We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid hotel, but still lacks some basic features.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chamberlain West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A solid hotel, but still lacks some basic features.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The website presents this hotel in a higher standard than it probably is. Photos can be deceiving.

Attention to details is low. Additional wifi cost is substandard ($11 per 24 hrs), when wifi is a base feature of most hotels.

Staff could not provide much detail on public transport. There is no concierge desk and there is low staff levels, meaning a wait to speak to anyone for directions or help. However, the staff were very polite and helpful.

The room was too hot, with air con that came and went. The room lighting is too dim to see what you were doing. The ipod speakers did not work. A large fabulous TV for the few moments of downtime we had to use it.

The room is massive, a big plus.

The room cleaning failed to empty an overflowing bin and dirty plates.

You sink delightfully into the pillows, however these proved to be too soft and low throughout the night.

The room was noisy with a pump like thumping intermittent.

The pool is much smaller than appearance. A basic pool that presents well. Maybe only 20 lounges or less.

No big issues on the whole, a string of small things that added up to a good but standard experience. I guess we just expected a really swish hotel based on the pictures, but did not quite get that experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alalryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly L, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear alalryan,

Thank you for choosing the Chamberlain West Hollywood. I’d like to personally apologize to you since you feel our photos do not adequately represent our property. I can assure you that they are an accurate representation of what the Chamberlain has to offer but do understand if you feel differently. We do charge additionally for wireless internet but do have several packages that include that and parking that we offer as well.

Public transportation in Los Angeles in not as highly used as in other cities but that is changing so I will be sure that our Front Desk staff brushes up on this for the future.

We do feel that we have an adequate number of Front Desk staff members to be able to assist our guests in a timely fashion but I do apologize if you had to wait longer than you felt was appropriate in order to get assistance from one of them.

Our rooftop pool typically has sufficient seating for our hotel guests and we do always have our large Grand Cabana and smaller Demi Cabanas available for a small rental/minimum as well.

In regards to the other issues you faced – I wish that they would have been brought to our attention while you were here as we would have been able to assist then. I’m happy to discuss items further if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel, however.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Sincerely,

Chad Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    437
    128
    56
    43
See reviews for
237
435
104
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great quite location off of Sunset Blvd. Walkable distance to good restaurants and clubs. From the outside, it looks like a residential condo complex.
The rooms are large and modern. Rooms have a fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Birdflu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location wise, this is pretty bang on for getting around to anywhere quickly. We stayed here for our first trip to Hollywood as the location was ideally suited to our needs. While we was happy to travel around in the day to the sights, we wanted to go out and explore the local restaurants and bars of Weho at night. Lovely quiet location but only a stones throw away from Sunset Blvd and surrounding eateries. I would really have to recommend 24 Kitchen on Santa Monica Blvd as I have never been able to get such great tasting food from any restaurant at 1am!!
The Hotel itself has potential to be great and the staff do try their best to help you with whatever you need - the valet guys where especially helpful and always had time for a chat and to recommend and local places of interest.
Parts of the hotel do feel a bit dated and there is the odd smell which although not expected, did not continue into the bedroom and in no way had a bearing on the enjoyment of our stay.
The bar was annoying at times as you would hand over $20 for a couple of drinks and they would never have any change. One evening there was not change in the whole hotel and ended up charging it to the room which we was trying to avoid. This happened 3 times during our weeks stay so decided to venture out instead.
The rooftop pool was a lovely viewing platform to see the city and was a wonderful place to go and get some peace and quiet.
Overall we had a nice stay at the Chamberlain and was a great experience for our first visit. Highly recommend for anyone wishing to stay purposely in weho. A very nice hotel that has little improvements needed to reach the standards it is aiming for but is still full of character, charm and a location to die for,

Room Tip: Our room faced inwards so there was no view but we was only in it to sleep. If you are concerned ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great room, loved the kitchenette and living room. Was indeed very comfortable. The staff was excellent and accommodating. The pool at the roof was a great haven. Everything is close by. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was perfect for my needs - full kitchenette and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icelandsst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

They lost my reservation and i had a confirmation number, had no rooms available, made a huge deal about giving me a slightly bigger room, which smelled odd, was musty, and was missing electricity in the right half. The bar and restaurant are lame and the crowd is awkward. I'm not sure why it has positive rating or reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agent10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Located in a quiet, upscale neighborhood just a block and a half away from all the action on Santa Monica Blvd. Easy walk to tons of choices of restaurants, Trader Joe's, bars and shops. Santa Monica Blvd takes you to (or close to) all the main tourist areas -- Hollywood, Beverly Hills, TV/movie studios, Sunset Blvd etc. Hop on the 405 or 101 to get Downtown, the Getty Center, Mulholland Drive, the beach and the Pacific Coast Highway.
The Executive Suite felt like a small apartment (no kitchen). Our room was quiet except one time when the music from the next room was loud for a few minutes. The bed was softer than we like, but the sheets were fantastic. The staff couldn't be friendlier, including the Valet guys. Yes, Valet is the only option at $36/night, so budget it into your trip. We never had to wait more than a minute to get our car. Do inspect your bill at checkout. We found three charges that were not ours. They were removed without question.
Overall, a very good experience staying at Chamberlain West Hollywood.

Room Tip: Be specific about your priorities. We ended up in a great room that was quiet. We didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very cute and cozy. The restaurant is amazingly cute with friendly staff. We were a little nervous about using our credit card as there were many reviews concerning charges appearing months later, double charging, etc. We just checked out today, so cannot really speak to that experience yet. Some idiot posted that he was charged for shampoo...well the bottles are huge, so I would have charged him too and there is a sign right next to shampoo warning of charge if you remove from room.

Overall, the value and room is worth it. The pool and view was great with super chic cabanas to use. The drinks were delicious too, but they need to get salt for the margaritas! :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,396 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain West Hollywood

Property: Chamberlain West Hollywood
Address: 1000 Westmount Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly located on a residential, tree-lined street in West Hollywood amid the exciting Sunset Strip and the bustling Santa Monica Boulevard, our eclectic West Hollywood boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of glamour, comfort and impeccable service. The dramatic style, unique ambiance and convenient location of our West Hollywood accommodations make it an ideal choice for a relaxing extended visit or a short LA getaway for both business and leisure travelers. Step into the glamorous 80s with our avant-garde decor complete with intricate brass detailing, cool hues with rich gold and chocolate accents and a chic retro feel. The Chamberlain West Hollywood boutique hotel features 114 spacious suites, an exclusive chic Bistro, in suite dining plus a stunning rooftop setting with 360-degree panoramic views of the Hollywood hills and elegant spaces for intimate events, private dinners or corporate meetings. Roof top pool offers private cabanas, dining and bar service. Our full service hotel also offers a complimentary 24 hour state of the art fitness center and a 24 hour business center with both MAC and PC's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chamberlain West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Chamberlain Hotel West Hollywood
West Hollywood Chamberlain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing