueness of this property, setting it apart from the usual chain hotels.

A pod style coffee maker with a large selection of different coffees, teas and hot chocolates was a welcome addition to the compact and functional kitchen with 4 place settings of crockery, glassware, cutlery, etc.

The fridge was well stocked with a large selection of drinks and a basket of gourmet treats was available for purchase. The mini bar comprised a good selection of half-bottle sized spirits, including a jar of martini olives and a romance kit for couples to enjoy.

A full sized, folding, handheld and powerful hair dryer was included in the bathroom. A very welcome sight from the usual ineffectual wall mounted units found in most hotels. The shower over bath has two shower heads - one handheld and the other large and powerful. Bathroom amenities are luxurious and made from natural products containing essential oils. The bed was extremely comfortable with feather and down pillows.

There's a truly organic feel about this hotel. We loved absolutely everything about it. The staff, the location, the room, the ambience, the food, the other guests (who were extremely social) and the rooftop bar have to be seen and experienced to be believed.

There was a truly exclusive and bohemian feel about this hotel very reminiscent of the golden age of Hollywood. There was nothing pretentious or contrived about the hotel, the staff or the atmosphere. We felt welcome, included and at home.

We can’t fault this hotel in any way and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a memorable hotel stay. It will be our hotel of choice whenever we are in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Book a demi-suite or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliB_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have lived in LA for about 10 months but my mom came to visit and she wanted the whole luxury LA experience. I had heard about the Petit Ermitage from a friend who stays here on her work trips and she spoke wonders about it. Not only is the hotel beautiful on the outside its even more gorgeous inside! The moment you get there the valet guys are the sweetest you will find, and the front desk crew will never steer you wrong. The rooms are BIG, even the smallest one they offer is big! The bed, pillows and covers are the softest and nicest you will find! I slept like a baby! The internet is FREE (WUHOOO) that is hard to find in LA :) You can walk to Santa Monica Blvd Restaurants or venture up the hill to the Sunset Strip. If you want to just lay low head up to the 4th floor and enjoy the enchanting patio and rooftop. It's already getting a little to cold in LA for the pool but I am originally from Miami so anything under 80 is cold :) The food and drinks are great upstairs, the cheese plate is perfect with a glass of wine and some good company. If you have to pick a place in LA DON'T go anywhere else but here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pita121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had high hopes for my stay at the Petit Ermitage. Pictures looked cool, reviews were good - yay. As soon as I arrived I knew this was not my LA home. Pulled up in front of the small entrance way and handed the car to the valet. No one offered to help me with my luggage up the stairs. Front entrance needs a good cleaning and some paint touch ups.

At check in I was told I was upgraded. Who wouldn't want that? Room 109 - right off the lobby next to the ATM. Hmmm. Open the door and say to myself - "Welcome to my dungeon". If you are a night owl, a vampire, afraid of the sun, this is a room for you. The view is of a gate with a stern warning not to unlock and a concrete wall.

The room is spacious with a sofa, a chair, a small table that I used as a desk, a queen bed and a small tv in the wall. They were too cheap to put a swing arm behind the flat screen so sitting on the sofa and watching tv is not really possible - the remote won't even work from that direction.

Bathroom is basic but the shower had good water pressure. Amenities are a mix of no-name and Bigelow.

Tiny closet and ironing board but no iron. I called for an iron and had to sign a release that I would use it appropriately! Hello - I'm a grown up who stays at hotels around the world - all of which provided me with an iron without having to sign for it!

Bed is comfortable and linens are nice - that is the only thing that kept me from checking out and checking in somewhere else. That and the cheap rate. I thought I was getting a good deal but really anything more than what I paid and I would have felt ripped off.

Whoever designed this place has an odd aesthetic - it can't quite decide what it is. I kept thinking "I feel like Kristen Stewart would like this place".

What saves this place is the unique rooftop spaces. I had a nice breakfast up there with friendly service and a delicious omelette.

Room Tip: Avoid 109. Unless you're a vampire. Or Kristen Stewart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elynchking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,396 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Property: Petit Ermitage
Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing