We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - better if internet worked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel - better if internet worked”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Quiet and nice clean boutique hotel,reasonably priced for location. Our first room was street level which for the price felt like a basement and we requested a move - In this room the internet did not work at all which was disappointing. After moving rooms the new room was much better, high quality and quiet accommodation. However, the wifi/internet connection was quite weak still and seems to have been a problem for a while at the hotel which has an open connection (no password). No excuse really for a high end California hotel in 2013 - should be a very simple thing to get right and inexpensive. quite an inconvenience for international guests

Room Tip: avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottjmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDouponce, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Scottjmcg.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Chamberlain. I am pleased our team was able to accommodate your room change request. We did experience an internet issue during your stay and I do apologize for that inconvenience. We very much appreciate your business. Hope to see you on your next visit to our area. Please feel free to contact me personally for any future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    493
    153
    64
    49
See reviews for
301
521
124
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at The Chamberlain last weekend while in town for a concert at the Hollywood Bowl. The property is nicely situated in West Hollywood and was an easy cab ride to anywhere we wanted to go. Sat by the rooftop pool for a while and enjoyed the views and ambiance. Our room was large and nicely appointed with a good size bathroom and seating area. The staff members we interacted with were all very helpful and polite. Would definitely stay at The Chamberlain again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDouponce, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Jessica Q.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Chamberlain in West Hollywood. We do have a terrific central location for easy access to so many things to do in the LA area.Thank you for acknowledging our staff, we are fortunate to have such a great team. We do look forward to seeing you again soon and very much appreciate your patronage and taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I don't get all the reviews. I was expecting the best after reading the reviews, but very disappointed.

Nice neighbourhood although not much to do in a walking distance, well I guess it's LA and people don't walk.

Showed up at the hotel, no bell man to help carrying the luggages although I was travelling with my wife and baby daughter, so couple suitcases that I had to bring over to the room by myself after a quick check-in.

I booked a large room with a kitchenette and large living room. No complaint with the size of the living room and bathroom, but comparably the bedroom was tiny and we could barely fit the crib next to the bed not to mention the lack of space for the suitcases.

The rooms were surprisingly dark, but probably had to do with the proximity of other buildings in this particular residential neighbourhood and the fact that the hotel is a low raise building. Still, not pleasant to put the lights on during the day I would say.

Room service was way below average although quick. Ordered food couple of times and never a good experience. Staff was always in a hurry, dropping the tray on the table and not setting up the tables or doing anything else but collecting the tab.
Food was average at best.

Dinner table was dirty and seems like never clean, with a ton of finger print, not ideal to have a meal in the room.

Stayed at the Sofitel in beverly hills the time before and certainly a more pleasant experience as far as service.

Won't stay there again,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDouponce, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Christophe L.
Thank you for your business and taking the time to review your stay at The Chamberlain. I do find it disappointing to not have the opportunity to discuss any issues personally that may arise when a guest is on property. We do offer various size suites and we certainly would have made every effort to accommodate your needs. We do hope you will visit us again in the future and I invite you to contact me personally and I will make sure we take excellent care of you and your family. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived in town and did not get a car rental, unheard of in LA! The Chamberlain is a perfect location to be convenient to shopping and wonderful dining. Situated in a lovely quiet neighborhood, the best of all worlds. Any questions we had were promptly answered and everyone was always courteous. We felt completely safe in the area and had no reservations walking home from dinner. Very comfortable rooms with attention to detail. Guests can tell when the staff is happy in the job they are doing because they do it well with seemingly no effort. Sadly it was time to leave and we had a very early flight. Thanks to Maynor, we were able to get a cab quickly. We said our goodbyes and most certainly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmac49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDouponce, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear cmac 49.
Thank you for the great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt The Chamberlain was "the best of all worlds". I appreciate you acknowledging our team and the shout out to Maynor. I will share your feedback. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Travel a lot to the LA area and I finally found my home, only complaint is it took me as long as it did to find Chamberlain. First impression is cool, chic, so you'd think nice hotel but snobby LA hotel (there are a few snobby hotels in the area), not at all at Chamberlain!!! Stayed on property for a few days midweek for work, and everyone I came across was polite and courteous, of course, but more than that they were attentive and friendly. Tara is a gem in the restaurant, and Eric and Brad at the desk were great and quick with excellent dining recommendations and shopping suggestions (so many!). The room is stylish and spacious, the pool deck is amazing. Cool enough to host a pool party but intimate enough to sit on the deck and read quietly. The hotel is quiet and discreet, quite a feat when you consider it is located in the middle of where everything is. Beautiful product, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, chic details, but what you get at Chamberlain is a staff that takes pride in their hotel and genuinely want you to enjoy the facility they put so much work into. Keep doing what you are doing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDouponce, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Chester R.
Thank you for the perfect review! I am so pleased you found a new home and had the opportunity to enjoy some of our amenities. The staff here are really nice, and focused on service and having a little fun at work. You stated it perfectly they take "pride in the hotel". The attention to each guest is what makes our hotel special, and I am delighted you were able to connect with Tara, Eric and Brad. I always love it when team members are recognized by name. Many thanks for your comments and patronage.

See you again soon. Not sure what room you were in however it sounds as if you liked the layout. Contact me personally for any future reservation and we will hold that same room type for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel from the minute we arrived and were greeted and swiftly checked in by Eric at the Front Desk. We had a fabulous room with all of the amenities that you would expect from a property of this stature. The location is perfect for our visit, just out of the way in a quit little quaint neighborhood yet in close proximity to everything. All of the staff members that we came in contact with were friendly and professional; from housekeeping and valet to Tara and the rest of the staff in the bistro.

I would highly recommend this property. My only disappointment was that we could only stay for two days!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mpickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDouponce, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear mpickett,
Hello. Thank you very much for staying with us. I really appreciate you acknowledging Eric and Tara, two of our outstanding team members. We have a great caring staff however I am always so delighted when anyone receives a shout out. Thank you for the high recommendation, and on your next visit we too hope it will be longer.

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had a two night business trip to LA and knew I wanted to stay in West Hollywood. The Chamberlain offers a great location with the benefit of being just off the Sunset Strip, set a few blocks down in a quiet residential neighborhood. The rooms were large and clean, staff service was very friendly and the hotel's restaurant was quiet, classy and had great food. The rooftop pool was great. Parking had an underground entrance that had a mini lobby and elevator at the valet stand....very convenient and very safe late at night. Great value at this hotel....would absolutely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDouponce, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Larry S.
Thank you for that detailed and glowing review. It was great to hear that your stay was such a relaxing and happy one, although short. Your descriptions of the location, amenities and services of The Chamberlain will, I think, be of great help to anyone researching our property for the first time. So pleased you were able to also enjoy our Bistro.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Please contact me personally should you need any help with reservations.

Thank you so much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,814 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,002 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
984 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
957 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain West Hollywood

Property: Chamberlain West Hollywood
Address: 1000 Westmount Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4142
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly located on a residential, tree-lined street in West Hollywood amid the exciting Sunset Strip and the bustling Santa Monica Boulevard, our eclectic West Hollywood boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of glamour, comfort and impeccable service. The dramatic style, unique ambiance and convenient location of our West Hollywood accommodations make it an ideal choice for a relaxing extended visit or a short LA getaway for both business and leisure travelers. Step into the glamorous 80s with our avant-garde decor complete with intricate brass detailing, cool hues with rich gold and chocolate accents and a chic retro feel. The Chamberlain West Hollywood boutique hotel features 114 spacious suites, an exclusive chic Bistro, in suite dining plus a stunning rooftop setting with 360-degree panoramic views of the Hollywood hills and elegant spaces for intimate events, private dinners or corporate meetings. Roof top pool offers private cabanas, dining and bar service. Our full service hotel also offers a complimentary 24 hour state of the art fitness center and a 24 hour business center with both MAC and PC's. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chamberlain West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Chamberlain Hotel West Hollywood
West Hollywood Chamberlain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing