We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Standard is an excellent place to stay in West Hollywood. Easy distance to shopping and the sights, as well as the clubs and bars. The hotel itself has a very unique character, lots of high quality artwork and design elements, easily separating itself from the everyday humdrum of 'normal' hotels. The rooms were spacious and well laid out, with a really generous mini bar that didn't cost the earth to use. The food was delicious, and Room Service is available 24/7 for very little cost.
To be very clear, this is not a quiet sleepy hotel where people come for a quiet night in, this is a young and exhuberant hotel, with heaps of live music, DJs playing downstairs most nights, a pool-side crowd every day, in a neighbourhood that runs 24/7. There's a reason you can get good food at 3am on a tuesday, and there is a reason the hotel supplies ear plugs next to your bed.

Room Tip: Strip view rooms are quieter, Pool view rooms make it easier to work out when it's time to hit t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Scott,
Thanks for your recent stay with us. So happy to hear you like our hotel and enjoy the arts and culture of our hotel. That’s the whole idea behind our brand; to incorporate art, culture and neighborhood into the experience of our guests. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    223
    118
    98
    108
See reviews for
32
183
85
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

A really excellent and fun hotel to stay in West Sunset. I was traveling with my teenage daughter and there is absolutely nothing bad to say about The Standard. Everyone working there is professional, friendly and fun. The service is attentive and the energy/atmosphere is young, funky and trendy. Our room was spacious, comfortable, spotless clean and everything worked. Great live music on Wednesday evenings...staff attentive...great breakfasts, awesome design touches. Fun fun fun...Rad place...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giampigiampaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Paolo,

We absolutely love to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. You are our perfect match! I will be sure to a share your compliment to everyone on our team. After all service is our primary product and the experience of our guests are our primary care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Staying at The Standard is always a pleasure, I hadn't stayed there since I lived I So Cal and frequented The Standard Hollywood. The weather was great, the room was huge and the view was epic. Overall we had a great stay at The Standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the standard last October and it was an awesome experience. The hotel is decked out in modern and luxurious finishes... I wish I would've stayed longer just to enjoy the space more. A fully stocked mini bar and quirky (scandalous) touches throughout, made it stand out out of hotels I've stayed in before. Staff is super friendly and attentive... Be aware parking is valet and can get pricey if you have a vehicle.. Otherwise it was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reneewiseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Wanted to mention that Susan at the front desk was exceptionally helpful and kind. I stayed at The Standard on the recommendation of my friend, who assured me there were lots of things nearby to do. Without a car, I was able to walk to many shops along Sunset Plaza, eat/drink at several restaurants and bars in West Hollywood and was even able to get on the local bus as well as the Hop On/Hop Off tour bus at one of their stops near the hotel.

Room service was great and I really liked that it was available at all hours. Nice touch to extend breakfast hours for room service for those of us who sleep in a bit!

Overall, a great stay. The room's only flaw was the bean bag chair. I'm not a fan of those and it would have been great to have real furniture- or at least a real chair in the room. Everything is built in, including the bed/platform. Another tip would be to have a lamp with plugs on the nightstand/shelf or even just an available plug so that a guest could charge their phone by the bed (like the setup I have at home).

I'd definitely stay again. Great experience, even if I still don't understand the whole "girl in the bed in the box" thing... Maybe switch it up occasionally and throw a muscle man in the bed in the box to even it up! :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Standard is funky and cool. Great location. Average service and above average food. Good value for money. Great pool deck that turns into a party in the afternoons. Rooms are nice and well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I am a very picky person and this hotel is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in. The staff is awesome, and the rooms are nice, comfortable and clean. The staff goes out of their way and goes above and beyond to make your stay the great Los Angeles/Hollywood experience. The prices are reasonable for the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting the West Hollywood area. Kudos to John and his team!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#11 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,791 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,501 reviews
West Hollywood
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Property: The Standard, Hollywood
Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing