We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Excellent view of LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Staff, Excellent view of LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff was exceptional, from the Front Desk to the Director of Finance. The entire place was a work of art. Great location. Great pool and bar area. My room overlooked the city of LA from the hills of Hollywood. Valet guys remembered you, and looked out for your vehicle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    231
    130
    102
    110
See reviews for
34
196
88
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. Well located to lots of amenities in walking distance. Gym, restaurants, clubs all within walking distance. There is always amazing music playing and always someone to help you to your next drink. Valet service was always prompt. The hotel was not terribly busy, so I would be worried at the level of service during peak times. Make sure you tell the maid on your floor that you're leaving for the day and need your room cleaned-one day it was not cleaned at all. I will be back at this hotel right away. Plan to spend lots of time by the pool.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Weider P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. So glad to her that you found our service, location and bed satisfactory! I am so sorry that your sleep was affected by the noise. On your next visit, please contact the hotel directly so we can make sure you have a nice room, away from the noise sources. Sure hope to see you again soon….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was just ok...I have stayed at better in LA, and the price was too much for the quality and standard of this place. The decor was so outdated, the top blankets were made of some strange material, and it was just weird in general, we only stayed here because the Grafton was sold out.. The shower was the best part of the room, and the 2 pm check out time was not so shabby either..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HusnaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Husna,
I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy our hotel. We are constantly working on improving our product and services to enhance our guests’ experience. Glad you mentioned our shower…..everyone loves it! The blanket in our rooms are made of wool and is a proud collaboration with Geoff McFetridge- a visual artist based in Los Angeles, famous for his minimal, yet extremely expressive paintings, illustrations and animations. A duvet is also placed on our beds for those who do not care for the texture of wool. Thank you for taking the time to share your candid thoughts with us and other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and timeless. Especially the swimming pool area's facade. It feels like something out of Mad Men. The room we stayed in was also very special. Beautifully decorated and put together. Staff was always courteous and receptive. The bar staff was also really nice. As were the valet parking boys.
If you are not into nightlife and or music, this is not the place for you. They have live bands almost every night and pump music around the pool area until late. But if you are after a good time and amazing cocktails, this is the place for you. Right at the heart of Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hannah… we are so happy your choose to share one of your most important events of your life with us. We cannot wait to have you back again and again… perhaps on your anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon, we had two days in LA. This was my second visit to this hotel, its young hip and fun! Cool pool area and friendly staff, this hotel has a great vibe. The rooms are pretty simple but have everything you need with a cool mini bar.
Would definitely stay in this hotel for a third time if I get the opportunity!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great hotel in West Hollywood. Laid back pool and fashionable Hollywood vibe in this hotel. Rooms are contemporarily furnished. The hotel gave me a free upgrade to the Extra Large Sunset Room which was on the Ground Floor. It was huge and just next to the entrance to the pool but not noisy at all. Great waiter service by the pool and a nice little menu in the restaurant. I can't really say anything bad about this place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Sarah,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you and come back and visit soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my third stay at the Standard, and there's a reason I keep going back. Love the minimalist chic decor, the friendly staff, and just the overall vibe.

This was a really nice touch: I came back to my room one day to find that the housekeeper (Rena? Rina?) had gone above and beyond with my room! My shoes were all lined up, my clothes (which I had just tossed on a chair) were folded -- just really organized in a way that required extra thought. I got such a kick out of this! It's the little things like this that keep me coming back.

Hope to get back there again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Diane,
Thanks for the Shout-Out! It was truly a pleasure having you and your team with us. We are all excited that you enjoyed your stay and can’t wait to have you back… come back and see us soon! BTW- Rina is one of our best thanks for the recognition I will be sure to share you kind words with her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#9 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Property: The Standard, Hollywood
Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing