We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60s”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“60s”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and timeless. Especially the swimming pool area's facade. It feels like something out of Mad Men. The room we stayed in was also very special. Beautifully decorated and put together. Staff was always courteous and receptive. The bar staff was also really nice. As were the valet parking boys.
If you are not into nightlife and or music, this is not the place for you. They have live bands almost every night and pump music around the pool area until late. But if you are after a good time and amazing cocktails, this is the place for you. Right at the heart of Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hannah… we are so happy your choose to share one of your most important events of your life with us. We cannot wait to have you back again and again… perhaps on your anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    232
    130
    103
    111
See reviews for
34
196
88
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon, we had two days in LA. This was my second visit to this hotel, its young hip and fun! Cool pool area and friendly staff, this hotel has a great vibe. The rooms are pretty simple but have everything you need with a cool mini bar.
Would definitely stay in this hotel for a third time if I get the opportunity!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great hotel in West Hollywood. Laid back pool and fashionable Hollywood vibe in this hotel. Rooms are contemporarily furnished. The hotel gave me a free upgrade to the Extra Large Sunset Room which was on the Ground Floor. It was huge and just next to the entrance to the pool but not noisy at all. Great waiter service by the pool and a nice little menu in the restaurant. I can't really say anything bad about this place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Sarah,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you and come back and visit soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my third stay at the Standard, and there's a reason I keep going back. Love the minimalist chic decor, the friendly staff, and just the overall vibe.

This was a really nice touch: I came back to my room one day to find that the housekeeper (Rena? Rina?) had gone above and beyond with my room! My shoes were all lined up, my clothes (which I had just tossed on a chair) were folded -- just really organized in a way that required extra thought. I got such a kick out of this! It's the little things like this that keep me coming back.

Hope to get back there again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Diane,
Thanks for the Shout-Out! It was truly a pleasure having you and your team with us. We are all excited that you enjoyed your stay and can’t wait to have you back… come back and see us soon! BTW- Rina is one of our best thanks for the recognition I will be sure to share you kind words with her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was just standard at a high price. The air con had 2 settings which sounded like you were on an airplane. The pool was very small nothing like on sex and In the city. It was trying to be very hip but I guess I prefer luxury at that price. Ten min walk will get you to some fancy restaurants but everyone needs a car in LA so I can't comment on the location. Next time I'll stay in Santa Monica even if it's more expensive... There's more to do there and you have the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stgeorge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
stgeorge79,
Thank you for your recent visit
to The Standard, Hollywood. Yes you are right; our pool was feature in Sex and the City. Amazing how lighting and angles can make our pool looks slightly larger. But the reality is space is premium on Sunset Strip so hotel pools in this area tend to be smaller than that of beach-city hotels. What our pool lacks in size, it makes up in personality and vibrancy. It is one of the best pools in West Hollywood with good menu, great cocktail program and friendly service. To address our in-room temperature control, we realize that some of the room can get a bit noisy when the AC is at maximum capacity, especially during the warmer months. We are working on solution to this matter. Again, thanks for your candid feedback, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently stayed at The Standard once again... And it was a great stay, just as it was when I first stayed at this property a little over 10 years ago...
Not a bit of it's style has faded. And it's just my style: Understated but very cool, Minimalist but with everything you could need on hand.
My room was extremely comfortable, and it felt clean and the bed was crisp... Aaah yes!
The room's Mini bar has to be one of the better and most thoughtfully stocked minibars in hotel-world-land..! - With all types of actually useful goodies. Wow.
All staff were very efficient and friendly and helpful, regardless of their role.
The Diner has an awesome breakfast, Room service was fab (and it did not take ages to arrive!) and I loved the bars... Including as always some new happening, an art exhibition or something going on at the pool... Nice work Mr. Darryl Gibson (Culture and Nightlife).
The neighbourhood is great, near Sunset Plaza, between Beverly Hills and Hollywood.. Can't get better. Little further: Some of LA's great shopping is at handy to everything.

If you want your stay in LA to be great, chic, crsip and definitely value for what you're paying... Look no further, this is the place, and it has been for over 10 years.
Peace out.

Room Tip: Check out the oversized rooms with an extra big balcony on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Sacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights.
I got upgraded to a larger sized room!
Rooms are really clean
Great location – really nice bars within walking distance
Hire car pick-up and drop-off right across the road
Really nice breakfast at the diner
There is a really good chophouse across the road called The Saddle Ranch (nice food, great bar and mechanical bull riding)
Awesome pool that becomes a bit of a party as the day goes on

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Property: The Standard, Hollywood
Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing