We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner For Two
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My boyfriend & I recently stayed at Petit Ermitage. When we got there we were unable to check in as our room was not ready although we were there after check in time. They invited us to go to the roof top pool & bar to wait which was nice with an amazing view. We were then told after 30min of waiting the wait would be longer and were offered free drinks and food much to the roof top managers dislike which he made quite clear. The rooms were clean but we were put in a room next to the stairs which was used by service staff and other guests the vibration/noise of people walking up and down the stairs was quite disturbing especially when it woke us up in the middle of the night. I agree with the previous review the bell staff were amazing and always went out of their way unlike the desk staff who were quite rude. $15 drink seemed a bit outrageous from the roof top bar. The hotel is in a great location but we didn't feel it was worth the price

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovedesignervintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    201
    81
    37
    41
See reviews for
64
355
80
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed recently for 3 nights, I had high expectations for this little boutique hotel. We even splashed out for the higher grade suite as it was a special occassion. As such I emailed prior to advise and ask fo a nice room with a view. Our view looked straight into an apartment block, in fact you had to struggle to even see the sky so not a good start. Room was average, quite large but a small bathroom with below par amenities. Onto good points, the rooftop pool and bar area was great with views of hollywood - and the bell staff were always attentive and friendly. Unfortunately front desk staff were uninterested, unhelpful and not particularly welcoming. Would recommend it for the location which in the heart of West Hollywood is a great area to stay, but feel there are much better options nearby

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank essendontvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Le Petit Ermitage isn't simply a hotel, it's an experience. There isn't a detail that's neglected - from the sumptuous blankets and flaming lanterns that light the outdoor lounge to the meticulous and attentive staff - I can honestly say I've never enjoyed such charming accommodations. The room was spacious, the food was delicious, the pool was warm and peaceful, and the location was perfect for a little rest and relaxation for my best-friend and I. Our visit was so incredible that we've already booked our return. Kudos, Petit Ermitage, for providing such a stellar stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AinsleyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks and enjoyed it so much. The room has fireplace that warmed me up in the evening. The kitchen is fully equipped with oven which is good if you wanted to bake a pizza. The location is fantastic and only a 15 minutes drive, you can get to Universal Studios, The Grove or the Wholefood market in Beverly Hills. And of course, it's just few minutes walk to sunset strip. The service is wonderful too! I had spent several evening at the rooftop restaurant/club and the staff offered me a fur cloth to keep me warm. The rooftop swimming pool is temperature regulated and the light lit up inside the pool at night made me feel like swimming in a sparkling lagoon. There were free movie at the rooftop every Sunday night and the staff offered me free popcorns! The staff and managers are very professional. They have a very good security tracking system. If you lost something, the tracking system that include video tracing and thorough search by a team could help you narrow down to a successful search.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

During my stay I was made to feel very welcome by the staff and nothing as to much trouble for them.
It had a very personal feel to it & I would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank o-m-j-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Rooms are spacious and nice with plenty of space to store clothing. We were upgraded to a suite which had a large sitting area with gas fireplace and a small patio. Bathroom is well laid out with space to put toiletries and flattering vanity lighting.

Rooftop pool and dining area are quite beautiful. Food and wine selection good. please note, If you are here for business, this is the only public space in the hotel - there is no lobby area. We had a late lunch meeting. I guess we scheduled it during change from lunch to dinner, staff was extremely disruptive. It was clear that they wanted us to leave. Fortunately, we were able to move to the spacious living area in our hotel room.

Ample bell staff, but not helpful. They were too busy yelling at the taxi driver to move his car (even though he was parked right in front of the hotel) to help with bags. I carried my own bags to my room.

I ordered a rental car from the hotel. They had a car delivered to the hotel at a reasonable rate. This is a great service and will save you tons of time. If you pick up a car at lax, there is a long shuttle bus ride to car rental and usually a long line to wait in after that. You can avoid all of this by car delivery to hotel.

No complimentary champagne was offered. No big deal, but it felt kind of stingy since we spent two afternoons at the rooftop restaurant and not a small amount of money. They should not make this offer if they don't plan to follow through

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank v99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed for only one night, wish it could have been longer. The staff was incredible, anticipating all needs without being intrusive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AISW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,396 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Property: Petit Ermitage
Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing