We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning! Mandatory 36 dollar per night valet charge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chamberlain West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warning! Mandatory 36 dollar per night valet charge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is cute and in a good neighborhood - and the staff was very friendly with the exception of the valet. No where when you make reservations does it tell you - nor did the front desk inform me that the only parking was valet and the charge was 36 a day ... That's beyond pricey for an already pricey hotel! Also I was disappointed that the poolside bar was not open at all and the poolside seating was slim .and there was no drawer or closet space - however the room was huge with a comfy little living room and a couch in addition to two double rooms- Overall it's a cute hotel - just be prepared for the extra charges - including Internet charges of 10 a day

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azlawher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhaut, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Azlawher,

Thank you for your choosing the Chamberlain West Hollywood for your stay! Parking in West Hollywood is very limited due to most areas being in residential neighborhoods which require permits to park on the street. The $36 valet parking is comparable to the other West Hollywood Hotels. I do apologize if the Front Desk did not verbally mention the fee and will speak with them to ensure they follow proper procedure with check-ins. The fee is listed on the registration form that every guest must sign and initial upon check in. We do close the Rooftop Bar during the winter months (food and beverage can still be ordered through room service, however) but have since reopened it within the past 2 weeks since the weather has been great! As you know the Rooftop is very intimate and we have put as much seating as we’re able to as to ensure our guests are able to enjoy the incredible views! We do also have packages available throughout the year that include both parking and internet and really are a great value! Again, thank you for your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss anything further.

Sincerely,

Chad Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    447
    132
    56
    43
See reviews for
246
449
106
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and 10min walk from Sunset Blvd.
It is decorated with mostly black and white geometric patterns which I personally didn't care for. It didn't look contemporary but odd.

Our room was spacious except the tiny bathroom. There is barely enough space to put one person's items. At least the shower had excellent water pressure.

The bed was very comfortable and combined with the quiet location we slept very well.

Another highlight was the exceptionally friendly staff. Although the Bistro kitchen seemed a bit slow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klaus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhaut, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear D4RTS,

Thank you for your review of the Chamberlain West Hollywood. We appreciate the feedback in regards to the décor and size of the bathroom. While most of our guests enjoy the eclectic nature of the hotel we do understand that it may not be everyone’s taste. Our standard Deluxe Suites are 350 square feet which is a great size for Los Angeles and does have a separate living and bedroom area which is a really great feature! Since the rooms are smaller than our larger suites the bathroom, too, is smaller but our guests tend to find this acceptable. I am happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your time with us and do hope that you choose the Chamberlain West Hollywood the next time you travel to Los Angeles!

Sincerely,

Chad Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Walking into the Chamberlain West Hollywood had a "Glamour Hollywood" feel. The decor was inspiring, the associates were excellent, the room was a dream getaway. Minutes away from all the fun and charming places that Hollywood has to offer. The room had a beautiful decor style that was phenomenal. It was clean and spacious with a living room, fireplace, master bed area, balcony, and bathroom. This is the place to stay in Hollywood if you want a 5 star hotel, service and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've been to LA a few times and always struggled to find a nice hotel at a decent price. This boutique hotel is nestled in behind Santa Monica Bvld on a quiet street. The rooms are great and at least mine was very large with a big sitting area, king size bed and a great shower. I'd come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank causemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Chamberlain is style with no substance - water is luke warm, every time you turn around they want to charge you for shampoo and bottled water - even the Hilton garden in has free wifi! So tacky and unsophisticated - if you charge $350 night during the week in the off season, have some service - would have been better off paying $425 for 4 seasons and had a nice experience -

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilykatemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhaut, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Emilykatemaine,

Thank you for choosing the Chamberlain West Hollywood. I’d like personally apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations as we pride ourselves in the service we offer our guests. I only wish you would have spoken with our Front Office Manager or I prior to your departure as many of these service issues could have been alleviated during your stay. Please contact me directly so we may discuss these and any issues you had in further detail.

Sincerely,

Chad Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great location in West Hollywood, so walking distance to a ton of restaurants and bars. Room was decorated nicely and was larger than I expected. Happy hour at their bar as well! Great view from the rooftop pool as well!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesJdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived at The Chamberlain where our arrival was met with a lovely reception from the staff and this service continued throughout our 3 night stay.

The hotel itself is situated in a residential area of West Hollywood so it doesn't look like your typical hotel outside. It is in easy driving distance of Sunset and is a decent central location to all the LA sites so a good base.

The inside was beautiful and has been decorated to a very high standard. Our room again was lovely, very big with Kingsize bed, sofa and coffee table area. The bathroom was small and our only gripe was that the automatic lights kept going on and off whilst in the shower which was very annoying and the air con was noisy but I am being picky now!

We ate breakfast in the restaurant which was delightful with a small patio and the food was excellent.

Our car was parked in the valet, albeit for the fee of $35 per nigth but this is pretty standard in LA so we couldn't grumble.

LA is huge, all the sites are very spread out so being in a good location is a must and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,447 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain West Hollywood

Property: Chamberlain West Hollywood
Address: 1000 Westmount Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly located on a residential, tree-lined street in West Hollywood amid the exciting Sunset Strip and the bustling Santa Monica Boulevard, our eclectic West Hollywood boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of glamour, comfort and impeccable service. The dramatic style, unique ambiance and convenient location of our West Hollywood accommodations make it an ideal choice for a relaxing extended visit or a short LA getaway for both business and leisure travelers. Step into the glamorous 80s with our avant-garde decor complete with intricate brass detailing, cool hues with rich gold and chocolate accents and a chic retro feel. The Chamberlain West Hollywood boutique hotel features 114 spacious suites, an exclusive chic Bistro, in suite dining plus a stunning rooftop setting with 360-degree panoramic views of the Hollywood hills and elegant spaces for intimate events, private dinners or corporate meetings. Roof top pool offers private cabanas, dining and bar service. Our full service hotel also offers a complimentary 24 hour state of the art fitness center and a 24 hour business center with both MAC and PC's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Chamberlain West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Chamberlain Hotel West Hollywood
West Hollywood Chamberlain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing