We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trendy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A quite nice hotel on Sunset, with big rooms, comfortable beds and a nice swimming-pool area. Trendy and cool, but really noisy. So perfect for young adults who want to have fun.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisLea_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for The Standard, Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 846 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

The standard is a fun hotel that has a rockstar like feel

Room Tip: best to have a room that faces west hollywood as there are great view off sunset blvd and if possibl...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The room was enormous, which was great but could have done with a proper bed for our daughter rather than have her sleeping on the sofa, it's not as is there wasn't enough space for an extra bed! Having booked a family room, we were a bit disappointed that they had forgotten to make up the 3rd bed (or sofa), but all was resolved with a quick phone call to reception. Queen size bed was very comfortable, bathroom fine, very nice shower. I thought the decor was a bit weird but my husband tells me it's hip and trendy! Swimming pool and area clean and tidy. The lady sat in the glass cabinet behind reception every night was a bit odd, not sure why they did that, but hey-ho, it is L.A. after all!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSPCheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This place just feels cheap.. I know they are going fora really hip vibe but it just feels cold and as if they spent no money on the room .. Yet the bed was comfortable and the shower is fairly nice. Everything else is just weird.. It could have been done so much better and still have been different and modern. It just felt like a larger college dorm room. Hard place to describe. I would stay at the best western down the st.. Same price and not so weird.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

It's on Sunset and it costs a bunch of money but there's a model sleeping in a glass cage behind reception and the wine isn't too expensive. The pool area is really cool and the rooms are super retro, minimalist and fun. If you've got the money, do it, but beware of the club downstairs. You'll hear the partying wherever you're trying to sleep, so join in or put up with it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raziqrauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was my third stay at The Standard, Hollywood, so by this stage it's starting to feel like home.

I really enjoy the laid-back vibe, and the atmosphere pool side is so much fun that I don't feel as though I'm "wasting" a day in a foreign city lounging there all day.

On this visit I booked into one of the "medium" sized rooms (which like all rooms I've had at this property, was massive), and really enjoyed the city view, having looked over Sunset Blvd on previous visits.

The updated bathroom was very funky, but I found not having a soap holder or ledge in the shower a little impractical.

Love the menu- great mix of comfort food when required as well as lighter options (better for the aforementioned poolside lounging).. Great value too..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annanotherthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Well The Standard lives up to its name.... Everything is kind of 70s standard. Sparsely decorated, the bathroom was very average. Feels like an old hotel that's been very well marketed.

There are a number of good restaurants and bars nearby though, which is good for LA and not having to always drive. Good location in that sense. Overall, we enjoyed the stay - and the balcony overlooking LA to downtown was cool - but we stayed at the Roosevelt later in our holiday and preferred that...

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank desktraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
402 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,947 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $231 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing