We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very cool and great value”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I wasn't expecting much from the reviews I had read here but I was told by a friend that it was a great hotel. We weren't disappointed. It's very cool, very LA and very affordable. Great cocktails by the pool. Rooms aren't spectacular but have everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
CassieCobain,

Sounds like you had a great time with us! We aim to provide friendly service, fun environment, quality product while keeping it affordable. That is why we have become home away from home to so many of our guests and a living room or mobile office to our neighbors. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    236
    132
    105
    111
See reviews for
34
200
89
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just came to LA and stayed here with a good friend of mine....located in the heart of the strip, The Standard in Hollywood has so much to offer in addition to its great location. They have a friendly staff, a cafe with great food/drinks, and an eclectic live music scene that happens on Wednesdays, called Desert Nights, which was especially cool...I strongly recommend choosing this as your accommodation when visiting Los Angeles! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We we're on honeymoon and this is not a place to honeymoon! The pool vibe was super gay (which is fine but it surprised me!) the loungers and seats we're very tired and needed updating. The room was large but dated with a huge balcony over looking downtown but no patio furniture?! The air con did not work and it was one million degrees. I felt a little lied to by the website- in reality the rooms we're not 'design' and almost 70's (in a bad way). We we're supposed to stay for 3 nights but checked out after the first night, the room was too hot and I felt like I was staying in Marbella. We checked into the roosevelt and it was amazing! They also upgraded us to a suite for being honeymooners!
You gotta be pretty young to enjoy this place, we felt old at 30. Oh and it would probably be more enjoyable if you were gay too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Amaka1,
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are located in West Hollywood which is very diverse in its population. The city is known for many fun and creative festivities such as Halloween Festival and one of the best and largest Gay Pride Celebration in the West Coast, therefore, our hotel embraces the diversity and our vibe reflects that. We work hard at ensuring everyone of our guest feels a part of this great city. Our design aesthetic is decidedly minimal – rooms are dotted with Andy Worhal’s poppy print drape, custom design wool blanket by a local artist, and custom bean bag chair. We incorporate art into the design rather than displaying. But we understand that our design philosophy isn’t for everyone. And actually, you should not have felt old while staying with us. You’d be surprise at the age range of our regular guests! We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Hollywood hotels

Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I'm just over 30 and I found this place very uncomfortable. Felt like I was sleeping over a relatives house. Didn't feel at home or welcome.

Positives first. It's clean. Here's where the coolest kids hang out. Ppl who stay here have stepped out of a fashion catalogue. The lobby looks like a ikea explosion. Rooms contain a bed, TV, bean bag and an iPod dock. And not much else. Very funky decor. The bathroom has a floor to ceiling mirror to watch yourself shower, poolside there's music and right on site a sexy 24/7 restaurant. Cool kids staff the place- no suits and ties here!! Best mini bar I've ever seen full of amazing goodies from food to CDs to booze to candles and a cactus! Oh and it's in a great location too! If you're a trendy type you'll think this place is cool. It's open 24/7.

Fun....right? Sure. As long as you come for the party and the food then decide to sleep elsewhere!

Negatives: Thin walls. Air con is too hot. You can hear people and music late most nights. From our "quiet" room. No shelves or drawers in the room so had clothing sprawled everywhere. And no kettle or coffee--I was told this was so you spend less time in your room (that you paid for)!! Valet is $34 a day. The bed was comfy but due to noise we couldn't really sleep in it. Was the bean bag to put over our ears to block out the noise??? ;)

For this reason I would advise against staying here. If you want to go to bed at a reasonable hour (like 11pm) you won't get any sleep until the Dj leaves (2am???)

The Standard is like a sky high pair of stiletto heels....really really cute, designed beautifully......great to look at....and you feel good for about an hour in them....but pretty soon you realise it's just not comfortable or practical to stay in them!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AeroDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I used to stay at the Standard hotel regularly from 2003-2006. Eventually I had to stop staying there because the wifi was completely unreliable. I had to stay at the hotel again in Feb 2014 and low and behold.....the wifi is still absolutely useless. Not only that, they charge you $15 to get wifi that constantly breaks down. The staff still has the exact same excuse it had 8 years ago.....The hotel should be ashamed of itself....2014 and no reliable wifi. If you need wifi, like pretty much every human being in the entire world who travels, you unfortunately can't stay at this hotel. It's a real shame because otherwise, it's a great place....if you don't mind the paper thin walls, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Matt,
I am very sorry for the huge inconvenience during your last visit to our hotel. That was a major issue involving our server which took quite a few days to resolve. My colleagues and our IT were working diligently to get the wi-fi up and running. Although you have left, I am happy to report that we were able to resolve the problem and now our guests can connect to wi-fi seamlessly. Please accept my sincere apologies and contact me directly at hollywood@standardhotel.com if there is anything that I can do to recover from this incident. Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very, fun with props and people behind glass posing like in their own world, fun. The plenty of room around the pool to get fresh air at night when the club gets too crowed. I suggest you go there for drinks and chit chat with friends find a good table early. It will get overly crowed.

Room Tip: Make sure to book suites three months prior to your arrival during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debkal4nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have just returned from spending a week at the Standard- I have stayed here maybe fifteen times now- and the highlight of my stay was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. The Standard might not be to everyones taste, friends of mine stayed at the Beverley Hilton and The Standard is the antithises of that type of hotel. But i know which i prefer, within a couple of days at the Standard you begin to feel like you know the staff and they know you. It can get a bit crazy at the weekends around the pool area, but during the week it is perfect to just chill. The only downside is that non hotel guests tend to use the pool, and there no priority given to hotel guests, i saw one guy come in from outside with his Starbucks coffee and take up a sun lounger and spend the morning enjoying the facilities. Also with it being Hollywood there are some people who seem to think we all want to hear their conversations in order to get how important they are, that aside I look forward to my next visit to the Standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,678 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
385 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,018 reviews
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Property: The Standard, Hollywood
Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing