We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, Stylish, and Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Standard is my FAVORITE hotel on the Sunset Strip. The staff is incredibly attentive, very knowledgeable of the local area, and in general, just fun! You can really tell they love their jobs, and it makes all the difference. We were upgraded to a room with a wrap-around balcony, offering stunning views of LA. Really made for a romantic evening. Love the iPod player in the room and all the small touches - it's a sassy hotel that's for sure! The pool deck is a great way to unwind (or start your evening off right!). And the restaurant? Amazing food! All in all, great things to say. Very affordable and very awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Front Office Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Rachel,

We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very fortunate to have the team of staff that we do. The design aesthetics and the various programming we curate for our guests are important part of the experience we provide to our guests but our primary focus is our SERVICE.. We can't wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for The Standard, Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 846 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stay here ,simple , clean ,fantastic service , prices are super !!!!
if you stay here and is your first time in california ,the front desk will send you to the best places,clubs,restaurants ,they have a #1 service .

Room Tip: top floor .
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDC0066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Standard is not known as a family hotel but we took our teenagers (15 and 17) and they loved it as much as we did. All the staff were extremely kind and helpful which as everyone knows is the most important part of first impressions in a hotel which is new as it was to us. Even though there was some refurbishment going on, once in our rooms we enjoyed the space, the great showers and a feeling of calm. The beds are really really good quality. As we were in LA for two short visits (one night and then another two) we only had one meal in the hotel but it was excellent. Their position on Sunset is a good central place from which explore and shop. I would certainly return to The Standard and look forward to that very much.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucykiwiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our first time and we were not disappointed! The room cost was mid range for the Sunset Strip hotels. So it is perfect if you don't want to spend a lot of money for your room but still want a cool and interesting place to stay. The Decor is modern and minimal. Cool art installation in the lobby. The staff are friendly. Valet and Desk staff are a fun group of people with personalities. They are casual and easy going yet efficient and responsive with any request we had. Jon at the front desk brought us a round of cocktails because our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 10:30am (check in time is 4 pm). BTW we got into our rooms even before 11 am. The valet guys were always around to greet us and checked on us if we needed anything.
This is not a hotel for you if you expect the 'yes sir or yes ma'am' kind of service of yesteryears. Not to say there is anything wrong with that kind of service; just not mine. The service here is more personal and unpretentious, the staff here are more approachable and friendly which made the experience more enjoyable for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi David T,

We certainly are glad you gave us a try as well. It's nice to see you were well taken care of while you waited for your room and even better to see you were able to check in early!

We couldn't have described our staff and our service better than you did and we hope you will come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

we stayed here in Oct 2012 after a friend recommended it to us , we had just come from Las Vegas so was a bit tired ! when we checked in they said we had booked one large bed for 3 of us ! they said there was nothing they could do ,and i had to go through the people we booked with we were to tired to argue so went to our room for asleep , we then went down to complain and they moved us rooms but we had to pay the difference , so when booking check the rooms !apart from this the hotel was amazing , in really good area and really cool its not like any hotel ive stayed in before with little surprises ! i would come back and recommend to all my friends

Room Tip: check when booking how many beds are in the room !!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEVERLEYANNE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great weekend at The Standard. We booked one of their standard rooms with the view of Downtown and it was a great value. The view from our balcony was really worth the few extra dollars. The bed was very very comfortable and the shower in the bathroom .... amazing. The best part of our stay; however, was the staff. Everyone at the front desk the we came across was very nice and helpful. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My stay at The Standard on Sunset was great. I did not know what to expect but now I know that I love this place. The hotel is mimimal but the room I had was very comfortable, the bed EXTREMELY comfortable and the view from my room was great. Interesting mini bar items as well. The best part though is their staff. I feel that they care and worked hard at taking care of us. The food is also very good, but Room service can be a bit slow. People at the Front Desk has great attitude and always took the time to show me where to go and what to do etc. I don't think that The Standard is the right hotel for everyone but for the maket they are aiming for, I think they do a great job. It's a fun hotel with lots of fun/cool people working hard at provide great service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
403 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,949 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $230 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing