We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find, due to one way streets, but worth it!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
A TripAdvisor Member
“Difficult to find, due to one way streets, but worth it!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2004

My daughter is at USC and said I would love it. I did! I'm in LA alot for work and to see her and now I won't stay anywhere else. The room rates are great , the food and beverages are a bit pricey, but so what! Definately a unique experience and great people watching.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    238
    133
    106
    111
See reviews for
34
202
90
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2004

Checked in on a Friday evening after staying downtown for 3 nights and just had the best weekend there. It's fair to say the rooms are not especially great (Ikea but with a cheaper feel) but the location more than makes up for it. All the fun of Sunset on your doorstep.

Great for chiling around the pool and fun to be had late at night in the "hidden" bar/club. Diner served good breakfast too.

The only small disappointment was that as the clock strikes 1.30am, the bar areas close and everyone leaves. For a seemingly "hip" hotel they should keep it going a bit later!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 3, 2004

We stayed at the Standard on a sunday night. From the moment we pulled up to the driveway I knew that we were in for a pleasant experience. The valet's were very helpful and the people in there were very "Hollywood". All dolled up like there was a photo shoot going on. Everything there looked exactly what it looked like on the website, although I thought it would be a little bit bigger. The room was excellent!! Very nice decorations.. but the mini bar was quite expensive. I've been reading everywhere that the drinks at the bar were out of this world but when we got there I didn't think that way. I guess I'm just used to paying $8-$15 for drinks. They played hip hop all night long (Jay Z).. that was a plus for me cause I love hip hop. After the bar we ate at the Diner. The prices were abit on the high side but well worth it. I got the philly cheese steak.. and it was the BEST!! I wasn't really expecting anything.. so it turned out being good. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to have a good time..

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 19, 2004

I loved the Standard. Everyone that worked there was extremely helpful and friendly - everyone! They went out of there way to help us find our way around town, check out the hottest spots coordinate trip plans. Everything about this hotel was trendy and fun... not to mention the people both working there and staying at the Standard were very good looking :) The only problem was the bottle of water I purchased for $6.50 - WAY OVER PRICED - so bring your own water.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 19, 2004

I took my girlfriend to the Standard this past weekend (5/16-5/17). The place was off the hook. The valet guys were very nice and courteous. We walked in side.. it was just like the pictures on the website. Everyone in the Standard, from the hotel guest to people just hanging out there looked so "Hollywood". Everyone was dolled up like there was some kind of video shoot going on. We had a mishap with the one once we got there but nothing that couldn't be fixed. The room was excellent.. (2nd floor, facing sunset blvd).. the items in the fridge were abit pricey.. the one thing that i did like was the radio/cd player. i thought that was a cool touch. the lounge area was nice.. soft, comfortable chairs.. and YES.. there is a girl just chillin in the display behind the front desk.. the pool area was nice also.. if you plan on doing laps.. the standard pool isn't for you. overall, i liked staying at the standard.. the people were nice, the place was clean.. and its the place to be..

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2004

The Standard is one of the best, if not The best hotel I have ever stayed in. I've stayed in a variety of hotels all over the world from 5 Star to hostels, but have never found a hotel that was as perfect as the Standard. We had only a basic room on the ground floor which does have traffic noise, but I was warned of this in advance by the booking staff. If I ever go there again I will get a back room with a balcony with views, then it will be more than perfect. From the moment of arrival, our cases were whisked to reception and then greeted by a friendly receptionist. This is where the model in the tank is - quite a feature !! The restaraunt is competitively priced and the food tasty and well prepared. Breakfast can be taken on the terrace - a lovely way to start the day by he pool, served by the ever friendly and slightly wacky staff !!

Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
393 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,032 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
980 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Property: The Standard, Hollywood
Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing